We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chain friendly hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Norwich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Chain friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed 2 nights, lovely hotel very clean. Staff extremely friendly and helpful, especially Jane on reception and restaurant team. Stayed with elderly aunt so had 2 rooms on ground floor, very quiet. Both good size, comfy large bed, good drawers and wardrobe space. Only downside is that bathroom was very small although very clean. Evening meal in Restaurant very good and breakfast is superb, lots of choice, hot and cold. Restaurant staff very attentive, quick to clear tables and top up tea/coffee. Met up with family so didnt have time to use spa or pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Mick 408

Delighted you had such a lovely stay here in Norwich.
Also great to read that my team looked after you all so well,with a special mention to Jane.
I do hope that when next in Norwich you will all come and stay again

Apologies for the delay in responding but I have been on holiday!

Kind regards
Diane McTague
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    261
    145
    40
    28
See reviews for
135
193
29
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked in the last minute, so we got a disabled room, set up for one instead of two. There wasnt any phonesignal in the room, so we couldnt do any calls and internet. The shower wasnt enough powerful, but the bed was comfy.
Anyway, the hotel is nice and busy, staff is friendly, theres a big swimmingpool open until 10 on the evening, so thats really great. And my boyfriend was so happy for the big carpark. :)
Its good for staying a couple of nights, and have a trip around Norwich.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeataIlles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear beatallles

Delighted you had an overall good stay here with us recently.

I do hope that when next in Norwich you will come and stay again!

Kind regards
Diane McTague
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has very polite and friendly staff who want to make sure your stay is as good as possible. The rooms are clean, although the double bed was small for two adults and was noisy due to being at the start of a corridor and having an fan outside the window. However, that aside it is certainly worth a stay and is only a few miles from the centre of Norwich. One point to note the so called free Internet is so slow that you end up paying for the high speed. When will UK hotels realise that this should be a service not a cost.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Markg,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor.
All feedback positive and negative is welcomed so that we can continually improve our services and facilities.
Great to see that overall you had a good stay.

I do hope that when next in Norwich you will come and stay again

Kindest regards
Diane McTague
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel and it's grounds were well kept. The room was clean if a little tired. The bathroom/shower/toilet was very small and cramped, OK for two but for a family would have been difficult. The air conditioning in the room was very welcome.
The staff were excellent, as was the service, and the food was the best we've had in any hotel.. My only criticism is the 'discretionary' 10% service charge on drinks, (which are already very expensive) even if you are at the bar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bayleaf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear bayleaf1

Delighted you had a great stay and that my team looked after you.
I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to them.

Feedback both positive and negative is always welcomed as we strive to improve our services and facilities constantly.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Norwich very soon!

Kind regards
Diane McTague
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I arrived at the hotel for a 2 night stay and have to say the exterior is off-putting, very 70s swimming baths style, once I got inside the public areas were very nice and look recently modernised.
I got into my room which had threadbare sofas and a stained and torn bed base and was fairly underwhelmed, I then discovered the inter-connecting door to the next room had been left unlocked and it took 30 minutes of chasing to get it locked. When the duty manager arrived to unlock this and I queried why it had taken so long he said it wasn't his fault and I would have to talk to the manager - no apology.

I have to say from there on in it was great, although the room tired it was clean, I enjoyed a swim in the decent sized pool and they have a well equipped modern gym.
I ate in the hotel both nights and the food was lovely, freshly prepared and the daily specials menu definitely gets the thumbs up (look out for the meal deals you can buy at reception -£20 offer during my stay bought 2 courses and 2 drinks).
The staff (apart from the duty manager) were great, really friendly and helpful, in particular the staff in the restaurant both evening and breakfast were great. The first night I had ordered food and before this came felt a little dizzy, the restaurant delivered to my room for me and at breakfast asked whether I was recovered (a nice personal touch).
They were also able to provide soya milk at breakfast, and had a good buffet selection nicely presented .
Overall I enjoyed my stay and would visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LSwifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear LSwiftly,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay here with us.
I am delighted you had a great stay and that you would come again.

I welcome all feedback,positive and negative so that we can continually improve our services and facilities.

Hope to see you again soon,

Have a lovely weekend!

Kind regards
Diane McTague
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here for a special occasion. Very pleased ,nice room, breakfast very nice. Good value for money .parking easy.have stayed at the airport site too but prefer this one ideal if wanting to visit norwich but stay just on the outskirts

Room Tip: All good positions
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven58norwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Steven58norwich,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay.

I am thrilled you had such a lovely stay.
I do hope that you will come and stay again!

Have a great bank holiday weekend!

Kind regards
Diane McTague
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed in Norwich for 2 nights in 2 hotels, and the difference in this hotel compared to the Premier Inn is huge. The grounds and car-park were well-kept, and as you walk into reception it is light, bright, clean and welcoming. All the staff we came across were friendly, smiling and helpful. Our room was beautifully furnished, clean and comfortable. Yes, the bathroom is a bit of a tight squeeze, but we didn't want to host a party in there, so it was perfectly serviceable, and again it was as clean as a new pin with lovely thick towels and toiletries. We used the film-on-demand service, they had a good choice of films available, and plenty to choose from for my fussy 10 year old. We didn't use the restaurant, so I can't comment on the food, but the menu looked nice. All in all we had a lovely stay and would definitely return if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skk193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear SKK193

Delighted you had such a lovely stay.
My team do strive to deliver consistent great guest service,I will be sure to pass on your comments.

I do hope that if ever in Norwich again you will come and stay!

Have a fabulous bank holiday weekend!

Kind regards
Diane McTague
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
5.1 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich

Property: Holiday Inn Norwich
Address: Ipswich Road, Norwich NR4 6EP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Norwich
#12 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Norwich enjoys an excellent location only 2.5 miles south from Norwich city centre. This Norwich Hotel offers easy access to attractions such as Great Yarmouth, Snetterton; Norwich City FC and Sandringham House & Gardens. This Norwich hotel combines excellent facilities for both business and leisure users, including Kids eat and stay for free*.The Hotel facilities include 119 Air Conditioned hotel Bedrooms, High Speed Internet access in bedrooms, conference rooms and public areas. This hotel in Norwich offers family rooms and accessible rooms too.Holiday Inn, Norwich has 5 meeting rooms which can cater for many requirements for up to 150 people, from Meetings, Christenings, Family Birthdays, Funerals to Weddings. Ample free car parking is available. The Hotel offers a Gym, Sauna, Spa Bath and Indoor Heated 13m Swimming Pool and is complimented by an on-site beauty therapist (pre-booking recommended). The hotel restaurant allows you to dine in an informal atmosphere everyday; serving a full buffet breakfast and extensive dinner menu that caters for everyone. Whether you are looking for sight-seeing, shopping, or exploring the beautiful Norfolk countryside we have it all. Discover the hidden gem of East Anglia that is known as Norfolk. *Terms and conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing