We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A comfortable city centre hotel with a fine restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 592 helpful votes
“A comfortable city centre hotel with a fine restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

Our room had originally been large but partly reclaimed to provide an en suite bathroom, however good use has been made of the remaining space and nothing is cramped. It was perfectly adequate for our stay, provided everything that we needed, had very comfortable beds and pillows and was nicely decorated. Traffic noise in the morning was, however, a bit of a problem when the window was open.

We found the restaurant to be particularly good and the a la carte dinner menu offered a fairly extensive choice of dishes. Cooking and presentation were of a high standard. The wine list also offered a fair choice at sensible prices. Breakfast was excellent with a good selection both on the starters buffet and on the cooked-to-order menu. Service was efficient and pleasant.

As someone who spends a lot of nights in hotels in the course of a year, I feel that the rates charged by this hotel represent very fair value for money - "LecoBirmingham" and "BaconLondon" please note!! And please also note that I do not have an expense account - I settle my own bills.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    244
    65
    14
    7
See reviews for
63
286
62
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

Booked a three night stay at this hotel in error, tried to cancel but I was informed I had booked an advanced saver rate and the £320 cost had already been deducted. My wife and I decided to accept our booking and from the moment we entered this hotel we did not feel comfortable, we felt even more uncomfortable when we entered our rooms. They were small, dark and outdated. I don't want to say any more, other than after the first night we departed and moved on to a splendid hotel in Sheringham. I would rate this hotel 3 out of ten for everything. It may suit those that are used to this standard of accomodation, but I would most certainly not recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank LecoBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights to explore Norfolk, the staff are very nice and helpful and the hotel is ok but is like something out of the early 80s. Location is good a ten minute walk takes you into the centre of town but the hotel is very over priced. We payed £75 a night for a shoebox size room that was boiling hot. You can't sleep with the window open as it is on a main road. The bed was also fit for the skip as was the shower. TV was on the floor so could not watch it from bed. If this hotel was priced at £35- £55 a night it would be ok but for £75 you would expect better. Breakfast was not included and was £10 each it was very nice but again should have been included.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaconLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

This hotel is ideally situated to explore Norwich. Previous reviewers have commented on the high standard of food at this hotel and I would agree. It is however noisy in the morning from about 6 AM onwards, it being situated at the junction of two major routes into the city centre.

Norwich is an interesting destination , a medieval city with friendly citizens and plenty to see and do. Make sure you pick up one of the free maps available almost everywhere because the city is a bit of a labyrinth.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2009

I stayed here with my elderly mother last week and found the staff very professional and friendly. The woman on reception happily changed our rooms for ground floor rooms as my mother couldn't manage the stairs that well, The rooms were spotless but the decor could really do with updating, it was old fashioned,, but not in a good, antique -ike way. The food was excellent and the staff dealt with all my mother's 7 very elderlyy friends, that she had invited for lunch , fantastically well. Very good value as it is an excellent location fot the centre of Norwich.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winelover61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2009

I've stayed at Annesley House on several occasions on business trips to Norwich. In this regard the hotel is ideal being easily accessible to the City centre yet retaining some character. I'd recommend it to anyone on this basis. There is a very good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AttackoftheTAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2009

Stayed for two nights on business. The things I liked were:
1) The food is EXCELLENT, totally unexpected but 1st class.
2) Free WiFi, almost no other hotels I've been in have this.
3) Friendly, professional staff.
4) Bed was very comfortable.

Things I didn't like:
1) Room decor was a bit dated and didnt have very good in room TV.
2) Shower was not a power shower, was like being dribbled on.

Overall will be staying here again as I usually stay at Park Farm and although they have a gym, I dont get mobile phone reception and the food is nowhere near as nice.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.9 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
5.4 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
0.6 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
Address: 6 Newmarket Road, Norwich NR2 2LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Norwich
#8 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#11 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Annesley Hotel
Best Western Norwich
Norwich Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing