We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wedgewood House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wedgewood House
Ranked #6 of 86 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2010

I have just spent 10 months staying at the Wedgewood house three or four nights per week. What can I say? It's a lovely B&B. Nigel and Elspeth are great hosts (I blame Elspeth's breakfasts for my expanding waist line) who will always go that extra mile to make their guests feel at home. The rooms are well appointed and kept very clean. There is also fee wireless internet but, as some one else noted, it's availability is a little variable depending on where you are in the house. The B&B is very close to the City Centre, less than 5 minutes walk, and on a busy main road. This does mean that there is some road noise for the rooms that face the front but it's not excessive and the proximity to all local amenities does more than compensate for this. I will certainly be staying there again when I am next in Norwich.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simonablett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    47
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
34
122
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

Stayed at Wedgewood House for 2 nights in late November. The hosts Nigel and Elspeth are extremely helpful and friendly - nothing seems too much trouble, just ask. They offer a full cooked English breakfast and also a vegetarian option, cereals and filter coffee and a variety of teas. The room was large and beautiful but the en-suite shower room was small. They do have plans to change this in future. There were ample coffee, tea, sugar and milk available in the room. If you want fresh milk for coffee in your room, you can apparently just ask them which I thought was quite nice. The location is perfect - walking distance from Norwich centre and there is parking available at the back. I'm quite fussy about cleanliness and I can confirm that the bedding and towels were immaculate and clean. Would stay there again if in Norwich.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mhr035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

B&B was located within 5 min walk into city centre, and there was off-street parking for our car. Our room was very clean and tidy, and of a good size. The owners were welcoming and hospitable, and have done the most with what they've got. We were warned that our room was on a busy road, but I had assumed the windows would be double glazed. No such luck. It was noisy. The mattress also needed to be replaced as it was very saggy. I hate to say negative things about this place, as we did have a nice stay, but have to be honest that I did not have the best night's sleep. The breakfast was excellent. We would absolutely stay here again, but I would ask for a room not facing the main road. Wi-fi also available upon request.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2009

We are very thankful to Nigel and Elsbeth for their efforts in welcoming us to their B&B and to Norwich. The parking is not huge, but we managed, and as soon as we arrived we got great recommendations for finding a place to have some food (it was already late). The building is not new, but it is well kept and remodelled, and well decorated. All was done to ensure we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlosManta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2009

Great little B&B just a minute from the city centre. Friendly owners, clean quiet room. Free but variable wifi. Great cooked breakfast. Will be staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnarmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2008

Stayed in a single room, quite compact but still had everything I needed. Not en suite, and the bathroom was a short treck down the corridor, but not too much of a problem for the price.

Great breakfast, with local eggs, bacon and sausages.

  • Liked — the breakfasts
  • Disliked — Having a single bed
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2008

My husband and I stayed every year when we went to visit relatives in Norwich but much to my dismay when we stayed last we booked in round 10pm and we were not greated with a great reception. We were shown to our room which was a very nice double as we had stayed there many times I knew where the quite rooms in the house were. At round 12 that nite got into bed and the whole top sheet was covered in blood, I was disgusted couldn't go to reception so had to take off top sheet and sleep with all our clothes on. The next morning we complained to Nigel and I just felt it was all my fault for what had happened he said that he would clean the room as we were staying a second nite and when we returned to the b&b that nite the bed had been stripped but the glooves that they used to change the bed were stuck in under our suitcase (can't understand why) couldn't wait to get out of the place and when we left we were not apologised to and had to pay full price. Reason being I will never stay there again.

  • Liked — that it was within walking distant of the shops in Norwich
  • Disliked — dirty bed
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunlover1111111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.8 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.5 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wedgewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedgewood House

Property: Wedgewood House
Address: 42 St. Stephens Road, Norwich NR1 3RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wedgewood House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere at this superbly located, city centre Edwardian house. Short walk to restaurants, theatres, cinemas, shops and historic city centre. On bus route to university and hospital. Enjoy homely non-smoking comfort and cleanliness in thoughtfully equipped and attractive bedrooms. Freshly prepared English breakfast using top quality, locally produced ingredients. Vegetarian alternative available. Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Wedgewood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing