We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Wedgewood House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wedgewood House
Ranked #7 of 80 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
clacton
1 review
“Great location”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Outside appearance does not do it justice, room a little on the small side but spotlessly clean. Beautiful breakfast freshly cooked. Nigel and Elspeth very pleasant and helpful. Very close to city centre, would stay here again if we come to Norwich in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rod e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    49
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
34
130
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I have just returned from a trip to Norwich and stayed in the Wedgewood House for two nights, on arrival we were met by Elspeth who was really friendly. The room was lovely and and I slept really well there. The en-suite bathroom had a nice spacious shower in it. There was off street parking at the rear of the building.In the morning Nigel was sorting out breakfast, there is cereals available and fruit salad with a cooked breakfast done to order and yes it went down well along with a plentyful supply of tea and some orange juice. The location is ideal for the city centre just a few minutes walk once you have turned right when going down the path. Would I stay here again? most definately many thanks to the both of you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel-St
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veldre, Hedmark, Norway
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I have stayed at Wedgewood House before, and it was my first choice when going back to Norwich. An excellent breakfast, very friendly people and everything clean and cosy. It is also very practical to be so near the centre of the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torunn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester Essex
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

stayed here for a night but would have stayed longer. nice spacious clean and bright room and the host Nigel very friendly and accomodating. very close to city centre and the sights and we really enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was lovely and I would definately come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColchesterEssexWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The B&B is very conveniently located close (walking distance) to the city center, attractions and shops.
By bus to the rail station is just a short trip using 35 or 25.
The owners are friendly and kind.

Room Tip: The two rooms on the road have double glass at the windows, however, if you are a "light"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bino B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Picked this place to stay through looking at trip advisor reviews. Staying here made our trip
to norwich so easy. It is an older property and the room we stayed in was smaller than i would
have wished, but it was also cheaper than where we would normally stay also.
The accommodation was very clean, and the bath and shower cubicle was so pristine, it shamed
me into polishing my own when i returned home!!!
Breakfast time was a little limited, however you lacked for nothing, even home made yogurt,
which i had liberally mixed with honey. He who must be obeyed had his usual cooked breakfast.
which was served promptly.
The car park was very small, however our four by four managed to
park ok, and there is apparently on road parking available. Although they were fully booked
we did not have a problem with parking so assume others would be ok too.
This b and b is five minutes walk to all shops, museums etc and was very helpful in offering
local advice on eating out etc.
We were woken up our first night by a large shouting yob outside the b and b, but the
second night slept soundly I would expect a downside to being in the centre of a city and
this is just one of those things, nothing to do with the b and b obviously in any way.
The couple who run this place obviously work very hard behind the scenes to keep this
level of cleanlliness and attention to detail and i would like to thank them for our two days
in their establishment. We would definately stay again if we return to Norwich.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldspot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We spent two wonderful nights in the Wedgewood B&B... it is an early walk to main shopping centre and attractions. The breakfasts are wonderful - home made bread and marmalade / jams.. Nice clear room and modern room. Really good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeglandEssex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
1,126 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
621 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#15 of 50 in Norwich
191 reviews
0.4 mi away
38 St Giles Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wedgewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedgewood House

Property: Wedgewood House
Address: 42 St. Stephens Road, Norwich NR1 3RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wedgewood House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere at this superbly located, city centre Edwardian house. Short walk to restaurants, theatres, cinemas, shops and historic city centre. On bus route to university and hospital. Enjoy homely non-smoking comfort and cleanliness in thoughtfully equipped and attractive bedrooms. Freshly prepared English breakfast using top quality, locally produced ingredients. Vegetarian alternative available. Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Wedgewood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing