We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rainy day place to explore!”

Sainsbury Centre for Visual Arts
Ranked #12 of 144 things to do in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Sainsbury Centre for Visual Arts is an inspirational public art museum where you can see outstanding art for free. The Centre, which opened in 1978 to house the Robert and Lisa Sainsbury Collection, is a world-class building designed by Norman Foster, at the University of East Anglia, Norwich.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great rainy day place to explore!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Fee: Free for the main exhibit
Time: With little ones it's best to dip in and out or find some ...(we play eye spy and my little ones have to find e.g the ballerina, a dragon etc)
Bathroom facilities: There are toilets on both floors.
Stirs/lift: There is a wonderful spiral staircase from he main entrance that leads to the gift shop! There is also a glass lift that goes downstairs.
Wheelchair Access: There is disabled parking opposite the entrance (you could miss it) and everything is nicely spaced out so you have lots of room to explore.
Lockers/storage: When you enter there is a room available to leave your belonging if you so wish. Not sure how secure it is though.
Food: There is a cafe but the service is very poor.
Extras:
1. Currently they have a massive blackboard that you (kids) can contribute to.
2. Lots of events on throughout the year and in school holidays
3. Sometimes they have pictures of a sculpture to colour in and then kids have to find it. It is wonderful - a proper art hunt!
4. Get a ticket from reception so you can park for free in the designated areas around the entrance of the art centre.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Where_to_next_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    132
    32
    11
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rubbish”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

There was nothing I wanted to see but i liked what was on leaflets I was shown. So if the leaflets were anything like the actual place i would be great but it isn't so i wouldn't recommend this to anyone else

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Heffalump99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A real find.”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

They had an Art Nouveau exhibition when we visited which I loved. the photographic portraits were wonderful too. The actual building is a work of art itself. Do visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank KJP1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
408 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“What a great attraction - and it's free!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We ran out of time on our last visit to Norwich to visit the Sainsbury centre, so ensured we made time on our latest visit. We were not disappointed - this is an excellent gallery/museum.
All the staff we met were friendly, helpful and enthusiastic and eager to share their knowledge.
I was anxious to see the Walking Hippopotamus (1800BC) which is a magnificent exhibit, as are all the other ancient artefacts.
Upstairs are 18th and 19th century furniture, glassware and jewellery, and in the basement more ancient artefacts and a photographic exhibition.
The cafe is light, airy and competitively priced with a good view of a Picasso jug and the sculpture park.
We spent a whole morning here and have recommended it to our friends.
The building itself is fascinating and the Henry Moore at the entrance a bonus.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kittyginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent and under used”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a really nice museum / gallery in the ground of UEA which always seems to be underused.
We went along for an Art Deco exhibition and were really impressed.
On the down side - the parking was minimal !

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leark1ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sainsbury Centre for Visual Arts also viewed

 

Been to Sainsbury Centre for Visual Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing