We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You Need To Book” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wine Cellar

The Wine Cellar
Ranked #41 of 812 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Wine Cellar is a piece of gourmet heaven born from an ethos of gorgeous wine, great food, and generous service. Come and join us.
Norfolk GB
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“You Need To Book”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We have been going regulary since our first visit at the begining of this year. It has now become so popular I would recomend booking as we now do. We were unable to get in a couple of lunchtimes and could not find anywhere better. We just hope it maintains quality.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyNorfolk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    67
    16
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Group Night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We had a group of 14 people all together from work for a good night out. The atmosphere and the decor is very nice with most tables filled, we arrived about 8pm ready to eat for 8:30 although a few were running late most of the orders were in by 8:40. The starters didn't arrive until 9:30 and most people were starving by then but the food for most was very good although a few people didn't like the soup starter. I had prawns and escalopes and they were very nice. Main meal was steak for me (ribeye as they had sold out of sirlion!!) which was very nice although the chips were not there usual handcut chips they were frozen chips. Although I appear to be knocking a few things the overall experience was very good and I would go back again.
We have ate here during the day and the prices compared between the day and evening seem to be a little higher but not by much.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fraser66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Wow what a pleasant surprise. Never been before but would certainly go back! Good lovely food, lots of choice and all of high quality. Not that badly priced either which is a bonus. Cute underground restaurant! Looking forward to going back

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ericpercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Popped in to this little hidden gem in Norwich city centre for a pre-cinema spot of lunch. Luckily, a table became available straight away. It was jam packed which indicated a popular venue. I opted for the spiced lamb burger which was a ample size, accompanied with hand cut chips and home made colslaw which was absolutely delicious. The wine selection, as one would expect, was varied and the service was spot on. Well done! Was so impressed, I've booked in advance for my birthday celebration in a couple of months.
ps. The chocolate torte was mmmmmmm :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Browneyes569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“A little Gem worth discovering”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

A lovely place to meet friends and have a great evening catching up over beautifully cooked and presented food complimented by a wide choice of excellent wines. The staff are very courteous and attentive and work hard to ensure you have a memorable evening. It can get busy at times but its worth any wait. Just chill and enjoy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Cellar also viewed

 

Been to The Wine Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing