We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - struggling to find a niche.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - struggling to find a niche.”
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We'd wanted to stay here for some time, having read positive reviews of the restaurant in magazines and newspapers. A show at The Playhouse allowed us to take a short break in Norwich. There is a great deal that is positive about this hotel - good location, easy parking, pleasant grounds, excellent reception staff. The hotel looks cared for - clean, neat and orderly. The lady who cleaned our room was very helpful when we asked for the electronic air freshener to be removed (why does anyone use air fresheners, unless there is a problem?). The bar was comfortable and pleasant and we were able to relax.
Sadly, for us, the downside was the dinner. Cooking lacked attention to detail - perhaps tactlessly we asked if it was the chef's night off? It wasn't! The duck breast hadn't been seared in hot enough oil so whilst the flesh was correctly pink, the skin was like india-rubber. The fondant potato wasn't fondant. The red cabbage was marinated with so many cloves that it made your eyes water. Other aspects of the meal - starters, sorbet, desserts and coffee were good. Service was lacklustre. The wine list was good and well-priced. We found ourselves asking how the restaurant maintained two AA rosettes when it appeared only two tables on a Friday night were occupied by 'real' diners, the remainder being people having bar-snacks? The conservatory seemed very empty and soulless. It is a really diificult time for better quality hotels with good restaurants to survive unless they command higher prices and a big local reputation (cf Best Western Castle Green, Kendal, Cumbria). Norwich did not strike us as an affluent enough city to support high quality restaurants, so perhaps Annesley House needs to focus on its 'lighter bites' bar menu, cutting overheads and giving most people what they actually want. Either that or they need to go for the 'bistro' style as chef Simon Rimmer has done so successfully at his 'Earle Restaurant' at Hale in Cheshire - one of our favourites.
We would stay at Annesley House again, but probably would consider our dining arangements.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parkkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    249
    65
    14
    7
See reviews for
64
289
63
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

This was our first stay at the Annesley House Hotel . Our room was located on the ground floor which was very comfortable and very well designed and very clean . we enjoyed our breakfast in a lovely conservatory overlooking a pleasant garden with plenty of tables and chairs if you wished to sit outside. The hotel is very well located to visit and explore Norwich. We also found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpfull . We would defintely stay at this Hotel again and would recommend to all our family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike54Derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed here for a couple of nights to do some sightseeing in Norwich. The hotel is situated close to the town centre, so we didn't need to drive once we'd arrived. Our room was spacious and had the important things - TV and tea making and a fan (it was a heat wave at the time).

Breakfast was good and the staff were friendly. We didn't eat there in the evening because the menu looked way overpriced. You have a wealth of places in town to choose from, so why eat there?

Our gripe was that the bath leaked. I reported it but no one dealt with, which was a bad show. If we'd been staying more than a couple of nights we would have complained and asked for a different room.

We both agreed at the end that the best way to sum it up is 'it's okay, just okay'

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slartibartfast3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Lovely hotel, split into wings, we were in the one to the left of reception, on the ground floor, in a simply huge room! Great big bay window, great bathroom, good facilities. The bed was a problem as the foot end of the bed was higher than the head end at say about 10 degrees. Being a bit tall this was quite uncomfortable and found sleeping for the two nights a bit of a chore and woke grumpy and with back ache.

I didn't bother asking to have it looked at as the first night I thought it was just me and the second night was too late to do anything about it.

The breakfasts were nice, the service quick, on a bright, warm day, the dining room which is a large conservatory was rather warm and the sunlight got you if you sat in the wrong place. Other than that, delightful!

I'd stay there again as the city centre is moments away. Also a note on room service, don't bother as there is a Tesco Express round the corner (3-4 mins) that will cater for all your needs.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnFunkYourself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2010

Got a single occupant room via a deal with laterooms.com, arrived within 45mins of making the booking and was greeted by a very friendly and efficient receptionist.
Felt too tired to go out so ordered room service from the on-site restaurant which was absolutely delicious, piping hot and arrived quickly.
The en-suite bathroom was a bit too small (toilet is squeezed in) but that's being very picky as the room itself was nicely decorated and featured a modern flat screen tv among the usual tea and coffee making facilities.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HardRockCamaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2010

This hotel is very comfortable and is very convenient for the city, either on foot or by bus. The hotel has an excellent restaurant and therefore it seems hardly worth going into the city to eat. Although on a main road, there is no obvious noise at all within the hotel or in the charming water garden situated just outside the restaurant. The reception staff could not be more helpful. I can heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Some of the reviewers here are a bit unkind to the Annesley, focusing as they do on the (admittedly) homely decor. I have stayed here many times on business and always look forward to it, even though I have stayed in some of the grand hotels of the world. The hotel comprises three old houses (possibly Georgian) with various extensions. The rooms do vary in size but some at least are very spacious. KItted out with period furniture they would be magnificent. As it is they are more than adequate, spotlessly clean, with comfy beds, quality flat-screen TVs, trouser press and all you might need. The hotel has lovely well-kept gardens, a vine in the conservatory, a very good restaurant and easy-going but efficient staff. Ignore the decor, relax, and enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shakespeare17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.9 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
1,127 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
5.4 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
621 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
5.5 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Annesley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Annesley House Hotel

Property: Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Address: 6 Newmarket Road, Norwich NR2 2LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Norwich
#8 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#11 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Annesley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Annesley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Annesley Hotel
Best Western Norwich
Norwich Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing