We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always have time for SCVA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sainsbury Centre for Visual Arts

Sainsbury Centre for Visual Arts
Ranked #8 of 140 things to do in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Sainsbury Centre for Visual Arts is an inspirational public art museum where you can see outstanding art for free. The Centre, which opened in 1978 to house the Robert and Lisa Sainsbury Collection, is a world-class building designed by Norman Foster, at the University of East Anglia, Norwich.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always have time for SCVA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Definitely worth a visit if you're in the area, has a love cafe at the back and a wonderful gallery.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    129
    31
    9
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“School visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

The space, the nearness of artworks that changed perception. It's so vibrant too - UEA campus, a feeling of life and being within a stream of moving, undulating energy from reactions of children and adults alike to the pieces on display.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank victoria a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“UNDERUSED ATTRACTION”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This arts centre just outside Norwich is well worth a visit. It houses the permanent collection of the Sainsbury family. Old and new artifacts from around the world not just paintings and sculptures but glass, china and even a formula one racing car!This is set in a modern light and airy gallery with very good amenities for teaching groups, eating and drinking.

It is in the middle of the University of East Anglia campus, which I suspect can be very busy during the week especially regarding parking. We visited on a greyish, damp Sunday morning when the students were probably all in bed sleeping off their hangovers!

Downstairs is an exhibition hall which is currently holding a temporary exhibition of fine art treasures with an East Anglian connection. Eclectic and as fine a collection as you could see in London.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My kind of space”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I am ashamed to say it has taken me 5 years to visit Sainsburys Centre despite living just down the road. I loved it. Art is a very personal thing. I loved the eclectic collection of figurative art from around the world and across history. I loved the way the everything was displayed; very simply allowing them to tell their own story. Figures created thousands of years ago sited next to pieces of modern art, yet having a common 'feel'. I didn't visit the Masterpieces exhibition as there was enough to keep me occupied, but the Long Journey in the main hall captured my imagination and I will be visiting again ....soon.
P.s the only thing that let it down was the parking - only a matter of time before cars become stuck in the mud!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeanaDee2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“outstanding collection, outstanding exhibition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

I recently visited the Tate's Iconoclasm exhibition, only to be disappointed; but a similar review of mediaeval and later art at the Sainsbury collection showed how it should be done. Both exhibitions covered old ground, with objects seen before elsewhere, but where the London gig was thin on the ground, Norwich came up with some wonderful juxtapositions and really gave a lot of bang for your buck. Even on its own the revamped free exhibition upstairs is well worth the journey; there is a massive central car park but we found one closer to the gallery, though the campus is pleasant enough to walk through anyway with Henry Moore sculptures dotted around the lawns and lake.. The campus is a bit of a warren, with poor signing for the gallery, and google maps was little help, not making it clear which block is which, but persevere and there is a wonderful mix of art both ancient and modern upstairs shown to the advantage of both, with bacons and Inca gods next to ancient egyptian jewelry and modern figurative sculpture, whilst the maze of galleries downstairs hosted the art of East Anglia exhibition. This presented such old friends as the wooden effigy of a knight that I've seen in its church and in London before, but never shown as well as this. A feast of art that is well worth an afternoon of anyone's time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mikedeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sainsbury Centre for Visual Arts also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Sainsbury Centre for Visual Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing