We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting to know you . . .”

City Sightseeing Hop-on, Hop-off Tour of Norwich
Book In Advance
More Info
$10.38*
and up
City Sightseeing Norwich Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #8 of 29 Tours in Norwich
Attraction details
NORWICH
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Getting to know you . . .”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Having lived in Norwich for the past 17 years or so, we feel almost "local." There was not much we didn't know about the city. How wrong can one be? With expected guests arriving for a few days, one who had not been to this "Fine City" before, we came up with the idea of a quick tour on the hop-on hop-off city signtseeing open-top bus. We had used them in the past in places such as Palma, Mallorca and Valletta, Malta and found them to be most enjoyable and informative.
You can pick it up at any of the designated stops then hop-on and hop-off at your leisure. The whole trip lasted about an hour but the overriding factor was the clear, most informative and interesting, pre-recorded commentary. Adults £9 and children £5. For visitors with little time this ride will not disappoint and, most certainly an excellent way to "do Norwich."

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank jogico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareinNorfolk, Guest Relations Manager at City Sightseeing Hop-on, Hop-off Tour of Norwich, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Good to hear from you - thanks for taking the time to let us know your thoughts and we are delighted that you found your trip with us such a worthwhile experience and felt that our commentary was so informative. We hope you will take the opportunity to take your visitors on the tour too to show off our wonderful City of Norwich. There's always so much to see and do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    6
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Brilliant and Insightful.”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Even though I'd lived in Norwich almost all my life I'd never done this so I thought it was about time to! I learnt alot and it was a really great day out, we didn't get off at any of the stops because we didn't have enough time but but I wouldn't have loved to spend all day on this.
The driver was really friendly and I can't believe I didn't do this sooner. I see some other reviewers have mentioned this too, but the speakers are at the front and as they have to reach all the way to the back they really hurt your ears so make sure you don't sit too close to them!
Apart from this, I would recommend to anyone!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DarkCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareinNorfolk, Guest Relations Manager at City Sightseeing Hop-on, Hop-off Tour of Norwich, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
We're so pleased to hear that you finally decided to try out our tour service and, of course, that you felt that it was such a worthwhile experience. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and it's good to hear that even having lived in Norwich you still learned more about our wonderful City. With regard to your comments about our speaker system we have now made improvements to the sound system/speakers which we hope will allow for a much more comfortable experience and hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Really good trip.”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Husband and I have recently moved to Norfolk and thought it was time to start exploring Norwich and surrounding areas. We'd done The Castle on a rainy day, so, as the weather was nice, it was time to take the sight-seeing bus trip. I expected the usual stuff - poor commentary, bad sound system, tape out of sync with the journey, etc., but not a bit of it! We were sitting upstairs, under the canopy. The sound was very good. We appreciated the decent volume as a noisy child was nearby. The commentary was clear and informative and didn't go on too long on one topic. It was synced to the journey throughout. The tour took us arund the city and up to the hills overlooking the city - which I hadn't expected. The ticket allowed us to get on and off as much as we wanted, but we decided to stay put and enjoy the whole tour in one go. If/when we do it again, we may well spend some time and different destinations along the way. Naturally, it blew Norwich's trumpet a little, but I came away feeling quite pleased that we had moved to such an important place!
I woud definately recoomend this trip. It's good value and the nice lady in the bus station booking hall drew our attention to a discount that were were not aware of.
Go for it - you won't be disappointed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareinNorfolk, Public Relations Manager at City Sightseeing Hop-on, Hop-off Tour of Norwich, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Hi there, thanks so much for posting such a positive review of our City Sightseeing Norwich Tour. We're so pleased you had a good time on board with us. Our tour provides a good orientation to the city as well as lots of fun facts and historical information. We're glad to hear you were impressed with the quality of the commentary as the sound levels worked well for you. We work hard to ensure the whole tour is slick avoiding the whole stop/start and out of sync problems. Many of our customers comment on how nice it is to go up towards Mousehold Heath and look out over the city - a fantastic vista that not everyone knows about! It is certainly one of our favourite parts of the tour.

We are very proud of Norwich - with it's amazing history and heritage and we hope our tour helps to raise the profile of our fine city. Thanks for choosing us and don't forget to recommend us to family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent. Good value.”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We've lived in Norwich for 20 years and felt it was time to do the tour! Excellent value. We found out so much about our wonderful city. Great idea to be able to hop on and off when ever and where ever you like.
Very friendly bus driver. A great way to see the city whether you're locals like us or visitors.
One tip - dont sit right at the front on top as the speakers are painfully loud!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank hattiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareinNorfolk, Public Relations Manager at City Sightseeing Hop-on, Hop-off Tour of Norwich, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review your City Sightseeing Norwich Tour. We're so pleased to hear you had a great tour with us. We try and give an overview of Norwich that will appeal to visitors to the city as well as locals. Norwich has bags of history with so many great stories to tell so we are especially pleased to hear that you found out things about the city that you didn't already know. Hopping on and off is as you say a great way to get around Norwich and we do offer some very reasonable fares for locals. We have a small team of drivers and we will be sure to pass on your feedback to them. Thanks for pointing out the noisy speakers up top at the very front of the bus - we will take a look and see what we can do to improve the sound levels for future tours. Don't forget to bring your friends and family on board next time! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very helpful”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Took a group on this trip - booked in advance and got a discount. Great trip, helpful staff.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareinNorfolk, Public Relations Manager at City Sightseeing Hop-on, Hop-off Tour of Norwich, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent trip with us. We love getting feedback from customers and we're so pleased that you enjoyed your Norwich tour. We love having pre-booked groups on board and yes we are happy to offer great rates and group discounts. Thanks for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Sightseeing Hop-on, Hop-off Tour of Norwich also viewed

 

Been to City Sightseeing Hop-on, Hop-off Tour of Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing