We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Place of Gothic Magic.”

The Plantation Garden
Ranked #11 of 144 things to do in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Three acres of gardens laid out at the end of the 19th century.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Little Place of Gothic Magic.”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Not rediscovered until a little over forty years ago, these gardens have been lovingly restored by a team of volunteers and is a now a Trust. Once built from nothing in the 1800's as a rich man's folly, this really is a surprising place.
We visited it for a Craft's Fair at the end of August on a fine, warm day. There are medieval style walls and a stunning Italian terrace. Stalls were set out in the main gardens approached by sets of steps down. Stand at the top of them and the whole area is there to be seen as you look down on it. A wonderful old fountain trickles and splashes its way out of mossy holes into a pool full of goldfish and original planting has been restored wherever possible although a Palm House didn't survive.
Whilst around three acres, what is amazing is this garden nestles almost in the heart of the city of Norwich next door to the RC Cathedral. If you are local go eat your lunch in one of its shady corners, if you are a visitor see it anyway! Entrance price is reasonable, but parking is limited and approached by the busy Earlham road into Norwich so not the easiest of place to find. That's a bit of a downside, but it is a unique place to visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    93
    12
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“secret garden..”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

whatever the season, whatever the weather, this has to be my most favourite place in Norwich. I have mixed emotions - I want to tell everyone but at the same time I want to keep it a secret! Thank you to all the people who make this such a wonderful place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lisa2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This garden has been rescued by a trust established in the 80's. Their work brings to the world a fairy-tale sunken garden with strange handmade walls and intriguing bits still being discovered.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nadeen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Sunken Delight”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect when we were told this was a garden created from a former quarry. What a delightful surprise it turned out to be. I liked the effect of being able to look down upon the extensive complex and then descending into the individual garden segments themselves. I especially liked the retaining walls which had bits and pieces of salvaged, formed terracotta and carved stone remnants taken from other sources incorporated into the walls. It added an extra dimension to the gardens. It was a very restful atmosphere being down in the center with this surround of former quarry walls. It remains one of the highlights of our garden tour of East Anglia. I understand that much of the garden is staffed by volunteers. Great work! Jim S

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank HomelessEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

although small worth a visit because of its location, pop into the roman catholic cathederal when done.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plantation Garden also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to The Plantation Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing