We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Norwich
Post
Inbox
Search
Review Highlights
Lovely Autumn stroll through the Victory V walk seeing the trees .

Lovely Saturday Morning walk seeing autumn colour and chestnut trees ,after the victory v walk cup... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Alison S
,
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Making full use of our membership

The tour guide at the beginning of the visit was delightful! We had hung around for this part of... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Janet A
,
Hockley, United Kingdom
Read all 1,382 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Norwich
from $15.80
More Info
from $6.58
More Info
Reviews (1,382)
Filter reviews
1,382 results
Traveler rating
793
490
75
14
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
793
490
75
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walled garden national trust interesting house nt property nt members well worth a visit room guides second hand bookshop stately home extensive grounds courtyard cafe north norfolk scones lovely grounds cream tea lovely place to visit tea room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,382 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the house on heritage day and wasn’t as busy as I thought it might be. Did find the house beautiful but due to lack of information around I didn’t know the significance of certain things in the rooms.
I liked that you are directed throughout the house so there’s a flow into the rooms.
I guess when you pay to enter the house you get the option of a tour guide as I’m sure there is so much within each room.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank amandamccalmont87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Which meant entry was free. Which meant it was very busy. Putting that aside this was a great NT venue to visit. The house was interesting and lots of grounds to walk in. However for us the highlight was the walled garden. Never seen one as good as this. And was actually being worked while we were there. Beautiful plants and lots of chickens running around. Just beautiful!!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank KarenFellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019

Felbrigg Hall is a 17th-century English country house. It is noted for its Jacobean architecture and fine Georgian interior. Outside the house are a walled garden, an orangery and a dovecote. We were lucky enough to arrive at the hall as a guided tour was beginning. John our guide was very impressive and informative knowing the history of the property and he also had some lovely anecdotes. After about 30 minutes with him we entered the hall – no timed tickets at this property. There was a route around the property with knowledgeable and friendly volunteers in the rooms. Also lots of laminated sheets which explained about the many pictures on the walls. The house was interesting. The kitchen was memorable for the polished copper moulds etc. After we had been around the house we went back to the orangery which looked impressive from afar but was small and disappointing inside – although there was a miniature version of the hall inside. The courtyard to the café/shop can be found through the stable block. We had a coffee sat outside before we went back to the walled garden which is actually near to the car park. A lovely walled garden with free range hens who had some chickens when we visited. There is also a huge Dovecote and there were plenty of doves flying around. Lots of vegetables/ herbs and other plants to look after – beautiful colours. You could just visit the lovely gardens although there is a parking fee if you are not a National Trust member. Worth a visit – we spent about 4 hours there.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019

I have a nostalgic view of Felbrigg so my review will be, in part, a bit biased. The house and grounds I know from childhood and both parents have an oak tree each, in memory, planted in the grounds. It's a wonderful place anyway, beautiful grounds, and well managed. Cannot fault it from that point of view. The reason for this cautious review is the tea rooms. It is staffed by utterly morose, uninterested, bored individuals, who have absolutely no charm. When you compare it with some places (Old Vicarage Gardens for instance where the staff are the exact opposite), it stands out in stark reality at just how abysmal it is to be served with such a lack of interest. The service is carried out in total silence, cups of tea, and plates are thrown across the counter rather than given or placed, and throughout all there isn't even a smile. Whatever the private issues they must be suffering, bad management, poor conditions whatever it is, the bottom line is they are serving the public and for that reason alone, they should make the whole experience for the public as pleasant as possible. I would say though the shop is staffed with really friendly people, so it can't be that bad a place to work!

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019 via mobile

Returned here 40 yrs after visiting 1st on honeymoon
Gorgeous interior particularly carpets
Recommended walks in the grounds...different walks of various lengths

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Normanjordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews