We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, peaceful holiday home.”
Have fun with the kids, learn to swim  whatever the weather in the heated pool, not shared
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Have fun with the kids, learn to swim  whatever the weather in the heated pool, not shared
Plenty of parking right outside Squirrel Cottage Squirrel and Dove Cottage either side of pool house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Have fun with the kids, learn to swim  whatever the weather in the heated pool, not shared
Plenty of parking right outside Squirrel Cottage
Squirrel and Dove Cottage either side of pool house
Deer in the small orchard behind Squirrel Cottage
Squirrel Cottage back garden
Al fresco dining on Squirrel Cottage patio
10 x 5 Private heated pool with Roman end steps with hand rail leading into pool
Relax and unwind in the Seven seater hot tub with cd player
Kitchen/diner Squirrel Cottage
Lounge of Squirrel Cottage, sky sports and movies
Bathroom with seperate enclosed shower
Triple bedroom with great view of main garden where you may spot roe/muntjak deer,fox, heron rabbits
Double Bedroom
Squirrel Cottage in winter
Entrance to Mandalay, Squirrel and Dove cottage in winter
Squirrel cottage, pool and main garden
Squirrel Cottage, plenty of parking outside cottage
Pool house where the hot-tub is also situated, lounges and table with chairs
Squirrel cottage back garden with bird feeders
Drive down to cottages & pool house
Kitchen diner
Lounge with doors leading to patio area with table & chairs
Inside of Games Room, with Ping-Pong, table football, pool, darts, reading/drawing area
Ducks, heron sometimes a Swan visit our pond in the main garden.
Games Room, Table football, Ping Pong, Pool, Darts, Seating area, colouring books, paper & pencils
FOOTBALL TABLE
POOL TABLE
View of Squirrel Cottage from Owners terrace
TOILET
ENTRANCE TO GAMES ROOM
Squirrel Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Norwich, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gayle S
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely, peaceful holiday home.”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a lovely week at Sqirrel cottage. It was peaceful but still close enough by car to get to the more busy areas. The pool and spa were an added bonus. Also a games area to play pool and darts. The grounds are beautiful with access to play tennis/football. Chrissy and Keith were friendly, helpful hosts. It was great place to reconnect as a family. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2016
Thank you for the great review. It is nice to see family's making use of the facilities and having a relaxing time as a family laughing and playing together on the large playing area all types of ball games/football, cricket, badminton (rackets supplied) and getting their children off their mobile devices! Even if it rains making use of the games room with pool, table football, Ping-Pong, darts.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulineHo...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed July 3, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Chrissy and Keith are very welcoming and as great as the place already is they are always looking to add to the facilities, the games room just has to be visited, we had great fun there! We have been there for the last 5 years and will be staying again next year. Take some nuts for the Squirrels when you go, these are just some of the local wild life that visits the garden. The swimming pool and hot tub are a great way to start or end the day and there are some great local places to eat and visit, Norwich for example.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities for wet weather fun
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2016
We love it when guest's return they become more like friends than guest's, the Games Room has become a big hit for all guest's somewhere when the weather not so great for family's to have some fun on the football table, pool table, Ping-Pong, Darts there is even paper and pencils to keep the younger children entertained whilst mum & dad have a serious game of table tennis!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise W
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed June 21, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a weekend here and wish it had been longer!
There was a warm welcome from Chrissy and Keith. They just couldn't do enough for us.
The cottage is beautiful and the grounds are just gorgeous! The cottage lives up to it's name as we had squirrels on the patio each morning.
The pool was amazing and to be able to take children into a pool on our own built their confidence up to levels they have never reached before.
We can't wait to return.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2016
We wished you could have stayed longer to, so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Left the cottage very clean and tidy. Great guest's.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexLeeds...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic cottage and great hosts”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Stayed at the Squirrel cottage for a week. Great facilities for the children age two and five - they loved swimming in the pool and using the games room. Chrissy and Keith were very welcoming and made sure we had a great stay. Location was excellent for day trips to the Broads and the surrounding attractions. Enjoyed seeing the local wildlife on their estate. Would definitely come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Covered pool
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2016
We aim to make are guest's have a great holiday to remember, and are on hand if needed but not intrusive. We are pleased our Games Room is a great hit with all ages mum and dad can enjoy playing Ping-Pong whilst their children can be amused with drawing & colouring, puzzels etc. Look forward to your return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william h
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
“Another wonderful holiday at Squirrel Cottage”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was our third visit to the cottages and we will be back next year, either in Squirrel or the adjacent Dove Cottage. The covered swimming pool is excellent for our daughter and can be used in all weather. The cottages are very clean and comfortable and have everything that we need. Chrissy and Keith are the ideal hosts. The central location of the cottages is ideal for visiting all the attractions of Norfolk. 5 stars.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The swimming pool
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDimes
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“What an amazing place to stay and would highly recommend it.”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Chrissy and Keith were very welcoming and friendly and gave us lots of info about the cottage,grounds and amenities. The cottage was clean,tidy, homely and had everything we needed. The beds were comfortable and we all slept well. Our little private garden was well kept and had a rotary drier which was very handy for drying wet swimming things.The pool house was marvellous - having allocated private swimming times was an excellent idea as we could book our other activities and trips around them. The pool was warm, clean and bigger than we expected which the children loved. The hot tub was fabulous to relax in and we found it hard to drag ourselves out of it!!! The grounds were beautiful, well looked after and a pleasure to play badminton, cricket, football and many other games in. We saw squirrels, rabbits, bats, owls and Muntjac deer and a little frog! There is plenty of things to see and do in the surrounding areas - we recommend Bures Valley Railway, Norfolk Broads Tour boat trip and Norwich Castle. We had a lovely meal at The Harte Pub in Costessey great quality food at reasonable prices. We had a lovely week and didn't want to leave. We can't thank Chrissy and Keith enough for providing us with such a wonderful place to stay in - we shall be back :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool house
Liked least: No complaints at all
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisMMer...
Merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous peaceful location”
Reviewed June 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2014

we spent a week in squirrel cottage with our 3 grandchildren . the facilities are excellent cottage was well equiped the dishwasher being an added bonus.
Chrissie and Keith kindly supplied us with a welcome pack of local produce on arrival. such a nice touch. the pool and hot tub are extensive, lots of room for the more energetic football players in our group.
daily visits from the family dogs were always welcome.
the grounds, including
we found lots to do in the area from theme parks to riverside walks and a trip on the Norfolk Broards
we can't recommend the place highly enough. by the end of the week we were all relaxed and happy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing