We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

The hotel is near the centre of Norwich so you can park your car in the free car park and walk where ever you want to go or try hoping on and off the tour bus as it saves your legs ! Hotel reception was very welcoming. Staff told us all about the hotel and later gave advise on the city itself. The staff are in fact the hotels best asset. We opted for a room at the rear of the hotel as you may be disturbed by the noise from the nearby pubs if you have a room that overlooks the river. Room as expected. Clean and adequate. We took the £22 meal deal the first night as we arrived late, but as the quality and value of the meal was so good we did the same the next night! That is unusual for us as we like to try different restaurants. I would stay there again if I went back to Norwich.

Room Tip: As for a high room at the back if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    632
    133
    33
    22
See reviews for
342
672
107
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

A good clean comfortable hotel with helpful staff and free car parking. It is situated opposite the railway station and about 10 minutes walk drom the city centre. The breakfast buffet was a bit chaotic though with staff struggling to keep up with demand for both food and tables.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the car park are much quieter at night than those overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 264TimA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

The last time myself and my friends stayed here, they had a pool and Jacuzzi, not anymore I'm afraid. There are no longer any single occupancy rooms so beware if you need an extra room as the cost can be very prohibitive ( £92.50 ) on our visit, very expensive for a bog standard hotel. Lenny Henry has a lot to answer for.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papajohnsmoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

Stayed with my baby daughter and wife while going to a wedding. Nice large family rooms. Had dinner and breakfast in restaurant. Good food, and made us feel very welcome. Lovely staff. Good value.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough UK
Level Contributor
291 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

I stay in P.I. a lot and this is one of the better ones. Seems very well run, very efficient from check in and room was very clean. The main draw here for me is the car park which is nicely tucked behind and the central location. I normally stay at the Travelodge nearby which is cheaper to be fair but no parking and less facilities. The rooms here are a decent size and mine had a river view which was not exactly like looking onto the Seine was pleasant enough. I would return

Room Tip: Slightly less noise on higher floors but ask for one at the back if you dont want too much noise, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Clean hotel, excellent value for money for our weekend stay

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkhenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

Our first time in a Premier Inn & what a pleasant surprise, the room was large, very clean & quiet (we were at the back) - no great view but we were only there for 2 nights. The hotel is in a great location, you can walk into the city centre in about 10 minutes and to the entertainment area in about 5 minutes where there are numerous bars, resteraunts, pictures & a bowling alley. The staff were very helpful & the bar/resteraunt was nice but casual aswell so you didn't have to worry about getting dressed up as in some hotels. A great place to stay & would definately go back. Only faults- dim lighting in bedroom & no drawers in the room - but not a great problem

Room Tip: I think the riverside rooms could be a bit noisy on a Friday & Saturday
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
0.7 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Address: Prince of Wales Road, Norwich NR1 1DX, England (Formerly Swallow Hotel Nelson)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Norwich
#5 Best Value Hotel in Norwich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#10 Business Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated near the train station, looking out across the placid River Wensum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norwich
Nelson City Centre Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing