We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Returned to this hotel many times now and never let down. Rooms clean and well organised with polite and helpful staff. Parking excellent and free. Lovely views of the river and a nice hotel garden and close proximity to restaurants and the city centre. Will be returning soon!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee H, Cluster Sales Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review and for your fabulous comments. We're very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I'm delighted to hear you'll be visiting us again. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,924)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,446 - 1,452 of 1,924 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

We often stay at a Premier Inn and have to say following a few days at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre, this is not our favourite. Disappointed by the policy of only one hand towel between two people - unless you queue up at reception to ask each time you would like a full set of towels per person. Also need to queue at reception to ask for a car-park ticket to be validated each time you leave the car-park in order to get free car-parking. Buffet-style breakfast was great but did have to wait for items to be available. We went to the Table Table restaurant on our first night but did not return because whilst the menu, price and food were reasonable we waited a very long time for service e.g. to pay the bill. It was particularly frustrating that we were told more than once someone would come to take our payment but still we sat there waiting whilst another member of staff tried to persuade people who did not want them to sign up for a loyalty card. In an attempt to be understanding, we asked the waiter if they were short-staffed that evening, but he said no they were not. On the whole the hotel was clean and tidy but 'tired' and agree with another review about the dirty windows. Despite being on a main cross-roads, in the city centre and opposite the train station, we were not disturbed by noise as long we kept our windows closed. Some staff friendly and helpful, others did not inspire confidence. If we needed to stay in Norwich again we would perhaps try a different Premier Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HPHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee H, Cluster Sales Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review and for your comments. It really does matter to us that you have an enjoyable stay so I was very sorry to learn that we didn't meet your expectations this time.

Please contact me direct at the Hotel on 01603 760260 so that we can discuss your comments and resolve this matter with you.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Many thanks and Kind Regards,

Dee Hilton, Cluster Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

" he that expects little is seldom disappointed" was the frame of mind in which i booked the hotel, mainly because of it's riverside location and closeness to the station, for we were trying to have a break without driving.

The approach to the hotel involved carrying our suitcase down a flight of litter strewn steps, deepened my apprehension BUT that was assuaged by the brilliant attitude of the receptionist and the lovely large room to which we were shown.

No doubt 99% of guests arrive by car but my suggestion to the hotel management to improve the approach for pedestrians is 1) keep the steps clear of litter 2) make the alternative foot approach through the car park more pleasant by resiting the skip.

I did report the litter problem on each of our 3 day stay but to no effect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmbdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed for two nights on special deal, the hotel is situated minutes walk from the city centre.
The room was great & quiet considering the central location, all the staff were friendly, an added bonus was the free parking, we would have no hesitation in booking again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skipperJOE98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Premier Inns are good in that you know what you are getting. This one is as you would expect but a little tired. The location is good for town and is right on the river which is pleasant. This is also really handy for the train station which is 2 minutes walk away. Ate out at a good curry house just up the road.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonjdawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Second Stay: cheaper than last time, and just as good.

Comfortable bed and room, superb HD TV, very friendly staff, all as usual.

On the minus side, not enough staff in the breakfast room. Gave up waiting to be seated, helped myself, not even approached for payment until I went to search someone out.

The car parking policy is very helpful indeed, free parking for the rest of the day after checkout.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose your view: car park or river and station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee H, Cluster Sales Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review and for your great comments about the Hotel, we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. However, I'm sorry to hear about your Restaurant experience at Breakfast, I have passed your comments over to our Restaurant Manager. Please contact me on 01603 760260 and I would be happy to discuss this with you.

I look forward to speaking with you.

Kind regards, Dee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

A typical Premier Inn, pleasantly situated beside the River Wensum and a few yards from the railway station. We arrived late at night off the train and had difficulty locating reception - wandering through a warren of restaurants and bars before we found it. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was pleasant, and the bed very comfortable - as one expects from a Premier Inn. One day the room was not cleaned, but this was sorted out immediately once we reported it to reception.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HectorFromBerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
708 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Road, Norwich NR1 1DX, England (Formerly Swallow Hotel Nelson)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Norwich
#3 Best Value Hotel in Norwich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#10 Business Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: $78 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated near the train station, looking out across the placid River Wensum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norwich
Nelson City Centre Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing