We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can I invent an award?”
Review of The Mulberry

The Mulberry
Ranked #545 of 835 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A relaxed, stylish and friendly, neighbourhood gastro pub located in the hub of the Golden Triangle. A charismatic space to meet, eat & drink at anytime throughout the day. Our menu is constantly changing with the seasons, celebrating regional dishes and local Norfolk produce. Delivering a delicious range of meals from hearty breakfasts & elevensies for yummy mummies, through light lunches & afternoon tea to inspired evening meals. We are Open daily and proudly present our traditional Roast each and every Sunday, we also pride ourselves in homebaking & making our breads and cakes..
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Can I invent an award?”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I'm going to invent an award whether you like it or not - with myself as sole judge and jury. Norwich's Most Customer Friendly Pub Team. And the award goes to ...

OK, dear reader, the Mulberry is just a pub. Shabby chic Adnams house, right in the heart of the city's trendy Golden Triangle. You probably wouldn't go out of your way to go there and might even be distracted by the excellent little brasserie close by, which is definitely worth a visit. But, if you are a loose end and fancy a simple lunch, do, do try the Mulberry.

Why? Because customer service at this level of friendliness deserves to be rewarded. A young team (and quite easy on the eye) engage with you in such a warm way, you'll just want to be warm and helpful back.

Maybe I simply got the right shift but one gets the feeling these folks love their jobs and appreciate everyone who walks in to spend their hard-earned cash.

Can't write in depth about the food as I confined myself to their mixed bean chilli with kitchen-made nachos, which were delicious. Naturally, given Adnams ownership, even the basic house wine was very drinkable.

But, in the end, it was all about the people.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AirGuitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    49
    28
    29
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We went here for lunch on a Friday. The service was okay and the waitress did her best but was a little overwhelmed by a party of ten or so who had just arrived. After a considerable wait, I plumped for the Cromer crab salad which was distinctly average and served with a rather anaemic side salad. As echoed in other reviews the toilet can only be described as "grotty" which is shame as the main part if the pub is welcoming and comfortable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Real_Lack_Bauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Have been here many times.In my opinion food is lovely, service is great, great selection of drinks. Never hurried, nice atmosphere.Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Savannahgirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“All that effort.....and the toilets are repulsive!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Lovely feminine interior - designed to flatter the yummy mummies and darling daddies - and then you trot down the stairs to the toilets and....Aaaarghhhh!!!. They're like the lavs from a lorry park!

What these dirty, tired, unimaginative, poorly maintained toilets say to Mrs Average Punter is, "...these bogs are indicative of the bits of this place (the Mulberry) that you don't really see - eg. the KITCHENS!..." Lavs and kitchens right along side each other. God forbid what THEY are like.

I wouldn't eat there nor recommend nor go again. Shame on the lazy owners and management. Come on Norwich. Get it right.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Run down”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

The mulberry once 1st opened was a truly great place to eat out 1 of the best in fact with its charm and warm welcome, of late the place has become run down there has been no effort at all to keep it looking fresh tidy and regain its charm the toilets are dirty the floor needs reprinting there is dirt everywhere! The staff can't even replace light bulbs that don't work! All round going down! PLEASE can we have back the lovely Mulberry we once all loved BACK.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bubblepop79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mulberry also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to The Mulberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing