We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a weekend away in Norwich”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for a weekend away in Norwich”
Reviewed February 24, 2009

On arrival check in was quick and efficient. The lady on reception was very helpful and we went straight to our room. The room itself was average in size and very clean and comfortable. We didn't eat at the restaurant in the evening as the menu didn't take our fancy although the breakfast in the morning was delicious and the staff very friendly and on hand. The swimming pool was excellent and the changing rooms and shower areas were very clean.
The location of the hotel is about 10-15 minutes from the city centre. About 2 minutes drive from the hotel was a park and ride facility which takes all the hassle out of parking in Norwich. Locally there was also a Tesco just up the road (ideal for drinks and snacks) and a pub was in walking distance. Overall I would definately stay there here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaz_81uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    266
    155
    41
    30
See reviews for
139
204
29
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2008

The hotel appears to be a former Forte Posthouse property but has been thoroughly renovated and the room was very pleasant and well turned out, all the public areas were fresh, clean and well lit.
I had been checked in by another member of my party, but the staff seemed pleasant and helpful.
Compared to the above, the restaurant appears out of character, but I have to agree with all the other comments - I was only there for an inclusive breakfast, and I could not imagine choosing to eat there.
The tables and chairs were scruffy and unstable, and there seemed to only be 1-2 members of staff on duty - I couldn't see an unoccupied table that was clean - they only seemed to clear them when someone new arrived. Very sloppy.

  • Liked — Clean and tidy
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will-HE_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2008

Stayed for one night on a tour. Few staff, no lifts and food that was appalling. the other reviews do not lie.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank Philip134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
2 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2008

I couldnt agree more with a recent review about this hotel.
The room was good - no problems at all; modern,very clean, and a good comfortable bed. Typical Travel Inn.
The restaurant, however, was a different matter and ruined the weekend. I feel the Restaurant Manager needs a wake -up call. He sees himself as a glorified waiter rather than a Manager. He needs to stand back and supervise his staff which would benefit his customers enormously .
We had a three course dinner. The starter and sweet were well presented and very nice. The main course however, was simply awful. My wife and I had different meals, both were inedible.
The staff simply ignored us when they seen the food had been left. Eventually after some 20mins we asked for the plates to be removed and to see the sweet menu.
We were in the restaurant for almost two hours!
Even though service was non-existant, a service charge of 10% is automatically added to the drinks and food bill which certainly makes the drinks very pricey- where a bottle of wine costs from £16-50 net.
Breakfast was better as it was self service, albeit the customers continued to be ignored. Basically find a table yourself as you will be left standing all day to be seated. You plates wil mount up around you. They simply dont seem to understand it is nice to have your table cleared between courses.
Needless to say we ate eslewhere the following evening.

Helpful?
Thank BillDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2008

We booked two Executive rooms, plus dinner, bed & breakfast.

The rooms were very nice.

Reception and housekeeping staff were friendly and efficient.

It’s all let down by ‘The Junction’, which purports to be their restaurant..

Service at dinner on the Friday evening was chaotic and the quality of the food was poor.

We had to ask twice for both our water and wine; the latter didn't arrive until after the first course and then was the wrong one.

The staff didn't seem to have any system or clue, so the service was erratic and slow.

At one point, a child at another table wailed: "I want my dinner!", which probably summed it up for all of us.

We hoped that breakfast would be redeeming, as it’s self-service and quite hard to get wrong.

Wrong.

After a long wait to be indicated to a table, then a long wait left standing beside said table whilst the staff cleaned it, which was done by sweeping all the previous debris onto the chairs and the floor, we sat down to find that the crockery set up was mismatched and filthy.

A departing guest at breakfast wished us “Good Luck” as we arrived, which sums it up.

I have stayed at many Holiday Inns before, and never have I encountered the mess that this catering service is in.

I found myself undecided as to whether to be angry with the catering/serving staff or to feel sorry for them, as there is clearly a huge management problem with the restaurant at this hotel.

I have contacted Holiday Inn, and will be interested to receive their response.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank LadyLindaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittlesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2008

Stayed on a 2 night/1 dinner rate. The best deals had already gone, so was on the next pricing scale up. The hotel is fairly new and therefor in good order. The inclusive evening meal was well presented, cooked and plentiful, you could opt out and use the £18 allowance to choose from the al-la-carte menu.
Reception was efficient and tidy.
The 2nd morning was a holiday in the uk, the hotel was full - I would give the breakfast staff commendation on the efficiency that they worked under extreme numbers, the food kept coming and although for a small period, there was a small que, people were not left waiting long - and within 30 minutes or so after the peak, everything settled down.
Parking is easy enough at the nearby football ground - not sure about arriving say on a match day?
Overall very good - and well done to the staff, and happy cleaners.

  • Liked — Clean & Efficient
  • Disliked — Decour a bit bland
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RoyGerstner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2008

Having just been in hospital decided to have a couple of days rest away from home.

Upgraded from a standard to an executive room which was superb. Asked if I wanted a swim and said I'd rather sit in the jacuzzi with a glass of wine. They opened the pool especially for me!!!!!! Even had the glass of wine!

Food was amazing, great variety, served quickly although restaurant was very busy.

Check in and check out was smooth and speedy.

All staff were attentive - made to feel as though we were the only guests. Highly recommend.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — price of alcohol and internet access was expensive
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LisaH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
1.4 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
3.9 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
5.1 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich

Property: Holiday Inn Norwich
Address: Ipswich Road, Norwich NR4 6EP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Norwich
#12 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Norwich enjoys an excellent location only 2.5 miles south from Norwich city centre. This Norwich Hotel offers easy access to attractions such as Great Yarmouth, Snetterton; Norwich City FC and Sandringham House & Gardens. This Norwich hotel combines excellent facilities for both business and leisure users, including Kids eat and stay for free*.The Hotel facilities include 119 Air Conditioned hotel Bedrooms, High Speed Internet access in bedrooms, conference rooms and public areas. This hotel in Norwich offers family rooms and accessible rooms too.Holiday Inn, Norwich has 5 meeting rooms which can cater for many requirements for up to 150 people, from Meetings, Christenings, Family Birthdays, Funerals to Weddings. Ample free car parking is available. The Hotel offers a Gym, Sauna, Spa Bath and Indoor Heated 13m Swimming Pool and is complimented by an on-site beauty therapist (pre-booking recommended). The hotel restaurant allows you to dine in an informal atmosphere everyday; serving a full buffet breakfast and extensive dinner menu that caters for everyone. Whether you are looking for sight-seeing, shopping, or exploring the beautiful Norfolk countryside we have it all. Discover the hidden gem of East Anglia that is known as Norfolk. *Terms and conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing