We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury in a beautiful historical old house with a fantastic breakfast.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Catton Old Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Catton Old Hall
Ranked #24 of 86 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Luxury in a beautiful historical old house with a fantastic breakfast.”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had a lovely stay here; it's a beautiful old building, warm, cosy and full of character. Our room (Bignold), was comfortable in the extreme; the bed was huge and comfy, the bathroom modern and clean with a great shower. The breakfast (full English) was one of the best I've ever had, comprising of all local products, something we found common in Norwich. We also liked the Honesty bar, which meant it was very easy to pop down and get a drink late in the evening. The owner was polite and friendly; I'm unsure as to why other people have found this not to be the case as we felt welcome and very comfortable. The only downside for us was the noise we could hear from the room below, where the guests turned on the TV at 6.30am...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    20
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
7
83
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Previous guests criticism of the owner is fair. From the moment you arrive, it is clear you are in an unfriendly, highly-regulated environment, from the angle at which you park your car, the 1 hour window you are permitted for breakfast and the number and temperature of toast one may be allowed. The level of pride at the "honour bar" is as misplaced as the magnifiying glass used in checking the spirit measures and ensuing inquisition in the morning. The mistrust and discomfort of guests is palpable, and the coffee terrible. The house is very old & creaky, the beds uncomfortable and the rooms over a makeover by 10 years. Everyone creeps around on tiptoes waiting to get told off. If anything is wrong, it will be YOUR fault, and not the owners. Park benches and supermarket doorways & a sleeping bag would be a better choice. We could not wait to leave and were not alone in that view .... beware

Room Tip: best rooms on first floor, but v creaky, ask for attic if you want privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFrankReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We loved this place, we stayed in the 'Anna Sewell' room which was spacious, opulent and full of character with ancient beams and extra large four poster, really comfortable. The bathroom was a lovely size and the jacuzzi was a great surprise (we hadn't realised there was one when we booked). We'll certainly be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cognoscente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazeing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Had the pleasure of staying at this lovely house in the Anna Sewell four poster room for 2 Nights, from 21st Sept-23 Sept, this a beautiful house being nearly 400 years old and the room was lovely, the bed was so comfortable and has everything you need including bath robes etc. The owners have thought of all the little things you may need especially for ladies in the bathroom including some lovely shower and shampoo products, face wipes, cotton wool etc and perfume to use.

I found the owner very plesant, yes there are a lot of do's and dont's found in the information booklet in our room, however if I was to own such an old and beautiful house and live there I would also implement these, this is also their home at the end of the day and this beautiful house deserves to be respected and looked after and this is why they include this information, I can only assume previous reviewers who didnt like this sort of thing didnt appreciate the age and beauty of this house and should perhaps stay in a normal hotel in future. I loved the house, creeks and all, the food was lovely and the service was great.

We decided to venture in to Norwich for the day and got a bus from outside the house to Norwich which cost 2.80 each but was better than having to fork out 20 pound to park all day. Norwich town centre as endless shops, malls and a lovely market. We decided to see a film in the afternoon and went to a lovely small cinema called Cinema City which also has a bar and restaurant which was nice, we then had a meal at Bedford's bar which was great and then caught a Black Cab back which cost 9 pound, well worth it as we had a lot of bags due to shopping most of the day. On the Friday we got there we went and had a meal at The Woodman which is a 20 minute walk away, again food and service were great.

All in all we had a great time in Norwich and both myself and my husband loved this house, we would book this B&B in the future without any hesitation, I highly recommend this place if you like a bit of history and appreciate a old beautiful house.

Room Tip: If you would like a romantic weekend away with your partner, book the Anna Sewell room with four pos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tannewc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Lovely b and b the daughter was pleasant on arrival but as in other reviews got the list of does and don't not a problem just a few to many . However after a lovely evening in Norwich and a nightcap at b and b nice touch having the bar, we got up to no water at all coming from the hot tap my husband told the owner who really wasn't in the least bit bothered, then to make things worse the fire alarm kept going of, it does this when you use the toaster in dinning room this became apparent when my hubby used said toaster and of it went the owner then in the middle of us eating the toast asked for it back as the heat from it would set of the alarm again we really thought this was a joke until we saw the look on her face. If this is the case why dont they put the toaster in the kitchen and do it themselves save all this hassle. Won't be going back and after the pep talk on manners my husband gave her don't think they would let us,we had to ask for an apology only to be told the water problem was not her fault she then very reluctantly said sorry a bit to late.
If only the owners of this establishment matched the quality of the rooms and food it would be first class

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Lovely building, with great rooms that are well appointed with some really sweet touches. More than enough towels, toiletries. Liked the history of the building, Anne Sewells room was grand with high beamed ceilings and low windows. Had a tasty breakfast with plenty of choice. Will go stay again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank P12345w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We booked to stay here for a friends wedding, and had a lovely stay. The b+b is very quiet, so a lovely place to stay if you want some peace. The extra, thoughtful little details made staying an absolute pleasure. The little sewing kit came in useful, and the face wipes kindly left on the sink were a godsend having forgotten mine. Our only complaint was the shower was not particularly powerful, more like standing under a garden sprinkler!

The b+b has an honesty bar, so trusting in this day and age and so nice that we didn't need to disturb anyone for a drink when we came in. I can imagine the sitting room being very cosy in winter with the fire burning. the breakfast was superb, every whim catered to and the idea of the order forms so you can state if you would like variations was a brilliant idea. I did feel a little awkward as to what I could and couldn't help myself to though and the eagerness to clear tables did make me feel as if I was a little rushed, but the service was very attentive and the quality of all the food could not be faulted.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Garthvadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
2.4 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
192 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.3 mi away
The Blue Boar
The Blue Boar
#19 of 86 in Norwich
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
38 St Giles Boutique Bed & Breakfast
3.4 mi away
The Old Rectory Restaurant with Rooms
The Old Rectory Restaurant with ...
#1 of 1 in Thorpe St Andrew
322 reviews
10.6 mi away
The White House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catton Old Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catton Old Hall

Property: Catton Old Hall
Address: Lodge Lane | Old Catton, Norwich NR6 7HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Catton Old Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW MANAGMENT Hidden in suburbia and tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the city lies Catton Old Hall, a quirky Grade II listed home dating from 1632 full creaky charm. There is free on-site parking with regular city bus route nearby. Perfect for romantic getaways, shopping trips, city breaks or as a base for exploring the Norfolk Broads. This gorgeous 5* B and B taken over by local couple Jason and Nicola in Jan 2014. A warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Catton Old Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catton Old Hall Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing