We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An absolutely fabulous property”

Review of Hill House Norfolk

Welcome to Hill House Norfolk
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Hill House Norfolk
Hill House Norfolk Drawing Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
104 reviews
Welcome to Hill House Norfolk
Hill House Norfolk
Drawing Room
Dining room seats 16 to 18
En-suite bathroom
Kitchen
Designer furniture
Morning room with multimedia system
Games room with lots of toys
Bedroom 1
Four-poster bedroom
En-suite bedroom
Walk through shower/en-suite bedroom
www.hillhousenorfolk.com
Free use of leisure and golf club
Free use of leisure facilities at a local country club 5 mins away
Tennis court and the HH Kids Club
6 acres of gardens and grounds
Lots of catering options including fish and chips
Children's tea in the kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
8 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 19
Norwich, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 104 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stephanie...
Essex
1 review
“An absolutely fabulous property”
Reviewed October 18, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

The house has been removated to very high standard throughout and has a great layout to relax and enjoy our friends company. Ben the Hall manager was attentive before hand and when we were at the house, ensuring our stay was as successful as possible,The kitchen is well stocked and easy to use with an aga and an oven, the breakfast table meant people could eat at their leisure, whereas the dining room was perfect for a large get together evening meal. The table tennis, tennis court, pinball, pool table etc were use extensively giving an extra dimension to the weekend. The property is well sited to two fabulous restaurants, Relish and The Wildebeest which served excellent food and added the final touch to an amazing location. The icing on my birthday cake was the on-site Archery which Ben the Hall Manager organised, which was extremely good fun. The Hall was recommended to us and we hope we will be back to enjoy the facilities again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard throughout.
Liked least: the heating and water system
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2011
Thank you for your review- we really appreciate you taking the time. We are so glad that you had a great time with us. We had another go at the on-site archery this week ourselves and we loved it too! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful house looked after so well by owner and manager.”
Reviewed October 11, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

12 of us just spent three nights in this wonderful house.Everything we needed was provided, all things were of the highest quality,all bed linen from The White Company.We could have spent all our time at the house, fab garden,tennis court, gym equipment,snooker, an amazing music system.Ben the manager most helpful.Local restaurant Relish did some of our catering, their welcome pack was more than excellent. All our party paid same amount of money we drew lots for the rooms, you need to do this. Two of rooms are more than AMAZING, other two on first floor are super rooms. Four poster room, bed more suitable for single occupancy, room also quite small. On entering house it will take your breath away,every single thing we needed was provided.We will definitely be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything
Liked least: Having to share four poster bed too small for two people
Traveling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2011
Thank you for coming to stay and your wonderful review. Our 4 poster bed is the real deal - it's an original 17th century 4 poster and will only take a standard double mattress. As you know we love mixing old and new so we were able to have the brand new beds made up as super-kings.....thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete T
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heavenly Hill House, what a find.”
Reviewed August 13, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

A fabulous Grade 2 listed house in Norfolk. Would it survive a 5 day encounter with my wife and I, our three children, their partners, their six children and our elderly dog who admittedly hasn't chewed up a kitchen table for two years. Fantastic. The house is a mixture of fine art, fixtures and fitting blended with a great range of functional, quality furniture and is a match for any youthful, energetic group.
The garden provides total privacy and in the absence of beach weather we enjoyed endless games of Tennis, Rounders and Football on the lawn and nature trails throughout the grounds.
The house provides near 5 star hotel accommodation with every facility you could desire together with superbly equipped living space. The Aga was Mmmmmm and so easy to use. Not so the B & O TV/Audio system. I'm sure the off button was there somewhere.
As were are a family of budding Jamie Oliver's, we didn't experience the delights of the local gastronomic services which judging by Visitor Book comments would have been superb.
On the down side, Dunston Hall Health Club was a little tired and there was no hand whisk in the kitchen for my fluffy omelettes. There is now...........
Can't wait to find another excuse to visit this year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us- it's really appreciated by us. Thank you for pointing out the egg whisk is missing - it will be replaced immediately. We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 12, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities and location
Liked least: The staircase was a bit tricky for our disabled 70 year old.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2011
Thank you for choosing to celebrate a 70th birthday with us at Hill House. We are so glad that you had a great time- it means everything to us to hear this. Your feedback and review is so important to us. May thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MarkHarri...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautifully refurbished and spacious house with excellent facilities”
Reviewed August 10, 2011 for a stay in April 2011

We has a family reunion at Hill House at Easter 2011 and had a great week - the house has been sympathetically and expensively refurbished to a very high standard and all of the rooms were lovely. There was plenty of space and a lovely welcome hamper when we arrived. The kids particularly enjoyed the tennis court and pool table as well as the cinema system.
We will definately return and would recommend this house to anyone wanting to explore Norfolk

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate your review and are glad that you had a great time with us. We look forward to seeing you again at Hill House.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 28, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 6, 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing