We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so good Happy Birthday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not so good Happy Birthday!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Took our daughter here for her birthday with some friends. Food was very good but service was slow. What upset us was, we ordered our meal at about 8-30 p.m but by 9-45 they were closing down. They turned down the lights in the Restaurant to 'very' dim and turned off the music. If that wasn't a hint to 'go home' then I don't know what was. Made us feel very uncomfortable and a need to hurry our meal and drinks. We would not visit this hotel again, felt unwelcome. Hotel is very tired and needs a bit of tlc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janice61xxx48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    182
    142
    96
    77
See reviews for
142
251
34
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We booked a 4 poster room for a romantic valentines break! Well had heard this place was good after attending a friends wedding in September but OMG I was appalled when we got into the room the bed was tiny as In dolls house not good when ur 6ft4! Wallpaper falling off the walls mould on the carpet and In Bathroom

Room 15 is right above the kitchen so all food smells leak In to the room plus the heat from below was too much to be honest the final straw was certain stains on the four poster curtain at the back I don't think I need to go in to too much details but put it this way it was white and crusty!!

It was apparent the staff have no interest in you or your stay.........I do not recommend anyone stay here also breakfast was poor no bacon until someone asked for it!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HomerMaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Norwich hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We arrived on the saturday afternoon to have to find someone to check us in. The reception area was clean and well looked after but as we walked to our room up three flights of steps the nearer we got to the top the more tired the hotel looked eg wallpaper coming away from the wall. We went into our room which was clean but very tired looking there was paint peeling off the walls, mould around the window and in the bathroom. The walls are paper thin as we had to call reception in the early hours of sunday as we was kept awake for over two hours by the people in the room next door with doors banging, them shouting and music we just got back to sleep to then be woken by the three young lads opposite talking outside our door, running up and down the corridor and banging doors. We went for breakfast the next morning which was buffet style cooked breakfast which was cold. It also seems that they take a lot of care in how the downstairs part of the hotel as they having many functions including weddings. When we checked out we wasn't asked how our stay went. We will not stay at this hotel again,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayleyc1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel whilst on business in the Norwich area. A nice hotel where I found the rooms clean and tidy. Had a problem with the kettle in the room and on phoning reception had a replacement within five minutes. The hotel is looking a little tired but overall it was OK and if I needed a hotel in Norwich would book in there again. Had a carvery which was nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruskinboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel was poor from the greeting we recieved when we walked in the door to when we left,
we asked about breakfast time on saturday and was told it was from 8 o'clock we asked if we could have something ready a little earlier as we had to leave by 8'oclock but was met by another negative by a 'boy'whom i later found out was the manager !!,the bedroom was also nothing like it suggests there was holes in the side of the wooden bedframe and the mattress was more or less hollow !! very uncomfortable,i would go back to this place even if it was paid for by someone else.

Room Tip: Do not go unless nowhere else left to stay in norwich staff terrible attitude
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Recently stayed in luxury lodge. Fantastic size, view overlooking river, quiet, bathroom (bath & walk in shower), nice decor, settee & bed comfy, breakfast good.
For over £100pn though, I was disappointed to have frayed towels, & the free-standing heater only had one leg so the hot casing was touching floor H&S!
Only fire escape route was down main stairway - or jump off balcony onto wider one below!
Liqueur coffee - after 5 min wait (tia maria in glass of black coffee, sugar on saucer, & I was asked if I wanted milk. Cold when it arrived 5 minutes later with cream/coffee sloshing all down the glass). Training needed I think!
Better than last time when I stayed in main hotel but let down by simple things & customer service again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillius_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Wanted a romantic night away with my partner and opted for one night in a four poster bedroom. Paid extra £20 for late check-out too.

Checked in around 4pm, and being a little underwhelmed at the room. The bed was smaller than expected, as was the room. Also the windows were wide open and the heating in the hotel was off. This is in November!. Premier Travel Inn's have more luxuries and are a lot more spacious too. To be fair, the room was only £70 for the night and was fairly comfortable - however the decor is quite dated and tired, the room and bed are smaller than I'd expect and generally just more run down than I would have expected based on the website.
The toilet had an A4 sheet with "Please press and hold for flush mechanism to work" or something to that effect selotaped on it. This wasn't quite true, as the first few times we tried it neither of us could get it to flush at all. Every time we used it since it was temperamental - often taking a few attempts to work.

We were both exhausted so had a snooze before getting changed and went out for a meal elsewhere. Upon our return to the hotel around 12:30 / 1am we had a bath / shower before bed and I noticed a used packet of shower gel in the soap dish by the shower. Not exactly offensive but a sign that maybe housekeeping is as good as the maintenance (toilet above, and the next section).

Overnight we both got very hot so opened a window and put on the fan that was supplied in the room. The upright fan was very noisy, but only as it was stuck onto the highest speed setting. It as so old, dated and worn that I was unable to turn the switch (I'm a 27 year old man that attends the gym!) meaning we had a choice of being too hot or deafened during our sleep. As it was getting on for 3am I didn't think it was reasonable to get a maintenance man out for a stuck switch on a fan nor a poorly flushing toilet.

The next morning, at around 10am the fire alarm sounded with the "prepare to evacuate" alarm ringing in our room and everywhere else in the hotel. After 30 minutes of this stopping and starting every few minutes I called the front desk, as I paid extra for the late check-out, knowing we would want a lie-in after a late night and I'm being woken up at 10am! Was advised it was a scheduled test and it should be finished a bit later. I replied saying this isn't good enough and I wish to talk to the duty manager later on around 12 - 12:30 (when we plan to check out). Was told that "Honey / Hunni" will be in the kitchen at that time but that they'll tell her I'll be coming down at 12:30 to make a complaint.

I went to the bar (near the diner) and told the barmaid I was here to see the duty manager. She went to the kitchen, came back and said that Honey was doing deserts and the kitchen is very busy but she'll be out shortly. Seeing a female worker come out of the kitchen (but not in waitress attire) I watched her serve some foods, lay out some napkins, speak to the bar staff and go back to the kitchen, After waiting a total of 10 minutes I told the bar staff to tell the manager I'll be out the front having a cigarette.

Just as I finished my cigarette and walked into reception the woman I saw laying out napkins when I was waiting is asking reception if I am around.
I introduce myself to her stating that I wish to make a complaint. I list the fire alarm test, previous guests’ toiletries in the shower, freezing cold upon arrival, broken fan and toilet. I said that I would like a full refund on the extra I paid for the late check out and a discount on the normal room tariff. The duty manager said:

- The fire alarm is scheduled weeks in advanced and we were the only guests still in our rooms
- Cold rooms are usual as the windows are all opened when cleaned
- As I didn't complain about the toilet, shower (1am) and fan (3am) when I discovered them then I can't have any discount off the bill.
- I can have a refund on the £20 extra for the late checkout but that is all.

Personally, I feel that the refund on the late checkout is a given, as it was useless to us after we got woken up at 10am and was unable to even try to sleep again for nearly an hour! Advising the manager that as they offer a late check-out until 12:30, and check-in isn't until 3pm maybe she should consider doing fire alarm tests between 12:30 and 3pm fell on deaf ears. Do did the same suggestion about airing rooms - just do it between 12:30 (or after check-out) until 3pm....

The attitude that because I didn't complain before check-out there is nothing she can do is very poor customer service in my opinion. The extra bottle of used shower gel is still in the room, the toilet can be replicated and the fan is stil knackered (I suggest it needs replacing). I can show these to her but she was not interested.

I didn't see these things as worthy until I was forced to complain about the fire alarm!

Not only was there no concession on a discount (even on a future booking or something would have been appreciated as a gesture of goodwill towards a disgruntled customer), but the manager didn't take down any details at all of my complain / room number / name, was clearly not interested, made a customer that ARRANGED to meet up to complain WAIT and to not even apologise is quite frankly disgusting.

Fan's break, housekeeping are only human and can miss the odd thing but what really made this so bad was how my complaint was dealt with. Instead of trying to make up for falling below standards the manager simply wanted me out of her hair and obviously couldn't be bothered with dealing my complaint at all.

Note that the pictures on the website (the flash animation at the top of every page) are nearly all taken from the luxury lodges (which aren't bad) - NOT a standard or four-poster room. The public spaces are also ran through a filter (instagram style). This is most definitely NOT a luxury, classy or quality hotel. An alright budget hotel when there's offers on - otherwise avoid like the plague.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the hotel at all - use the luxury lodges instead (all the main photo's on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevehoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#27 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich East (Broadlands/A47) Hotel
Premier Inn Norwich East (Broadl...
#1 of 1 in Thorpe St Andrew
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel
Address: Yarmouth Road, Norwich NR7 0HH, England (Formerly The Oaklands Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you as we invite you to join us at the Oaklands Hotel Norwich and enjoy the charm of a family owned hotel combining a modern style with a great location. The hotel has recently completed a major refurbishment of their dining room and bar including an extension featuring a sky line and byfold doors leading onto the stunning new terrace. All bedrooms have also been refurbished offering an array of modern and stylish rooms with a unique finish. Situated on the outskirts of Norwich (just over one mile from the City centre), the Oaklands Hotel provides a unique and relaxed atmosphere. Comfortable and relaxed surroundings, a variety of bedrooms to suit all guests, chilled out bar and terrace, beautiful grounds overlooking the Yare River Valley and ample parking all combine to offer the perfect backdrop whether you are visitng for a leisure break, business or a wedding. A visit to the Oaklands Hotel is always a memorable one whether your stay is for business or pleasure, for a formal occasion or one of our fantastic breaks. A friendly welcome and attentive customer service, comfortable and uniquely decorated bedrooms and delicious food is what we offer our guests - and the reason why they return time and time again. And, you don't have to be staying the night to enjoy our charm - join us for breakfast, afternoon tea, lunch or dinner - or just take time out to chill out in our stunning bar or beautiful terrace with an ice-cold drink. Breakfast is included in our bedroom rates and we also offer guests free car parking and free internet access. We're sure you'll want to come back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaklands Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing