We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Fabulous!”

Review of Hill House Norfolk

Welcome to Hill House Norfolk
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Hill House Norfolk
Hill House Norfolk Drawing Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
108 reviews
Welcome to Hill House Norfolk
Hill House Norfolk
Drawing Room
Dining room seats 16 to 18
En-suite bathroom
Kitchen
Designer furniture
Morning room with multimedia system
Games room with lots of toys
Bedroom 1
Four-poster bedroom
En-suite bedroom
Walk through shower/en-suite bedroom
www.hillhousenorfolk.com
Free use of leisure and golf club
Free use of leisure facilities at a local country club 5 mins away
Tennis court and the HH Kids Club
6 acres of gardens and grounds
Lots of catering options including fish and chips
Children's tea in the kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
8 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 19
Norwich, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 108 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sam R
Harpenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
Reviewed May 1, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

11 Adults, 11 kids, dogs...what could possibly go wrong?! Absolutely nothing! We had the best 3 days ever :) highly recommend this venue and huge thanks to Tara and Ann who really went the extra mile to make it such a special break. Looking forward to round 2! x

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2018
Amazing ! Thank you for coming and thank you for the review. You know where we are now and would love to host the next round. Thanks again, Darren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downeski
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
““The perfect Country House for a weekend away with old friends ( and their kids and dogs!!)””
Reviewed April 26, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We had an amazing long weekend to celebrate a bunch of old friends turning 50 recently and Hill House provided exactly what we needed,

The bedrooms are all fantastic and the layout really suited a large party very well.

Hill House has more than enough space for everyone not to be on top of each other yet a real cozy feeling when we were all sitting around in front of a roaring log fire or the large dining table, talking nonsense until the early hours.

The tennis court and table tennis table kept the sporty types, and the kids , occupied whilst the Games Room has Air Hockey and "old school" arcade games like Space Invaders and Pacman for the less energetic.

Tara looked after us extremely well and nothing was too much bother for her...MANY THANKS TARA!!!!....She arranged for Bill to come to the house and cook Fish and Chips for us on our first night and mixed us some mean cocktails for our "Posh Gala Dinner".

The grounds are great and there was even an outdoor Treasure Hunt arranged for the kids.

All in all, we had an amazing weekend and I would recommend Hill House without hesitation. We will definitely be back!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 29, 2018
Hi Ann. Really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Sounds like a brilliant weekend. The gala dinner sounded brilliant. Hope we see you really soon in another one of our properties. You’ll love France. Darren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexdowne...
Harpenden, United Kingdom
1 review
“10/10”
Reviewed April 20, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

A fabulous place to spend a weekend away! We were a large group ranging in ages 4 to 50 and we were all spoilt for choice as to what to do! Even the teenagers! From tennis tournaments to lovely walks to cocktails being served by the wonderful Tara! A stunning house in a stunning location. Can't wait to return

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2018
Hi Alex, thank you for taking the time to write a review. So glad that you had a great time and we scored a full 10 points :) We're driven to produce great experiences and will pass your comments around the team. Best regards, Darren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reesynic
1 review
“A little slice of Heaven at Hill House”
Reviewed April 17, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Have just spent a fabulous long weekend at Hill House with a group of friends. Felt very spoilt with all amenities being top class, from the bang olufsen sound system playing throughout the house to the white company bed linen and toiletries.
Having a large number of children with us, their needs were catered for too. Amazing games room and separate tv lounge for children whilst adults had the spacious lounge with fire roaring and cocktails being served by the lovely Tara.
The grounds allowed the children the freedom they crave to explore and the organised treasure hunt was a great success.
We used all Hill House has to offer, loved it and hopefully will be back! Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2018
Thank you for the review - it's really appreciated. Future guests really value the TripAdvisor reviews. So glad that you had a great time and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benmansel...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfection in Norfolk”
Reviewed April 17, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This is the perfect place to stay if like us you are a large group. We were 11 adults 11 children and 4 dogs and it's difficult to say who had the best time. When we left several children were in tears and some of the adults were close to tears. Everything has been thought through to the tiniest detail. Each bedroom was like a top hotel. There are some many different areas downstairs from the games room, to different lounges to suit whatever mood you are in. The grounds are great with beautiful countryside to walk through to clear the head if needed. I can't recommend this place highly enough. We are already planning our next trip!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2018
Hi Ben, thank you so much for the review. It's music to our ears that you loved HH as much as we do. Look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinsellaE...
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“There are not enough words to describe how fantastic Hill House is!”
Reviewed April 11, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

From the moment I contacted Darren to the moment we left Tara, the experience of staying at Hill House was perfect. As a company, and team of 8, we were looking for a venue where we could host a relaxed meeting, whilst being off site and able to unwind and relax in the countryside. Hill House was perfect for this - there was plenty of space for us to spread out, and great to have all audio visual equipment to host a meeting - from a projector to microphone - I dare say these are also available for karaoke also! I don’t think I’ve ever had a meeting next to a roaring log fire before! It was then perfect for us to chill out in the evening, making use of the snug to play board games, and also the fantastic games room to have a few competitions of pool. The bedrooms were all of a fantastic standard, providing a range of different sized rooms and bathrooms. We loved the kitchen, and preparing meals and breakfast, eating in both the kitchen and the dining room. It was quite drizzly outside, so we didn’t get to use the gardens much unfortunately - maybe next time!
When i booked, i had no idea that we would also have the pleasure of Tara during our stay during the days - oh my goodness, this lady is fantastic, and as a corporate stay, Tara provided us with pastries, teas, coffee’s - soy milk, skimmed milk, full milk, snack bars and biscuits and cakes - everything you could think of for a snack break. We hadn’t expected this, and it was such an added bonus to have a break and have everything laid out ready for us. She was also on hand for all our technical enquiries, and gave us a thorough tour of the house on arrival. Before we arrived, Tara also provided us with taxi numbers, and a range of dining options to suit lots of budgets, from fish and chips to apple martinis and popping brownies! Tara is a lovely lady, who really went the extra mile for us at every turn - thank you for everything you did for us!
To sum up - booking as a business, Hill House worked extremely well, and their attention to detail for corporate meetings was impeccable. The other members of my team were quite blown away when they arrived. Thank you for a lovely stay - we hope to be back one day for a meeting, and will certainly recommend you to other areas of the business. If i can make it back with my family as well one day, then i’d love to show them the House.
Thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we loved looking after your group. We'd be delighted to look after other Coca-Cola teams in the future - so hopefully see you again. Hopefully next time it won't be as rainy :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkFreem...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Impressive Manor”
Reviewed April 10, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We enjoyed a great long weekend at Hill House. Impressive manor, with character and well kitted out. We had 19 staying and there was plenty of space. Tara was great, she was very helpful, gave us a tour when we arrived and was there straight away when we had an issue with the ice cream vending machine.
Everyone at the Saxlingham Cricket Club, short walk down the road, was very friendly and welcomed us in to watch football on their Sky Sports.
Only downside was Golf and Swimming were more than 15mins walk away, as stated above, more like 5 mile drive (or 1hr 40mins walk according to Google maps) and only eight people allowed to swim at once (not the best when there are 19 in the party) and Bill’s Fish and Chips were a bit of a letdown, for the price we were disappointed.
Overall, a great place to stay, we didn’t want to leave and would recommend to anyone.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2018
Hi Mark. Really glad that you had a great stay. Thank you for the review and apologies for the confusion. I'm not sure how that happened. Our website states the country club is a 5-10 minute drive. And sometimes they have to restrict guests to 8 per session (this in in our booking conditions). Sorry also on Bill's fish and chips. Our guests love Bill, he's such a character. The price of £11 for adults reflects that he comes over to HH especially for you and spends typically 30-40 at the door cooking your dinner and entertaining you with Norfolk stories. We will check to understand how this confusion happened. Thanks again Mark. Darren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing