We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Me and my husband recently stayed at the Oaklands on the 18th June 2011 for our anniversary in which the previous year we had our whole wedding there and it was fantastic, Lauren was very helpful and made our day perfect in every way. The venue as a whole was ideal the staff were so friendly and the food was superb, the lodge was clean, fresh me and my bridesmaid stayed the night before the wedding and the hospitality was just perfect.

Going back to the other weekend the lodge was clean and fresh. We went to the restaurant for tea and the staff were soo efficient and friendly and very helpful.

Would defiantly recommend to people for an overnight stay and for a wedding venue.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rowiethefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

680 - 686 of 796 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2011

I attended a family wedding at the Oaklands - lots of guests stayed over (of whom 4 couples share my views).

Pros:
Wedding venue decorated beautifully, food good, service faultless, room set up for evening, private bar attached to marquee.
Everything flowed as it should for the ceremony & meal.
Garden/patio area great setting for the photos.

Cons:
Rooms not ready on arrival - cleaner still there 35 minutes after had requested early check-in & had to wait a further 15 minutes.
Room a bit drab looking.
Hairs in bath and toilet.
Reception staff extremely rude - while I was paying a 4-figure sum of money to her she answered the telephone & dealt with a different query - no 'excuse me' 'sorry' or anything. This also happened when another guest was booking in.
I ordered a drink the next morning and half-way through serving me the person left & someone else finished pouring the drink.
Bed uncomfortable.

Couldn't fault the wedding venues - ceremony room/marquee/garden - but bedrooms and attitude of staff leave a lot to be desired. If it was not for the fact it was a family wedding I would not have stayed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillius_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Spent two nights at this hotel on a bed breakfast and evening meal arrangement as part of a short city break. Stayed in an executive room with four poster bed. The room was large and had a sofa in it. Bed was comfortable and clean and the ensuite was new, spacious and bright but some of the tile grouting needed a good clean.
There was plenty of staff and all were friendly and helpfull. For the evening meal we had the "roast" which was a carvery with three choices of meat, yorkshire pudding, potatoes and vegetables which on the whole was good but the beef on both evenings had been well overcooked and was hard to swallow. Breakfast was a full english buffet which was very good. Plenty of off road car parking with busses to Norwich city centre stopping outside the hotel. We will stay here again if we are looking for a further break in Norwich but will not go for the carvery evening meal option. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

On arrival the receptionist was down right rude and ignorant, if we had not been attending our nieces wedding we would have left immediately.

The room,(18) was very nice, but the bed was very uncomfortable I think they forgot to put a mattress on.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ace_Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

My wife and I often stay at OAKLANDS.

When we first started going there the sevice and quality was reasonable but not excellent.

This has now improved and I happy to recomend this Hotel to anyone.

The staff have a genuine will to help all they can.

The restaurant serves a good carverey plus a varied menu at a reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

If you want a different experience try the lodges. We were very impressed. It was clean, spacious and a very enjoyable trip. The lodge consisted of a small kitchen area with wine fridge, lounge area with tv & dvd, balcony, bedroom and lovely ensuite. Breakfast was ok, but the overall stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorfolkMungo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Have stayed at this hotel a fair bit for work and have always found it perfect for my needs. Always have a lodge - really modern, spacious with a few kitchen facilities if you want them. But I never bother instead wander over to the hotel for a decent English breakfast. In the evening standard carvery and decent menu more than does the job for me when I'm on the road. Staff always pleasant and hotel in great convenient location to use as a base when in Norfolk. Have recommended to colleagues who feel the same way - it does exactly what we'd expect from a hotel of this level.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seaguls10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Best Western George Hotel
Best Western George Hotel
#25 of 50 in Norwich
480 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#19 of 50 in Norwich
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#15 of 50 in Norwich
440 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
4.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel

Address: 89 Yarmouth Road, Norwich NR7 0HH, England (Formerly The Oaklands Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range: $58 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you as we invite you to join us at the Oaklands Hotel Norwich and enjoy the charm of a family owned hotel combining a modern style with a great location. The hotel has recently completed a major refurbishment of their dining room and bar including an extension featuring a sky line and byfold doors leading onto the stunning new terrace. All bedrooms have also been refurbished offering an array of modern and stylish rooms with a unique finish. Situated on the outskirts of Norwich (just over one mile from the City centre), the Oaklands Hotel provides a unique and relaxed atmosphere. Comfortable and relaxed surroundings, a variety of bedrooms to suit all guests, chilled out bar and terrace, beautiful grounds overlooking the Yare River Valley and ample parking all combine to offer the perfect backdrop whether you are visitng for a leisure break, business or a wedding. A visit to the Oaklands Hotel is always a memorable one whether your stay is for business or pleasure, for a formal occasion or one of our fantastic breaks. A friendly welcome and attentive customer service, comfortable and uniquely decorated bedrooms and delicious food is what we offer our guests - and the reason why they return time and time again. And, you don't have to be staying the night to enjoy our charm - join us for breakfast, afternoon tea, lunch or dinner - or just take time out to chill out in our stunning bar or beautiful terrace with an ice-cold drink. Breakfast is included in our bedroom rates and we also offer guests free car parking and free internet access. We're sure you'll want to come back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaklands Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing