We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We (senior couple) stayed at this hotel for four nights when we first arrived in northern England from Canada. The staff was excellent. I needed some extra rest and they were most accommodating with cleaning the room which was spotless.
The furnishings were more than adequate with a couple of comfortable chairs - as well the room was large. We were in the main building on the ground floor - requested because i don't do stairs well.
We ate breakfasts and two suppers in the restaurant. The quality of the food was excellent. There were 2 different menus at supper - one was more traditionally for a large supper, the other for light meals. We appreciated the choice.
If we have the opportunity to be in Norwich again, we would certainly stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Annesley House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 653 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here for a family break before we all returned to our various day jobs. We love Norwich having visited several times before but this stay has been the best for many reasons.
Where to start with this lovely hotel in the heart of Norwich.....I guess that is the first plus - it is a very short walk to the centre of the city. We walked to the castle and museum with ease.
The food is absolutely delicious - breakfast is buffet style for your cereals, fruit, juices etc. If you want a hot cooked breakfast, there is a tasty selection cooked to order for you. Evening meals are fit for a king ....two menus give a wide variety of choice to suit any taste. The food is beautifully cooked and presented with an emphasis on the home made. As we had chosen the DBB deal we were able to partake of a 4/5 course meal every night - and loved every mouthful.
Every member of staff we met was genuinely friendly and helpful and willing to answer questions from the menu to places to visit.
If you want a break from the large impersonal hotels then this is definitely worth a look - we will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie28_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We only stayed at this hotel for one night but had absolutely no problems at all.
The location is very convenient for Norwich city centre while being easy to access from the ring road.

Check-in was quick and efficient and our room was clean, spacious and comfortable.
Everything worked and provided all we needed for a quick stay.

Breakfast was served in the lovely, bright conservatory and we were pleased to have the choice of a continental breakfast rather than full English, which looked very nice but more than we wanted.

Overall, highly recommended from our short experience.

Overall,

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beejayblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to attend family birthday and arrived mid morning but no problem checking in Very pleasant front of house was very informative The hotel was very clean and the public rooms well furnished and attractive Food was excellent both evening meal and breakfast
The only downside was our room had the shower in the bedroom which we didn't like and is inconvenient in hindsight we should have requested another room as we found out it is the only one like this, so avoid room34!
Overall a very good hotel in a pleasant location

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FelixstoweSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stopped at this hotel on our way to the Norfolk Coast. The very good reviews helped us decide and we were not disappointed one little bit. As a Best Western Gold Member I asked for a room upgrade and was immediately offered the Garden House which I readily accepted. Our accommodation in a separate building consisted of a Lounge and fully equipped working Kitchen on the ground floor and bedroom and bathroom upstairs. Outside there was a small private patio area with table and chairs. The bed was comfortable and the shower powerful.

There are two Menus; a Fine Dining and Menu Two which we ate off. Before we ate I had a lengthy discussion about wine and we given the chance to sample before finally making my choice. My wife and I both enjoyed two slices of Suffolk Ham with Egg and Chips that can only be described as delicious. I preceded mine with Cheese and Herb Stuffed Mushrooms. We had no room for dessert!

All of the staff we came into contact with were very friendly and attentive. This hotel is one we would choose to stay at again in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Unusual hotel in that the rooms are in separate houses. We were in an old Victorian villa. So you were not disturbed as there were only eight rooms. Staff really friendly and helpful. Place super clean. Food tasted good, only disappointment was that the al a carte menu was changed once a month. Norwich is full of history and shops. Worth visiting. The only problem that you can do nothing about is that the hotel is on the main road and therefore noise was an issue until well into the night. If your not used to this (we aren't )takes a while to get to sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boris2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We were dining only at this hotel /restaurant and can honestly say that the food and service is what you would expect in a top London hotel/restaurant ..oxtail and fresh pea risotto to begin and pork loin wrapped in bacon served with parmenter potato and creamed leeks .attentive service and a relaxed atmosphere made for a superb evening.very well done to all involved

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank iamlordlucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.9 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,181 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
5.4 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,692 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
676 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#15 of 50 in Norwich
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Annesley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Annesley House Hotel

Address: 6 Newmarket Road, Norwich NR2 2LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Norwich
#8 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#11 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: $94 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Annesley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Annesley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Annesley Hotel
Best Western Norwich
Norwich Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing