We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a treasure for Norfolk”

Norwich Theatre Royal
Book In Advance
More Info
$10.47*
and up
City Sightseeing Norwich Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #8 of 143 things to do in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Central Norwich premier theatre presenting musicals, drama, dance, opera, comedy and concerts. Professional shows are brought to Norwich direct from London's West End or as part of their national and international tours. Our bars and restaurant offer a wide selection of hot and cold food, snacks and drinks. Open from 9.30am Monday to Saturday, visitors are welcome to call in for coffee and cake or a bite to eat at lunchtime. Pre-show meals are available from 5pm in both the restaurant and the Adnams Circle Bar. Norwich Theatre Royal is fully accessible and family friendly.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“What a treasure for Norfolk”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This theatre excels in every respect. many pre-London West End productions, a wide range of genre and superb facilities all round.
The theatre is welcoming, friendly and provides an holistic experience for all.
Productions are fist rate, prices fair and there is a full range to choose from, whatever personal taste am be.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trevor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    158
    50
    17
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shipdham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Powerful”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Visited Theatre Royal last night to see Matthew Bourne's Swan Lake. Went with an open mind as had been told that it was different from the traditional ballet. It was absolutely wonderful !! The last act (the dying swan) was so powerful it made me cry, and this wasn't from the music as I know the score so well. Go see this, it's magical !!! Spoke to many people at the interval, and was told that Sleeping Beauty and Cinderella are even better, but as they are not on the Theatre Royal programme i think i may have to make a trip to London to see them!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cloish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
616 reviews
250 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Only one tutu”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I'm not a ballet fan but found myself going to the second in a month (the other in Vienna). I wasn't even meant to be there; my wife couldn't go. To be honest, neither my daughter or I were looking forward to it.
How wrong we were. Matthew Bourne's interpretation of Swan Lake turns tradition upside down. The chorus of male swans strut and exude testosterone. The Swan is Alpha male, magnetic to ladies when in human form and to the lost soul, the Prince. The action goes from palace to opera house (for a very funny send up) to a sleazy night club. By turns drama, comedy, tragedy it was an evening I won't forget.
How lucky we are in East Anglia to have this venue that delivers fine performances so consistently. And with provincial prices! While Swan Lake's short run is about to finish, there is always Barry Humphreys Final Tour if you want something different in the New Year.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ropsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“swan lake”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

A great venue, helpful staff and an amazing show which kept you gripped to your seat .
The Sceneary, costumes first class. outstanding dancers which capture the audience. I believe the whole house stood and applauded. (amazing) considering I have worked in most theatres in London.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great venue”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I have often visited this theatre. I have attended ballets with adult friends, and shows with children. The staff are always very helpful and the theatre itself is set out well. It is easy to access your seats, no matter where in the audience you are. There is parking just across the road, and if you have time, the restaurant serves good food! All in all, a worth while place to see a show . . of which there are many different sorts! Recommend visiting the web site to see what is available.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sam a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norwich Theatre Royal also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Norwich Theatre Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing