We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely building”
Review of Felbrigg Hall

Felbrigg Hall
Ranked #4 of 144 things to do in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely building”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Excellent buildings & gardens but as with many national trust properties I think its over-priced (unless you're a member). We certainly didn't rush round and only spent half the day there (went on to Cromer). Worth visiting if you like historic estates...look out for the books that the staff were allowed to read in the library!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    545
    354
    47
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
docking
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We went to Felbrigg Hall as they were putting on a special attraction just before Christmas. It was telling the story of a wartime Christmas. The volunteers were dressed in 40's costume, there was a choir singing wartime songs and there was a Home Guard re-enactment group. Even though it was pouring down with rain this did not spoil our enjoyment. Felbrigg is a lovely hall and we shall be going again in the summer so we can explore the grounds. It is a National Trust property, so if you are members of the NT it is free entry.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank judithDocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsall, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Visit”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Having visited Blickling Hall earlier in the day we found this visit far more interesting. The tour brought the house alive and staff and volunteers were extremely helpful.I enjoyed the stories about the staff below stairs and the gardeners etc. We were unable to see the grounds due to haevy rain but overall we really did enjoy our visit here. Recommended.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Typical national trust. Nice paintings , good room settings especially the kitchens. Very nice walled garden which is lovely in summer.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank leegoffin54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia, England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“1940's Christmas at Felbrigg”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just returned from a lovely atmospheric vist to this lovely house and grounds. The theme for these few days is a wartime Christmas and it was thorughly enjoyable.The Home Guard were present for drills, training etc together with memorabilia displays which either brought back childhood memories or were being seen with new eyes.The re-enactment personnel were brilliant -from the Dad's Army to the various members of the choir which sang at intervals in the morning room.All strata of society were portrayed and the NT room volunteers were equally well dressed and in character. The emphasis was on pastimes toys,games etc, decoration making and of course food.The main dining table was dressed for the Christmas meal and this was carried through to the kitchen where war time food portions and menu tips were displayed and explained..Other aspects of life were shown in various rooms including actual clothing and a radio broadcast. The restaurant also had posters with food and healthy living in war time tips plus table information on the British Restaurant. Outside there were a few stalls selling food and other items and later in the day there was to be a band and carols in the courtyard.People were already flooding in for this free event as we were leaving.
National Trust and its volunteers at their best!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MX19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Felbrigg Hall also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Felbrigg Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing