We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star. More like no star.”
Review of Aylwyne House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aylwyne House
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Reviewed April 29, 2013

A B and B that is well past its prime. This is a typical no star place which has the audacity to claim that all the rooms are en- suite in their adverts, when in fact they are not. The property needs refurbishing desperately but i doubt that would happen when the owners are coining it in from unsuspecting travellers. The greeting received was probably the worst unfriendly one I have come across to date, which didn't give me a good vibe about the place. The only positive to this place is that the bedding was clean. There is not enough space on the drive for you car, unless you want to be blocked in. It s better to park on the street. I would therefore not recommend this place unless you are desperate or just want a base in Norwich whilst you go out drinking heavily.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorthamptontinkyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Aylwyne House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 56 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

We booked a room through laterooms as we were travelling over for a wedding reception up the road at Sprowston Manor. We were met by a very friendly gentleman who appeared from the house next door. We were asked to fill in a short form and shown to our room. We needed a taxi and he very helpfully found us a few numbers. The room looked clean and fresh with a nice plump duvet and two (!) pillows each (so many places only have one!) and there was a well stocked tray with tea,coffee, chocolate, a bottle of water and biscuits. There were chocolates with the towels on the bed. The ensuite was very spacious and had clearly been modernised around a old 70's brown suite. I thought this had been very cleverly done keeping the existing dated suite but actually making it look modern almost! I would have added new taps though, the original ones were very shabby looking and one didn't work. I would also have added a new shower with a bit more oomph! The cleanliness off the sinks also needs to be addressed, bathrooms should be spotless and there were crusty bits around the taps and a general lack of good cleaning unfortunately. The bed was on the firm side and wouldn't suit everyone. We would definitely stay again though and it was definitely good value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beanz1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Good BB in Norwich, the price was good and the rooms are nice and clean. Dani, the landlord was excellent and was making sure we had everything we needed. The walk to the center was about 15 min and it felt safe. You get a txt with the code to open the little box and to get a key for the front door and room.

Room Tip: room nr 4 had a bug I believe as I got bitten... :(
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cristinagps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Hello, we stayed in room 5, which consisted of a double bed and a single bed, en-suite. The room was clean, had fresh towels, lovely, friendly owners, chocolates and biscuits to welcome us. We will definitely stay in this hotel again, and recommend it to others. Such good value for money! Thank you, and well done, to the owners!

Room Tip: Room 5 is large enough for three people!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

My partner and I arrived at Aylwyne House to be warmly greeted by the friendly Owners who were a young couple eager to assist us on making the most of spontaneous weekend away to Norfolk.

We were immediately made to feel at home and given local information on the area before taken to our comfortable clean room. The spacious en-suite room was bright and quiet and overlooked the garden away from the road. The décor was simple and homely and included an iron, ironing board and wifi.

The en-suite bathroom was larger than we were expecting and included extra toiletries, which we thought was a nice touch for only paying £55 per night. Our room also included tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits, all of which were topped up when the room was refreshed in the morning along with all the toiletries.

We enjoyed our freshly made full English breakfast in the conservatory, which was part of the dining room overlooking the garden and found the service exceptional.

The B&B had off street parking and the Owners were happy for us to leave our car parked after we checked out to enjoy a walk down to the city centre before venturing back home.

We will definitely be back as we felt right at home during the weekend.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room away from the road overlooking the garden
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

My partner and I wanted to get away for a weekend before our baby is due in December. After a long 4 hour drive we arrived at Aylwyne House, a tired looking large house located on the main road in to Norwich City Centre.

We were greeted at that moment by the owner who came round the corner just as we had rung the bell. We were show in and asked to pay the £140 for both nights straightaway and fill out a form regarding our stay. We were advised more or less straightaway that there would be no breakfast as "that seems to be what people want these days" and was that ok? We couldnt very well say no it wasnt ok so we had no choice but to be ok with that. We were disappointed given that Aylwyne House is advertised as a B&B, however, given that we were supposed to be 10 mins walk from the centre we figured we would be able to get a cheap breakfast in town so it wasnt a huge issue. We were given the key to our room and that was the last time we saw the owner despite being told sheets and towels would be changed the next morning (which they weren't).

We went to our room which was very tired and shabby. There was a manky old desk, a TV, very small wardrobe with a mirror on it, tea and coffee making facilities, a double bed and a single bed as well as an en suite.

My partner and I are not snobs so the tired and shabby decor was not an issue and the bedding and towels were clean - the only saving grace of our stay.

We relaxed in our room for a while to watch a little TV (which didnt work properly either - not tuned in properly and only 5 channels no freeview which is usually standard in B&B's these days) before getting showered and heading out for dinner. It took around 20 mins to get right in to the centre, definitley not a 10 minute walk and given I'm 5 months pregnant this was hard work trailing back and forth - not the 'B&B' owners problem however it should be mentioned that they are further out from the actual centre of shops and restaurants than 10 mins walk.

Our first night was awful. The traffic from the main road was very noisy, the bed was lumpy with a large dip in it so we took it in turns to sleep in the single bed so we'd have a chance to get comfortable. There were two foreign gentlemen staying in the next room who were very loud and noisy and had their TV blaring out til gone 1am. Then they were up at 6am banging around and talking loudly. The walls are so paper thin you can hear every single word from the next room.

Despite our exhaustion we tried to stay positive and headed out for breakfast to Wetherspoons in town. We decided to stay in the centre for as long as possible so we didnt have to trail all the way back and then back out again for dinner later on. We had hoped our second night would be better but unfortunately it was not and I was nearly crying with exhaustion through the night, again the foreign guests in the next room were very noisy and inconsiderate resulting in me banging on the wall seperating us in desperation and screaming at them to shut the hell up. We were awoken again at 6am by them and decided the sooner we get home the better so we set off at 7.30am and couldnt wait to get away.

For the price of £70 a night we expected a whole lot better than what we felt was just a hostel advertised as a B&B. We didnt hear from or see the owner, our tea and coffee wasn't replenished, no breakfasts, no clean sheets or bedding or our bins emptied. Very, very disappointing and had we known the Premier Inn in the city centre had rooms available for exactly the same price we would have booked to stay there instead. We feel pretty ripped off and upset that our only weekend away before our baby comes was tarnished by such a rubbish stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nessicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

I booked this bed and breakfast for my sister and her son, and partners, after looking at all b and bs around the centre of norwich, i came up with this one, they wanted it close to the city center (this was) with some where close to eat at night (this had plenty of chioce round about) and not over expensive, (was the cheapest i found) this one ticked all the boxes and more, it was very clean, had large rooms both ensuite, the staff were very friendly, and helpfull, the breakfast was every thing they could wish for, and more, they stopped 2 nights, and was asked what time they wanted breakfast, and there was no rush on the last day to vacate the room, would they stay again, yes i think they would,

Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
2  Thank dalby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
1.2 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#26 of 50 in Norwich
145 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#15 of 50 in Norwich
434 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western George Hotel
Best Western George Hotel
#31 of 50 in Norwich
463 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central
1.4 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aylwyne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aylwyne House

Address: 59 Aylsham Road, Norwich NR3 2HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range: $63 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aylwyne House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast overlooking parks a short walk from the city centre. Modern house offering three en suite rooms with wi fi, tea making facilities and conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Aylwyne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing