We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to relax after visiting Norwich”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A great place to relax after visiting Norwich”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We booked through the internet on the Holiday Inn website, very easy to do and a very good price, booking the breakfast at the same time made it easier on the day, all you have to do is give your name on entering the dining room.
The hotel is easy to find, with plenty of parking spaces. Booking in was efficient, with very friendly & helpful staff.

The public rooms and bedrooms are clean, with smart and functional décor.
We took advantage of the complimentary use of the leisure facilities: 15m swimming pool; sauna and steam room, but we didn’t use the gym. Show your room key card at the Spirit leisure Club Reception when you sign in: opening times 6.30 to 10.00 p.m. Monday to Friday; 7.00 to 10.00 p.m. Saturday and Sunday. A refundable £1 coin is needed for the lockers and towels are provided, free of charge.

We were not disturbed by outside noise, even though the room overlooked the car park and reception; however the room doors are quite noisy when they close, so we were woken a bit earlier than we would have liked. One criticism is that they only provided enough milk, tea/coffee for 2 drinks each, not sure if you could request more. You could choose the firmness of your pillow!

Breakfast was a buffet style. There was plenty of choice: standard full English including Bury black pudding (a taste of my home town for me, much appreciated); fruits; cereals; cold meat; croissants; Danish pastries; yoghurts and even pancakes from the pancake machine. Again the staff were polite, efficient and helpful; offering more tea/coffee at your table.

If using this hotel as a base for visiting Norwich you could use the Harford park & ride (not on Sundays), which is close by.

I would highly recommend using this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Andym

Delighted you had such a great stay and thoroughly enjoyed your breakfast,including the black pudding which is delicious!!

I do hope that when next in Norwich you will come and stay again

Best Regards
Diane McTague
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    268
    156
    41
    30
See reviews for
141
205
29
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We had a group booking for Holiday Inn, Ipswich Road today. 19 rooms booked and confirmed.
When we got there about 5.15 they had cancelled our rooms.

The staff in reception was unbelivably unhelpful, rude and angry. For 1 hour we tried to get some help as we had 6 young kids with us.
We just got told to leave and they had called the police. Shocking!

Disgusting and pathetic behaviour from staff at Holiday Inn, Ipswich Road.

We, well 8 of us, have just now at 23.30 managed to get 4 rooms 30min outside Norwich. Not sure if everyone else managed to sort rooms out.

Stay away from this place if you can.
Very unprofessional.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank T14WSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear T14WSH,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take comments such as this very serious and would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich England
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We parked easily and for free. We are members of the nearby leisure club and had seen the discounts advertised when eating here. It was midweek and very quiet. Pleasant lounge bar food area. Large but not noisy tv s. The menu did not look promising until we found the meals hidden among the sandwiches, and we nearly left, but so glad we stayed. The beef chilli was massive..With separate pots of guacamole, soured cream and salsa with homemade chips. A little too much herb in the chilli for my liking (oregano I think), but I ate it all. My partners fish chips mushy peas and sauces were well received. Golden batter and tasty chips. Fantastic lunch. We shall return.

Room Tip: Did not sleep only lunch but cannot remove 1 star rating
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornetplayer11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear cornetplayer11111

Many thanks for your review,
Delighted you enjoyed your lunch!

Come and check out our delicious daily chef specials!

Hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards
Diane McTague
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Returned to this hotel for the second time following our earlier short break last year. This time we stayed for 3 nights dinner bed and breakfast over a weekend.

As on our previous visit, we could not find fault. The room was spacious and immaculately clean (double) with a surprisingly large bathroom, with all the usual facilities.

The food was excellent, particularly when considering the very reasonable rate. A very good selection was on offer for dinner, with a Carvery available one of the nights and really good Mexican food on another, in addition to the usual varied menu. Both were extremely enjoyable. Breakfast was a tasty buffet, and the staff were more than happy to provide special orders.

In fact, I would honestly say that all of the staff were excellent. As a wheelchair user, l have sometimes experienced less than excellent service, but all of the staff here got the level of attentiveness just right, offering help and assistance in a friendly and professional manner without being overbearing. This really made the stay very relaxing and enjoyable, and l shall definitely return.

Overall, l would rate the experience highly, and recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank steven s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Steve S

Many thanks for your review,
I am thrilled you have had a second great stay and that my team looked after you so well.

I do hope that we will see you again soon!

Best Regards
Diane McTague
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The hotel itself is OK, the room and leisure facilities are nice and the breakfast was delicious and had lots of selection, however its Customer Service really lets it down. We ordered a taxi with reception which it turns out they did not book so we missed a train and when we queried a few problems we had with regards to our stay with the staff they were both very rude and patronising. Such a shame as i usually enjoy staying at Holiday Inn but i would never stay here again and i would never recommend it to anyone. I have never received such terrible Customer Service and what could have been a lovely stay turned into a nightmare

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Lauren C,

Many thanks for your review.

Perhaps I can clarify to the wider audience that what you have wrote in your review is indeed incorrect.

The issue that you encountered with the taxi was a fault of your own and not my team or the taxi driver.

My team are continually praised for the excellent guest service on many social media sites and through various letters/emails etc.

Enjoy the Easter weekend!

Best Regards
Diane McTague
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weesp, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel is ok. Rooms are spacious, beds are fine, rooms are clean enough, internet is below standard. However, I enjoyed a really nice Burger with a glass of red wine in the restaurant. Served by Karem, a most friendly, personal and professional guy. He really made me smile. Karem gives the S of feeling special to Service!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobSW6486CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear RobSW6486CH

Many thanks for your review

Delighted you had an overall good stay and that one of my team made the stay memorable for you.

Hope that we can welcome you back in Norwich again very soon

Have a lovely Easter weekend!

Best Regards
Diane McTague
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed 2 nights (Friday/Saturday) in March.

Top positives...

1. The staff - in particular the restaurant and bar staff who were excellent in terms of customer service and ran the place to almost military precision. It might sound a bit gushing, but, really, it was a joy to watch.

2. The food - this was so much better than you might expect. On our first night we were too tired to think about leaving the hotel, and the restaurant had a Mexican buffet on offer. Great food at a great price. Breakfast was also top-notch - again, well cooked, with lots of choice.

The room was clean and decent enough. Pretty much what you'd hope for in a hotel like this, but sometimes do not find.

We used the swimming pool / sauna and jacuzzi - manned by a helpful guy at the desk. It isn't massive, and I'm sure it could possibly become a bit crowded at times as someone has reported, but we found it to be a pretty good facility.

Really not too much in terms of negatives (but, please manager Diane, if you do respond, please don't just brush over them and talk about the positives, which do in fact greatly outweigh these negatives)

1. The toilet took ages to fill. We heard another couple reporting this at the reception, so we know we're not alone in this. Sounds trivial, but if you're a couple in a room, it can be a real pain.

2. Charging so much for WiFi. You can go down to your local coffee shop or McDonalds and get it for free. If they can do it, why can't you? It feels like a rip-off - £16 a day - and we're already paying customers.

If these niggles were addressed, this would really make this a hotel punching well above its weight. We had a great stay and would return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaughOutLoud2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear LaughOutLoud2

I did chuckle to myself when I read your email name!!

Really great to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that my team amused you!!
They are a great bunch who all work very hard.

With regards to the wi fi,that is company policy,There is complimentary wi fi in the bar/lounge area's available for all guests.

The issue with the toilet flush has now been addressed with my in house maintenance team .

We would love to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards
Diane McTague
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
2.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,145 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
1.4 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
3.9 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich

Property: Holiday Inn Norwich
Address: Ipswich Road, Norwich NR4 6EP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Norwich
#12 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Norwich enjoys an excellent location only 2.5 miles south from Norwich city centre. This Norwich Hotel offers easy access to attractions such as Great Yarmouth, Snetterton; Norwich City FC and Sandringham House & Gardens. This Norwich hotel combines excellent facilities for both business and leisure users, including Kids eat and stay for free*.The Hotel facilities include 119 Air Conditioned hotel Bedrooms, High Speed Internet access in bedrooms, conference rooms and public areas. This hotel in Norwich offers family rooms and accessible rooms too.Holiday Inn, Norwich has 5 meeting rooms which can cater for many requirements for up to 150 people, from Meetings, Christenings, Family Birthdays, Funerals to Weddings. Ample free car parking is available. The Hotel offers a Gym, Sauna, Spa Bath and Indoor Heated 13m Swimming Pool and is complimented by an on-site beauty therapist (pre-booking recommended). The hotel restaurant allows you to dine in an informal atmosphere everyday; serving a full buffet breakfast and extensive dinner menu that caters for everyone. Whether you are looking for sight-seeing, shopping, or exploring the beautiful Norfolk countryside we have it all. Discover the hidden gem of East Anglia that is known as Norfolk. *Terms and conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing