We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aylwyne House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aylwyne House
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

A very friendly B&B with home to home feel and vaue for money. We found this B&B on Laterooms as the reviews were brilliant and were surprised to find that it was so close to the city centre and such good quality rooms at a low price. We had no problems parking and were told that there was additional parking at the next door church which was handy but we didnt need it. The young owners were very friendly and welcomed us with a big smile and lots of tourist information for our stay. We stayed in Room 3 which we believe was recently refurbished and had a great view of Waterloo park which we didn't expect. The room was very clean and the carpets were new and the decor simple but effective. We had chocolates on our bed, a variation of drinks including hot chocolate on our tray and all toiletries included in the bathroom which was topped up daily. The Owners, Dan and Vanessa also allowed us to use the the guest fridge, garden and conservatory during our stay and we really felt at home and could't ask for more friendly and flexible hosts. The breakfast was out of this world and we were spoilt for choice with the menu we received on arrival and great service in the dining room. We would definetely stay again and would recommend a walk to Wensum Park which is only across the road from the B&B. The only negative thing we could possibly say about this establishment is that the sign is not big enough when you drive past. . We would stay again as we much prefer this homely B&B to a Travel Lodge.

Room Tip: Ask for a Garden view as it is a lovely quiet side of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    11
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
7
22
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Located this on late rooms as working in the area and wanted somewhere on a budget. For the cost I thought this was actually a very decent B&B though a little strange that the owners appear to live next door, however we were made very welcome on arrival.
Positives: The double room was of decent size, with a large ensuite, and very comfortable. The extra sockets everywhere were great as so many places don't have enough. Despite being on a main road it was very quiet at night.
Negatives: The ensuite could do with some TLC and the parking is interesting, though they weren't full when I was there, I can imagine it can get complicated. TV was tiny.

In summary, you get what you pay for (it was £30 cheaper for me for two nights than the cheap local Travel Lodge). Its basic but comfy and ideal if you just need somewhere to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwj1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

A B and B that is well past its prime. This is a typical no star place which has the audacity to claim that all the rooms are en- suite in their adverts, when in fact they are not. The property needs refurbishing desperately but i doubt that would happen when the owners are coining it in from unsuspecting travellers. The greeting received was probably the worst unfriendly one I have come across to date, which didn't give me a good vibe about the place. The only positive to this place is that the bedding was clean. There is not enough space on the drive for you car, unless you want to be blocked in. It s better to park on the street. I would therefore not recommend this place unless you are desperate or just want a base in Norwich whilst you go out drinking heavily.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthamptontinkyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Peak
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We booked a room through laterooms as we were travelling over for a wedding reception up the road at Sprowston Manor. We were met by a very friendly gentleman who appeared from the house next door. We were asked to fill in a short form and shown to our room. We needed a taxi and he very helpfully found us a few numbers. The room looked clean and fresh with a nice plump duvet and two (!) pillows each (so many places only have one!) and there was a well stocked tray with tea,coffee, chocolate, a bottle of water and biscuits. There were chocolates with the towels on the bed. The ensuite was very spacious and had clearly been modernised around a old 70's brown suite. I thought this had been very cleverly done keeping the existing dated suite but actually making it look modern almost! I would have added new taps though, the original ones were very shabby looking and one didn't work. I would also have added a new shower with a bit more oomph! The cleanliness off the sinks also needs to be addressed, bathrooms should be spotless and there were crusty bits around the taps and a general lack of good cleaning unfortunately. The bed was on the firm side and wouldn't suit everyone. We would definitely stay again though and it was definitely good value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beanz1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Good BB in Norwich, the price was good and the rooms are nice and clean. Dani, the landlord was excellent and was making sure we had everything we needed. The walk to the center was about 15 min and it felt safe. You get a txt with the code to open the little box and to get a key for the front door and room.

Room Tip: room nr 4 had a bug I believe as I got bitten... :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cristinagps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Hello, we stayed in room 5, which consisted of a double bed and a single bed, en-suite. The room was clean, had fresh towels, lovely, friendly owners, chocolates and biscuits to welcome us. We will definitely stay in this hotel again, and recommend it to others. Such good value for money! Thank you, and well done, to the owners!

Room Tip: Room 5 is large enough for three people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

My partner and I arrived at Aylwyne House to be warmly greeted by the friendly Owners who were a young couple eager to assist us on making the most of spontaneous weekend away to Norfolk.

We were immediately made to feel at home and given local information on the area before taken to our comfortable clean room. The spacious en-suite room was bright and quiet and overlooked the garden away from the road. The décor was simple and homely and included an iron, ironing board and wifi.

The en-suite bathroom was larger than we were expecting and included extra toiletries, which we thought was a nice touch for only paying £55 per night. Our room also included tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits, all of which were topped up when the room was refreshed in the morning along with all the toiletries.

We enjoyed our freshly made full English breakfast in the conservatory, which was part of the dining room overlooking the garden and found the service exceptional.

The B&B had off street parking and the Owners were happy for us to leave our car parked after we checked out to enjoy a walk down to the city centre before venturing back home.

We will definitely be back as we felt right at home during the weekend.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room away from the road overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
1.2 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#26 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
#27 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#17 of 50 in Norwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Oaklands Hotel
The Oaklands Hotel
#22 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aylwyne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aylwyne House

Property: Aylwyne House
Address: 59 Aylsham Road, Norwich NR3 2HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aylwyne House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast overlooking parks a short walk from the city centre. Modern house offering three en suite rooms with wi fi, tea making facilities and conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Aylwyne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing