We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location with friendly service”
Review of Wedgewood House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wedgewood House
Ranked #8 of 80 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good location with friendly service”
Reviewed January 29, 2008

Great location with internet access (wifi) and Tea / Coffee making facilities provided in room. Car parking available and included in the price.

Excellent breakfast - cereals, fruit juices and Full English with locally sourced sausages.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rogercruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    48
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
34
126
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2007

Excellent location B&B, 5 minute walk into town.

Due to last minute booking we stayed in one of the non-ensuite rooms. It was an attic room and so very cold and is less modern than the other rooms looking at pictures on the internet. In need of updating.

That said it was all clean and the bathrooms were also clean.

Breakfasts were lovely. Get your own key so you can come and go as you please.

  • Liked — location, good breakfast
  • Disliked — non-ensuite room- cold and needed updating
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claret30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2007

My husband and I visited Wedgewood House recently and had a wonderful time. The room was spotlessly clean with a comfortable bed, plenty of storage space, very nice pictures on the walls and a well-stocked tea tray. There were two very nice chairs in the room too, comfortable and not too bulky. I really liked the decor - contemporary neutral tones but not flat and boring like so many beiges and browns can be.

The bathroom was similarly spotless. It was spacious and had both bath and shower plus lots of room for your washkit.

In the morning the breakfast lived up to the expectations set by the room - plentiful, well-cooked, tasty and very pleasantly served.

On top of this the location of the guest house could not be bettered, with it being only a short walk into the town centre.

We will definitely return!


Globetrotters

  • Liked — Great welcome
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
124 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2007

Spent a week touring around the UK in July where we were very impressed with our B&B accommodation but our 1 night in Wedgewood house was the only disappointment of our trip. Having read other reviews, we were looking forward to our stay but unfortunately it was not what we expected. The location is very handy for walking into town (useful as parking is difficult in Norwich) but it is right on the main road & there was a lot of traffic noise. We had booked the family room at the top of the house for 4 people & it was sadly very neglected. There were spots of mould on the walls & the standard of decor was very poor. The bedding was clean but the towels were very old & tatty. We had been told by Nigel when booking that the en suite was "rather small" but I have never seen anything like it - it was the size of a wardrobe & it was impossible to be inside & close the door. The beds were old & uncomfortable & the next morning the waindows were streaming with condensation.

To be fair, Nigel was a very friedly host & the breakfast was good, as others have said, but the whole place is in serious need of updating. if this had been reflected in the price, we would not have expected so much but this was the most expensive B&B on our trip - others in York, The Lake District & Sussex were all beautifully decorated , in better locations & in excellent condition. We were very glad that we had only booked one night which is a shame as the website makes it sound a lot better than it is. Maybe it was just our bad luck to be in the worst room in the house but had we known in advance what to expect, we would definitely have stayed elsewhere.

  • Liked — A friendly host
  • Disliked — very old & dated decor
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellerAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2007

First trip to Norwich (conference at UEA) and couldn't be happier with the location and cleanliness of Wedgewood House. Nigel and Elspeth met our every need (including providing silverware, tray, and napkins so we could eat our Indian take-away for dinner; offering suggestions for area pubs and restaurants; helping figure out the appropriate bus to take to reach the University). Breakfasts were excellent--best of our 2-week UK travels. Modest aesthetics (the pictures on the web page are a very accurate representation) , but absolutely spotless and comfortable. If we return to the area, we won't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Liked — cleanliness, helpfulness of hosts, location to public transportation and city center
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2007

I spent a night here when I came to do the Norwich Race for Life, and I found the owners went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent and the service really cheerful - Nigel the owner has quite a banter! The location is also great for a visitor as all the new shops are just a few minutes' walk away. My room was quite a small single and one of the few which is not en suite, but the shared bathroom was spotless and I didn't actually see anyone else use it.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellingrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2007

We were very happy with our stay at the Wedgewood. Nigel and Elspeth work hard at keeping their house very clean and the breakfasts are excellent. Easy walking distance to the major sites and we parked our car without hassle. Our bathroom was very small, but that was reflected in the price and we had been told in advance. Other rooms have bigger bathrooms. My only complaint - happens a lot - was the thin stiff towels. I bought my own at T K Maxx!

  • Liked — comfort and breakfast
  • Disliked — towels
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank englishmarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.8 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wedgewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedgewood House

Property: Wedgewood House
Address: 42 St. Stephens Road, Norwich NR1 3RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wedgewood House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere at this superbly located, city centre Edwardian house. Short walk to restaurants, theatres, cinemas, shops and historic city centre. On bus route to university and hospital. Enjoy homely non-smoking comfort and cleanliness in thoughtfully equipped and attractive bedrooms. Freshly prepared English breakfast using top quality, locally produced ingredients. Vegetarian alternative available. Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Wedgewood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing