We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value & excellent customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013

was really impressed by the service: the receptionist hid my room number so people behind couldn't see when I checked in. Good rapport & quick to help (needed an extra towel and tea which was very promptly given)
breakfast was fabulous: I requested poached eggs & noticed they were short-staffed so thought it might take a while but they were really fast & perfectly done.
The only let down was the bar, but it wasn't terrible. I asked what red wine they had and the bar lady just pointed to them. if I could see them I wouldn't have asked. When I asked her to clarify the just told me the brand names. Also, when I asked for a glass of water it was quite warm. these however are very minor points and didn't bother me!
overall I was very happy. nice new tv's and comfy bed. Love that there an option for different types of pillows! nice touch.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McrufusC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee H, Cluster Sales Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time tor review and for your great comments.

We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and were happy with the customer service from our team and our newly refurbished rooms along with the choice of pillows and our 40" TV screens. I'm sorry that you experienced a problem in the bar though and will pass your comments over to the Bar and Restaurant Manager and do hope you'll come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,924)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,578 - 1,584 of 1,924 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

I was supposed to be staying at duke street but due to tech fault sent here, room ok, windows noisy and drafts, car park good, reception staff really helpfull and cheerful ... Walked into restaurant found only two staff working, loads of people waiting so went to local Chinese Hong Kong Fusion, recommend by reception staff... Fantastic food!
Will I return... Nope, rather have Duke Street!
The lift opens the door before the lift has parked correctly, which having a blind wife would find a hazard, get the lift engineer in and adjust the location sensor!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevaDave27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee H, Cluster Sales Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review and for your comments. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us but sorry to hear you experienced some noise and draft from your window and the lift was out of sync.

The engineer is currently working on the lift and new windows are being fitted very soon, but please do contact us at the Hotel and we'll be happy to discuss your comments.

Although I'm also very pleased to hear that you like our Duke Street Premier Inn too, I do hope these isolated incidents won't deter you from making a return visit to the Nelson Premier Inn sometime and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

4 of us stayed at this hotel on a Saturday night (4 females x 2 rooms). I booked twin rooms and we actually got 2 large rooms with 1 double bed and 1 single. The beds were very comfortable. There was no night time noise.

We arrived by train and you can see the hotel as you exit the station. Good location.

On arrival we had a drink in the bar and was surprised how busy it was with people eating. Norwich were at home playing football, so dont know if that had any significance. Food looked tasty and well presented. We at the breakfast on the Sunday morning - as much as you can eat for about £8. The food was fresh and replenished regularly. Choice of scrambled egg, fried egg, bacon, sausage, mushrooms, tomato, beans, hash browns, toast, crumpets, croissant cereal etc etc. I and my friends were very impressed with the quality.

The hotel is right on the Prince of Wales strip, which at weekends is busy with clubbers etc, but we didnt encounter any noise from this.

The staff were brilliant.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel or staying again. Well worth the money and far better than any Travelodge I have stayed at.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiraz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee H, Cluster Sales Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review and for your fabulous comments.

We're so pleased enjoyed your stay with us and were happy with the convenient location of the Hotel along with the customer service, the quality of your meals in our TableTable Restaurant and your quiet comfortable rooms.

We do hope you'll come and visit us again soon and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Me & my husband were very impressed with how reasonable the price was, considering how much you get and the quaility. The staff are exstremely friendly and happy to help. We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseRichards1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee H, Cluster Sales Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review and for your lovely comments. We're so pleased you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed at the premier inn norwich on Friday night and it was a great experience. They understand customer service and the people fronting this Premier Inn know what they are doing. The experience when we arrived at the reception desk (Melanie) was first class as well as when we checked out. We did not eat at the hotel but our room was clean and comfortable and we will be staying again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 129 great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buelucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee H, Cluster Sales Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you so much to taking the time to review and many thanks for your comments about the great customer service and your room. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We came as it was our daughters wedding at the cathedral and stayed for two nights.We love staying at the premier inn but this one was excellent customer care from the receptionist Melanie who explained everything about the area to us. The next morning went for breakfast again excellent service from Liam L. All the housekeeping staff very friendly greet with a good morning and smile,this makes a great change to see this. Highly reccommend the Nelson City. We are going to stay again when visiting the family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melanie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee H, Cluster Sales Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Congratulations on your daughters' wedding and thank you for choosing to stay with us!

I'm so pleased to hear you had a great time and were happy with the customer service you received whilst you were here. I'll be delighted to pass on your comments and many thanks for taking the time to review, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

These 2 OAPs thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Wonderful welcome by friendly staff on reception who gave us all the information we could want, ample car parking and being able to leave the car in the car park even before 2.00pm check in meant we could go sample some beer at a pub without worrying about driving.

Room Tip: Second floor room on South side overlooking river seemed nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjie420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee H, Cluster Sales Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you so much your taking the time to review your stay with us and for your lovely comments. We're so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and do hope we'll be able to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
707 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Road, Norwich NR1 1DX, England (Formerly Swallow Hotel Nelson)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Norwich
#3 Best Value Hotel in Norwich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#10 Business Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: $78 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated near the train station, looking out across the placid River Wensum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norwich
Nelson City Centre Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing