We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great museum of local interst to Norwich and its visitors”

Museum of Norwich at the Bridewell
Ranked #4 of 149 things to do in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum of Norwich at the Bridewell proudly tells the story of the city and its people. The museum is now fully accessible and refurbished after a £1.5m redevelopment project. Come pay us a visit! The ancient building is packed full of collections and displays, with lots to enjoy by all the family. Highlights include the last surviving Jacquard loom in the city, fully restored to full working order, a recreated chemist shop, countless fantastic shoes, as well as engineering marvels, such as the world's first wire netting machine. Catch a film in our mini cinema, relax in the 1950s living room or listen to local people sharing their memories of the city. Find us in the heart of the charming Norwich Lanes area. We would love to welcome you to this unique museum.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We spent about 2 hours here and it was fascinating. Do take the time to read the information, pull out the drawers and look at all the displays. Also a nice little gift shop with very friendly staff.

Thank lyndac00per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuseumofNorwich, Manager at Museum of Norwich at the Bridewell, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Hi Lynda,
Thanks for your visit. and your review, so glad you had a nice time, and we hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 26 reviews
"all ages"
in 18 reviews
"lanes area"
in 3 reviews
"interactive exhibits"
in 6 reviews
"two hours"
in 13 reviews
"heritage weekend"
in 3 reviews
"war years"
in 3 reviews
"fascinating insight"
in 4 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 13 reviews
"local history"
in 8 reviews
"little gem"
in 3 reviews
"on display"
in 4 reviews
"norwich city"
in 3 reviews
"pharmacy"
in 18 reviews
"drawers"
in 16 reviews
"industries"
in 12 reviews
"shoes"
in 14 reviews
Filter

175 - 179 of 239 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

We had time constraints so spent about 1 hour at Bridewell. I could have spent longer because it was very interesting to read about the history of Norwich. The museum is small but well done.

1  Thank SharonSCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We thought we'd spend half an hour in there and struggled to get it all done in 1 hour. An hour is enough though so get in there at 3.30pm and spend £1 for an hour before closing.

2  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuseumofNorwich, Manager at Museum of Norwich at the Bridewell, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Hi Lisa, thanks for your review, and we are glad you took advantage of our Pop in for a Pound offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Not sure where everyone was but on a bank holiday weekend Saturday during a half term it was absolutely deserted and I've got no idea why. I took my two daughters around it and we easily wasted 2 hours wandering about. You have to take the time to be interested but then you wouldn't be there if you weren't in for a bit of culture.

It's not exactly the London Science Museum but for looking at the journey of Norwich and Norfolk it was pitched perfectly.

Bit of struggle finding the place as it's quite hidden but worth the effort finding. Perhaps that's why it was so quiet.

1  Thank hinezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuseumofNorwich, Manager at Museum of Norwich at the Bridewell, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are aware some visitors find it tricky to locate the museum and we are working to improve way finding, glad you enjoyed yourselves!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My children and I love this local museum. Crammed full of history and interesting things from Norfolk. We spend a couple of hours in here each time and always find out something new.
They also do fun crafts and activities at certain times of the year.
Good, clean facilities and a nice gift shop.

Thank samantha t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Norwich at the Bridewell also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Norwich at the Bridewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing