We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD BUT COULD DO BETTER”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“GOOD BUT COULD DO BETTER”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed in IHG Hotels since 1973 in Africa, in the Americas, Asia and in Europe.
IHG have set the bench marks for quality of service, food, cleanliness and acceptable comfort. One pays for these standards. On business I have used five and four star hotels, whilst on private family occasions; I usually stayed in four and three star hotels. One expects good quality and value for money from any IHG Hotel.
CLEAR PACKAGE OFFERS
I like clear hotel package offers so that when I make a booking I am aware of the likely cost of the stay so that there are no unpleasant surprise extras.
People are going through a difficult economic period in Europe and the USA right now and many people are being forced to tighten their belts and to try to get the best value deals from hotels.
Incomes in many cases are not keeping up with inflation. People want to get away any enjoy good hotels as long as they feel they are getting a good deal. They don’t want to be surprised by unexpected extra charges after they have arrived
SERVICE AT RECEPTION ON ARRIVAL AND CHECKOUT
I would prefer to be welcomed to the Hotel and reminded of the package that I was booked on.
At Holiday Inn Norwich, my special deal was (241) two nights for the price without breakfast.
I would like to be reminded of the option of the cost of a cooked breakfast on the day and if I prepaid for breakfast on arrival. Also any other deals the hotel had to offer.

ROOM QUALITY
Our room was clean, but the plunger plug in the wash basin did not work. To have a wet shave, I had to run the top water continuously. I reported this fault, but it had not been fixed by the time we had checked out.

GOOD POINT
This hotel offered fish for breakfast, which was a big plus

BAD POINT
It did not appear to have a lift (evevator)

Room Tip: The hotel is set back from the road so is generally quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAMON F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    268
    158
    41
    30
See reviews for
141
207
29
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had a delightful stay at the Holiday Inn, Ipswich Road, Norwich. The Spirit Health Club was well equiped, although the swimming pool was a bit on the small side. The room had everything for a comfortable stay and the reception staff were extremely helpful supplying us with as much tea, coffe, milk and sugar as we wanted for use in our room. It was a very pleasant couple of days and nights away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We booked a room for 3 people - a double bed and a sofa bed was the deal - but why is it that at medium-priced hotels like this the staff don't seem to have the forsight to think about how many people are staying in the room? Why were no extra towels provided for the third guest? Why were no extra cups provided?! We were made to feel very lucky to receive an extra Twix when booking in...but the moment turned awkward when our third guest wasn't allowed.....bizarre! We reported some broken tiles in the shower - they looked so loose they looked like they could fall off and into the bath at any moment, and were told that there are no maintenance staff working at the weekend but that our "comments have been noted". It was a minor inconvenience but really? Do you really have no maintenance staff working at the weekend - what a pickle this hotel would be in if something more technical occurred! A simple apology would have sufficed instead of a bullish attitude from the receptionist! The room itself was large enough, but out of proportion to the small bathroom which incidentally had no air-con or means of de-steaming the room when it became too hot. Usual paid-for TV services and bedding etc - quite a comfortable bed. Only stayed for 1 night so didn't have chance to try the bar or food service. About a 10-minute drive into Norwich city centre.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackcherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddleworth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My friend and I stayed at this lovely Hotel last week and we were delighted with every aspect
Our rooms were lovely, the staff very friendly and helpful,the food was very good.
The quiet location is really nice and peaceful, no noise at night from traffic.
In fact we could not fault this Hotel in anyway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eckersleybren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at Holiday Inn Norwich.
To hear that you had such an enjoyable stay really does emphasis to both me and my staff how important it is to treat every guest with the highest quality of service. I am thrilled to hear you could not fault our hotel and I really hope we can welcome you back to Holiday Inn Norwich again!

Once again thank you for taking the time to feedback to us, we appreciate it greatly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is a nice comfortable hotel for business travel. its really a smart motel but has the comfortable rooms and good service of a Holiday Inn. I thought it was slightly overpriced but it must be an expensive area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kibbutznik_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in different dates thea last one in December 2011 for the sake of spending nights away from home. And every time, we are very much satisfied with our rooms and service from staff. Our bedrooms have been spacious and very clean each instance of our stay. The evening meals and buffet breakfast were very nice. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and other holidaymakers!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PinoySaNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Jhobzkie,

Firstly, please let me thank you for taking your time to write a review on Tripadvisor about our hotel. To see your feedback about our service, rooms and food is excellent. I am also very glad to hear that we have kept up to your expectation since your last stay and that you once again had a pleasant stay in Holiday Inn Norwich.

Its great to know that you would recommend our hotel to others and I also hope that you will return yourselves in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This hotel has had a revamp since our last visit and is much improved. Modern rooms with everything you need. The staff were all excellent and well trained, nothing was too much trouble for them. We checked in on a very hot day and were given a cold orange drink as we registered, that was very much appreciated, thank you. It set the tone and we felt well looked after during our stay.
Just one minus point, the spa now needs an update. The pool is looking past its best.
See you again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am pleased to hear that the renovation on areas of our hotel have been noticed by you our guests and that they have made an improvement.
Also the kind comments you have made about our staff are very pleasing to hear. I will ensure that your comments are passed onto my members of staff.

With regards to the Health Club & Spa, we are currently awaiting to undergo some refurbishments within this department. Hopefully if you decide to ever return to Norwich and stay with us again, you will be able to see this yourself.

Thank you for your feedback,
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
2.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,161 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mercure Norwich Hotel
Mercure Norwich Hotel
#24 of 50 in Norwich
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich

Property: Holiday Inn Norwich
Address: Ipswich Road, Norwich NR4 6EP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Norwich
#12 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Norwich enjoys an excellent location only 2.5 miles south from Norwich city centre. This Norwich Hotel offers easy access to attractions such as Great Yarmouth, Snetterton; Norwich City FC and Sandringham House & Gardens. This Norwich hotel combines excellent facilities for both business and leisure users, including Kids eat and stay for free*.The Hotel facilities include 119 Air Conditioned hotel Bedrooms, High Speed Internet access in bedrooms, conference rooms and public areas. This hotel in Norwich offers family rooms and accessible rooms too.Holiday Inn, Norwich has 5 meeting rooms which can cater for many requirements for up to 150 people, from Meetings, Christenings, Family Birthdays, Funerals to Weddings. Ample free car parking is available. The Hotel offers a Gym, Sauna, Spa Bath and Indoor Heated 13m Swimming Pool and is complimented by an on-site beauty therapist (pre-booking recommended). The hotel restaurant allows you to dine in an informal atmosphere everyday; serving a full buffet breakfast and extensive dinner menu that caters for everyone. Whether you are looking for sight-seeing, shopping, or exploring the beautiful Norfolk countryside we have it all. Discover the hidden gem of East Anglia that is known as Norfolk. *Terms and conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing