We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedgewood house, norwich”
Review of Wedgewood House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wedgewood House
Ranked #7 of 80 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NORFOLK gaywood
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wedgewood house, norwich”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

clean rooms,great location only a 5 min walk to the centre, hosts made us feel very welcome and went that extra mile to look after us, breakfast was very good, if your thinking of going to Norwich then stay at the Wedgewood House, you'll not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    50
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
134
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We have just returned from a great weekend hereThe location is fantastic,the rooms are large and spotlessly clean.Breakfast was hot,fresh and delicious and plentiful.
The hosts were really friendly and would do anything for you.
My one and only critique would be the TV in the room,as it could do with updating and probably moving off the floor.
All and al great and will be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WedgewoodGuestHouse, Owner at Wedgewood House, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We just wanted to let you know that we have now upgraded the TV in the room that you stayed in and there is now 32" flat screen TV fitted on the wall. We hope you'll come back one day to try it out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Prices of the B&B are reasonable for what you get. We found the location great. It's close to the bus station and right on the door step of town. So if you don't want to walk from the train station its easily accessed via the bus that runs from the station. The room was clean, minimal with plenty of tea and coffee. The shower room was beautifully decorated. The toilet in our room let it down as it didn't flush very well and made a lot of noise. Breakfast was nice not greasy at all. Could maybe do with some background music as it felt like sitting in a library. We are both happy with our stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WedgewoodGuestHouse, Owner at Wedgewood House, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and we’re really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will come to stay again if you are back in Norwich in the future.

Thank you also for drawing our attention to the problem with the noisy toilet. When we investigated it, we found that the toilet had a partial blockage in it. Not enough to prevent the waste from going away, but it was the cause of the excessive noise that it made on flushing. This has obviously since been addressed.

The question of music in the breakfast room is something that we have talked about on a number of occasions. It’s a tricky one as people are all so different and what one person might enjoy might really bother another. We’ve also considered a news channel on the radio or TV. However, we also know that many people like a fairly gentle start to the day and for this reason we always come back to the decision not to play it. We realise that this won’t suit everyone but is perhaps the option that is least likely to offend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Nigel and Elspeth made us feel very welcome throughout our stay. The room was a good size and clean, the food was nice and location wise, was only a 5 minute walk from the centre of town. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennieB14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundesley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a couple of nights in November 2013 and were really impressed. It started when we arrived with a warm welcome and from there on nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was high quality, with lots of choice and with the excellent touch of having home made produce such as yoghurt and jams/marmalades. We had a large room at the front which was lovely and cosy with a large en-suite and large comfy bed. Secondary glazing ensured we were warm and that noise from the road was minimal. It is only a short walk to Norwich city centre and they offer parking, which is a real bonus. (The Premier Inn was twice as expensive with no parking!) Thank you Elspeth and Neil, your hard work certainly pays off!

Room Tip: The front two rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This place really is a gem. The owners, Elspeth and Nigel, are friendly and the B&B has a nice relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are airy, very clean and comfortable, with effective double glazing to cut out any traffic noise as this is very close to the city centre. The breakfast is superb and there is plenty of it, offering a wide range of options for both meat eaters and vegetarians. The home made bread, yoghurt, jams and marmalade are absolutely delicious. I will definitely be returning; this was a positive experience and excellent value for money and I would recommend Wedgewood House very highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vissoc_at_shu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Wedgewood House is run by the friendly and helpful Neil and Elspeth, and is conveniently located near Norwich's main attractions and near a stop for the bus to the University of East Anglia. My room was clean and reasonably sized, with a nice firm bed and an extra-large and -wide duvet (unlike so many which always seem to leave you uncovered!). I loved the extra-long tub, ideal for a long hot soak. The guest house was very quiet inside and out, and while for scheduling reasons I didn't eat the included breakfast, the options looked good, including the vegetarian ones. I would certainly stay here again if back in Norwich.

Room Tip: Room 11 (in the back of the house) was very quiet, with a large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onegoodyank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.8 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#13 of 50 in Norwich
430 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#15 of 50 in Norwich
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wedgewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedgewood House

Property: Wedgewood House
Address: 42 St. Stephens Road, Norwich NR1 3RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wedgewood House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere at this superbly located, city centre Edwardian house. Short walk to restaurants, theatres, cinemas, shops and historic city centre. On bus route to university and hospital. Enjoy homely non-smoking comfort and cleanliness in thoughtfully equipped and attractive bedrooms. Freshly prepared English breakfast using top quality, locally produced ingredients. Vegetarian alternative available. Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wedgewood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing