We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming Sunday lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relish Restaurant & Bar

Relish Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #91 of 812 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $61
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A charming Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a hidden gem of a place set in a historic building with low beams and fireplaces for those in the winter. 5 of us dined here and had a 2 course meal of roast Sunday lunch followed by dessert and coffees. The atmosphere was very relaxed yet charming. The staff were all very diligent and courteous. They catered very well for different dietary requests with no prior warning. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble and we all enjoyed our food. The roast potatoes were particularly impressive and the roast dinners came with all the trimmings. The portion sizes were generous and the menu had creativity whilst the food was served with flair. The team of chefs are clearly very professional and experienced. The selection of desserts were impressive too, with unusual additions such as cherry or honeycomb ice cream. This is a lovely restaurant which we will visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SuGHayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    28
    17
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A charming find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were looking for a meal about 8 pm last night and just couldn't stomach the usual pub fare, especially in the heat we were experiencing yesterday. We had seen an upbeat little sign that said "Relish Restaurant and Bar" and thought it might be a change, so we turned off and found the most delightful place! It is obviously an old property--a sign warned that parts of the building were over 500 years old--but it is charmingly fresh, even while incorporating the ancient look and feel of certain areas. The courtyard is lovely and inviting, but we were sick of the heat and the flies, so we chose to stay inside. The bar staff were helpful, even introducing us to an artisan tonic that we are now off to buy for ourselves! The menu selections were not as extensive as I would have liked, but I managed to find a delicious vegetarian tart that I enjoyed immensely. My husband was a bit disappointed with his sea bass (too oily), but it won't keep us from going back again another day! I'm glad to know that this place is on our route home from the golf course. They can expect to see us frequently.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SuffolkAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Oh my goodness that was fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Wow, what a venue.
Lovely garden area, incredible decor inside, kind of timeless without trying too hard. Very clean, very nice.
Service was faultless throughout the evening and the food, well, what can I say.
Possibly the best restaurant food I can remember having. Absolutely perfect.
Not too much, but just enough that I couldnt quite finish desert (very rich). A nice local beer and a whiskey to finish the night off.
Not cheap = £40 per head, but worth every penny.
Perfect. Thank you

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Whilst spending a week on Norfolk we were struggling to find something better than your average Pub Grub, until we found "Relish". The food was beautiful, wine recommends great, all complimented by friendly and attentive staff. Rachel and Jeremy have worked hard here to deliver a high quality experience in relaxed surroundings. We enjoyed our first visit on a Tuesday that much that we went back again on the Friday evening to have the perfect end to a chilling out week in Norfolk. Hopefully we'll get the chance to visit again one day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark_S528774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Understated quality.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We booked here following a friends recommendation and were not disappointed.
The bar has an good range of drinks including a real ale which was in excellent condition. The wine list offers good choice and value, but it's the food and ambiance that put this restaurant above the rest.
This is a family run business with pleasant and professional staff that delivers the highest standards effortlessly.
It's a welcome change to find someone in the hospitality industry who understands the concept of hospitality.



  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank redlockjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Relish Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Framingham Pigot, Norwich
 

Been to Relish Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing