We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

As a regular Holiday Inn customer this hotel is typical of Holiday Inn hotels, albeit a bit dated. The hotel was fully booked for the duration of my stay which did result in full restaurants and car park. I eat at the hotel one evening and the food was ok. Didn't make use of the hotel swimming pool. Wifi was particularly expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    268
    158
    41
    30
See reviews for
141
207
29
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed overnight as this was closest hotel to the wedding we were invited to , this was in the wilds of Norfolk. On arrival the reception staff offered water and chocolate as priority club members. Of the many visits to the holiday inn chain, this was the first time I have been offered chocolate and water. a lesson for other hotels to learn I think.
We dined in the restaurant and the food was nicely cooked and the steak to my cooking requirement. The waiter also checked that it was cooked to my liking (rare). The breakfast in the morning was also nicely presented, and a good selection of fresh fruit. My only regret was not enough time to enjoy the leisure facilities.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank millseybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your lovely comments about your stay at Holiday Inn when you visited Norwich. I am very glad you chose to book here and that we gave you an enjoyable stay to hopefully remember.
Our restaurant staff and kitchen team will always ensure your food is cooked to your very own liking as we treat each guest as an individual and understand that everyone has different tastes and needs.
All Holiday Inn's operate different on their check in but like you said, here we offer all of our priority club members just that little something extra to thank them for being loyal to our brand. I am very pleased to hear this had a positive effect on you.

We would very much like to welcome you back to our hotel in the future so that hopefully you can use our leisure facilities!
Once again, thank you for your time in leaving feedback for us.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

WE stayed at this Hotel for 1 night ,it was coveintly located just outside Normich a few minutes by car. THe Hotel was average not the best but not the worst, rooms were clean and cared for. We had no complaints.

Room Tip: Our room on the 1st floor was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royandwendy503838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am glad to hear that everything was OK for you during your stay at Holiday Inn Norwich.
Our Housekeeping team do take a great deal of care when servicing the bedrooms and always ensure they are serviced to the highest standard.

I would like to hope if you visited again we could show you that we are more than just an OK hotel.

Thanks for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

It's clean and tidy, very good reception team.

Bar staff are not so good.

A little tip would be to pour beer in the correct glasses. If you charge these prices for an out of town bar, at least serve it with a smile and in the correct glass. It actually does make a difference to get a Becks vier in a branded vier glass. If the glass isn't available tell me before pouring it. I don't pay for my drinks as its normally expensed, but if I was paying £4 a drink, why should I get a cider in a vier glass, and a vier in a Guinness glass?

£8 taxi ride to and from the centre, so think about this before booking, as the prices were already high for this out of town holiday inn when I stayed. Internet is extra too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChipoSticko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear ChipoSticko,

Thank you very much for taking the time to feedback to us about your experience.
I would firstly like to thank you for your comment on our reception team. I will ensure that it is passed back onto them.

I am a little concerned to hear your comments about our bar staff. All members of bar staff are continuously trained in customer service and bar skills thoroughly throughout the year. I can honestly say that this is not a regular occurrence. We have recently had a new group of staff members join so they may have been helping out/training on the bar. I would like to thank you for bringing this to my attention.

Unfortunately we cannot control the prices for taxi's journeys but with regards to internet prices, this is something we are looking into and hopefully can change in the near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Norwich and I hope you will stay again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Looks quite dated from the outside but the interior was modern. Rooms were of average standard but the bathroom showed signs of age with black mould and cracked tiles and some pretty awful repair work around the bath. Although the bed looked fresh and clean the first thing i saw when i pulled the quilt back was a pubic hair so kind of put me off. All in all i would have given the hotel an average score as the staff were nice and helpful and i believe you get what you pay for but in their wisdom they put a middle age couple in a room surrounded by 8 mid 20's lads who had quite obviously had a super time in Norwich and rolled home at 2.30am and proceeded for the next 2 and 1/2 hours to chat, sing, shout, laugh, bang, knock and go in and out of each others rooms, allowing the doors to crash each time. Housekeeping then turned up at 9am on the Sunday morning and bang loudly on each door declaring their presence to all who still happened to be abed which i believe is a ploy to get everyone awake and out of there rooms!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear SherrieBridge,

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, it is greatly appreciated.

Our housekeeping team do thoroughly clean the bedrooms and regular checks are done on the newly serviced rooms to ensure that they are up to the highest standard. I do apologise that this has happened to you and I will look into it further.
We are also in process of discussing a refurbishment to some of our hotel rooms and bathrooms.

Here at our hotel because of our near city centre location, we do have a large mixture of guests that stay here. Please do not hesitate to contact my front of house and nights team who will make sure you have the best nights sleep possible, and will ensure that the noise procedure is put into place if you ever experience any problems .

I am very happy to see that you thought our staff were helpful. All staff members will go out of their way to help whenever they can.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Essex United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed for a Saturday night, arrived early at 12 midday, but room was not early, booked in, told leaving the car in the car park was OK whilst we went into Norwich, pleasant young man on reception ordered us a mini cab which cost £6 to get into the city centre.
Got back about 8pm, collected keys, no problem. Room was made up for the 3 of us and was OK. Spotlessly clean, comfortable bed. Bathroom small, toiletries and tea tray provided in room. The only problem with the room was the noise from the party of girls next door who were getting ready to go out. The room had an ajoining door and you could hear EVERY word of their conversation.
Decided to go to the bar for a drink. the bars was busy with a group of young men dressed in what I believed are called 'onesies', anyway they were all enjoying themselves and were well behaved and the bar staff were good. Two drinks cost £8.50 which is average for hotel prices. No free wi-fi anywhere in the hotel, which is a bit cheapskate. There was however in the reception a free supply of complimentary tea and coffee and free newspapers.
Went back to room about 10pm, girls next door had gone out. As I am an avid reader of tripadviser, I knew about the room noise, so had taken ear plugs, so didn't hear them come back.
I hadn't booked breakfast when I booked the room and nothing had been said when I checked in, so when we went to the breakfast room, I asked the receptionist whether I had to book breakfast with them before we went through. I was told that I should have booked it when I checked in, I confirmed that I hadnt been told about breakfast, but it was too late! went back to the room, picked up our bags and about 5 minutes later were back to check out. They were suprised to see us back, it turned out that we could have had breakfast at £13.95 each, but they thought I wanted the vouchers for breakfast at £11.95 a simple misunderstanding and I wouldnt have paid £13.95 anyway, so the hotel lost £36 through having such draconian rules! The room was a bargain at £40. Search for special offers. i also asked for a quiet room, but got one overlooking the road. If you like the Holiday Inn brand, I suggest you go to the Norwich City one, I have stayeded their twice and cant fault it.

Room Tip: ask for one overlooking the car park and check that it doesnt have an interconnecting door to the ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear LFK,

Let me begin by thanking you for your feedback about the service of our bar staff and the cleanliness of your bedroom. It is also extremely nice to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary tea and coffee station during your stay.

I do apologise about the misunderstanding you faced about our breakfast. We offer at check in a discounted rate which is £10.95 for a breakfast voucher consisting of full English and continental. If breakfast then isn't purchased at check in and is decided to be brought the next day, we charge the full rate of £13.95 for our breakfast. I will look into why their was a miscommunication during your check in and ensure this is resolved.
Also unfortunately yes, at the moment our WI-Fi is chargeable but this is something which is currently being discussed.

I am sorry for the noise you experience during the beginning of your stay. If you ever hopefully stay again at Holiday Inn Norwich, please contact our reservations team here at the hotel who will help you find a suitable room for throughout your stay. Our reception team can also help with any issues you face during your stay also so please do not hesitate to contact them.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed for one night whilst attending a function in Norwich. As we only paid £40, we did not have that high expectations. However the reception staff were pleasant and helpful, and the room was a reasonable size, pleasantly functional and very clean. There were complimentary coffee and newspapers in the lobby area. The only criticism is that wi-fi was quite expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrismCambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Please let me begin by thanking you for taking the time to feedback to me about your stay here at Norwich. I am very glad to hear that my Reception team were helpful to you whilst staying at our hotel.

We have complimentary tea, coffee and newspapers in our lobby area for all of our guests that check in and out and I am glad this made an impression to you whilst at our hotel.

Looking at your comment regarding Wi-fi, it is something we are currently looking into and hopefully can improve for our guests in the near future.

I hope we can welcome you back to Holiday Inn Norwich again one day.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
2.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,162 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mercure Norwich Hotel
Mercure Norwich Hotel
#24 of 50 in Norwich
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich

Property: Holiday Inn Norwich
Address: Ipswich Road, Norwich NR4 6EP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Norwich
#12 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Norwich enjoys an excellent location only 2.5 miles south from Norwich city centre. This Norwich Hotel offers easy access to attractions such as Great Yarmouth, Snetterton; Norwich City FC and Sandringham House & Gardens. This Norwich hotel combines excellent facilities for both business and leisure users, including Kids eat and stay for free*.The Hotel facilities include 119 Air Conditioned hotel Bedrooms, High Speed Internet access in bedrooms, conference rooms and public areas. This hotel in Norwich offers family rooms and accessible rooms too.Holiday Inn, Norwich has 5 meeting rooms which can cater for many requirements for up to 150 people, from Meetings, Christenings, Family Birthdays, Funerals to Weddings. Ample free car parking is available. The Hotel offers a Gym, Sauna, Spa Bath and Indoor Heated 13m Swimming Pool and is complimented by an on-site beauty therapist (pre-booking recommended). The hotel restaurant allows you to dine in an informal atmosphere everyday; serving a full buffet breakfast and extensive dinner menu that caters for everyone. Whether you are looking for sight-seeing, shopping, or exploring the beautiful Norfolk countryside we have it all. Discover the hidden gem of East Anglia that is known as Norfolk. *Terms and conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing