We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and comfortable plce to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Went with wife, two granddaughters. Met daughter with her husband and two sons there. Enjoyed a very pleasant stay, rooms comfortable and spacious. Breakfast at £8.25 for full English with a large choice of both hot and cold options very good value, especially since two children eat free for each adult. Went to Norwich to see them play Stoke in the Premier league and for our daughter to recall her student days. A very enjoyable break with the family.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rap470210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,771)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,475 - 1,481 of 1,771 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stay at this hotel around 6 times per year when they have their special room rates. Reception staff always remember us and make us feel very welcome, they are always very friendly with our children and give them bags with colouring pictures and pens which makes a big difference, Family rooms very spacious and nice big TV's on the wall.
Great that two children can have breakfast for free with each paying adult.
More staff are needed, we had to wait ages for service in the bar and restaurant.
Only bad point we were woken up by drunks coming out of the local clubs, shouting and fighting at 3am due to our room being right on the end so when we were asked in the morning if we enjoyed our sleep I explained what had happened and was immediately offered a refund without any fuss, will stay again just not in the same room on a weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the river are quieter
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julestraveltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We arrived later than expected and received a phone call asking if we were lost, we then recieved helpful instructions to reach the car park. When we arrived, around 8.30pm, we booked a table for our evening meal for 8.45pm and went to our room. The room was hard to find, on the top floor in a labyrinth of identical doors with a confusing numbering system, but once found, it was absolutely spotless, including beautiful towels and a massive T.V. As I was preparing for an interview the next day, all I really wanted was the bed, but all this simply made the bedroom more comfortable.
Dinner was very disappointing. Despite making a reservation, it took somebody ages to come and seat us. When they eventually did, they seemed confused and did not offer us a drink or explain any of their deals. It took 15 mins until we made eye contact with a waitress, as the small team were completely overwhelmed. A few times, we saw the manager walking around, but he never even looked at any of the customers, let alone direct his team. The waitresses themselves were incredibly friendly and helpful, which left us feeling very sorry for them that they had to work in such a misdirected team, lacking all communication.
Our drinks arrived pretty much as we were finishing our meal, which is just silly.
Great nights sleep, although the room was incredibly warm, even without heating on. Breakfast disappointing also. (Same problems as before)
Very expensive if you want a bed for one night, but I guess it would be OK if you were using as just a base for a longer weekend.

Room Tip: Ask if the room is near a lift or stairwell.....saves getting lost, especially on the upper floors.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee H, Cluster Sales Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review. We're very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us and experienced some problems.

Please contact us directly at the Hotel at your earliest convenience so that we can discuss your comments and we'll be happy to rectify this situation.

Many thanks and I do hope that this isolated incident will not deter you from staying with Premier Inn again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night Mum,Dad and three older teenagers. Rooms spacious and comfortable,overlooking river. Arrived later than expected and received a call on route from hotel to check thst we were OK (Yes I am sure that they also wanted to know if we still needed the room but it was well done). Although we arrived just as they were supposed to stop serving food, they served us very willingly and did not try to hurry us.

Breakfast was as much as you wanted buffet style and they even cooked some veggie sausages for my daughter.

The location is noisy but it is a busy city centre in a unoversity town, we did not expect anything else and it did not spoil our sleep,

We would happily recommend and use again.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room if you dont mind a little extra noise.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simthorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very expensive place if you only need a bed. The rooms are spacious, clean and have a big tv. If you're above 1,9 m you'll have to bent to fit under the shower. Staff is friendly, but apart from the bed there is not much to offer. Breakfast is ok, but again to expensive for what it is. After ordering an espresso, I got a 33cl paper cup filled with ... A lot of coffee. If I spend more than 100 GBP, my expectations are higher.

Room Tip: Ask for room close to the lobby, it's a big hotel ... With only one entrance.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stef133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee H, Cluster Sales Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review. We're very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us and experienced some problems.

Please contact us directly at the Hotel at your earliest convenience so that we can discuss your comments and we'll be happy to rectify this situation.

Many thanks and I do hope we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Cannot fault our stay. The room (126) was spacious, clean and looked newly decorated. It was at the back of the hotel so no view but also no traffic noise at all and as all we really wanted was somewhere comfortable to sleep this was ideal. The flatscreen TV in the room was good. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food at breakfast was excellent although the restaurant was a bit too busy, our daughter ate free. The hotel is in a very convenient location, 10 minutes walk from the city centre and the car park is free so there was no hassle with finding parking in a busy city on a Saturday. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 280Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The place was a shambles! My first room had no double glazing, condensation pouring down the inside of the windows making the net curtains wet, I changed rooms to one with double glazing but the heating fan did'nt work properly so I had to use the electric radiator they provide in every room.other than that the room was a typical premier inn room, clean with ,flat tv etc., and clean bathroom. I went to the restaurant at just before 7, ordered food and still had'nt got it by 7.45 so spoke to the manager who got the food which was very mediocre. The breakfast was even worse with practically everything running out and not replaced, even tea bags and cups ran out, the floor behind the bar had cartons of juice and milk on the floor and was not cleaned up, the staff were rushing around but seemed so disorganised. I have stayed in the Premier Inn in Duke Street Norwich and this is far superior so stay there if visiting.

Room Tip: Overlooking the car park is quieter and on a upper floor
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roz1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee H, Cluster Sales Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review. We're very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us and experienced some problems.

Please contact us directly at the Hotel at your earliest convenience so that we can discuss your comments and we'll be happy to rectify this situation.

Many thanks and I do hope that this isolated incident will not deter you from staying with Premier Inn again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.7 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
646 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Road, Norwich NR1 1DX, England (Formerly Swallow Hotel Nelson)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Norwich
#3 Best Value Hotel in Norwich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#10 Business Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: $76 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated near the train station, looking out across the placid River Wensum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norwich
Nelson City Centre Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing