We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here twice on business recently and very happy to stay here. The staff are extremely helpful and attentive, they seem to be well organised and happy. The food is excellent from either of the two evening menus and the breakfast is also very good. The dining room is lovely with a beautiful view into the garden.

The only down side at my last visit were a couple of my neighbours arriving back at their rooms (either side of mine) at 4am.

Rooms are well appointed and clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyHoyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    244
    64
    14
    6
See reviews for
63
285
62
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Annesley, and found the owners and staff delightfully, friendly, courteous and helpful. It is situated within walking distance of the city centre, and close to all major routes whilst being in a quiet and peaceful setting, with pretty gardens, and a terrace by a pond. The weather was lovely and we were able to sit here for pre dinner drinks. The food in the restaurant was excellent, this chef really knows his stuff! Beautifully cooked and presented, served by the knowlegable staff. A terrific breakfast selection al served by cheerful servers.
We stayed in the coach house which was very comfortable and well appointed, a very nice bathroom with fluffy bathrobes and large towels, and kept spotlessly clean.
Nothing was too much troublefor the team at the Annesley, and we would recommend this to friends and family in a heartbeat. Thanks for a nice stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

There is free parking around the hotel and not far to walk to the town. Reception was friendly and efficient.
My single room was small, but contained absolutely everything that could be needed and the bed and linen was very comfortable. The hotel is three(?) converted private houses, so the rooms are individual, there are steps and fire doors upstairs to negotiate (one propped open with a sandbag, not a good idea) which might be difficult for a disabled person.
Breakfast was in an attractive large conservatory overlooking a small garden, it was good but fairly standard and less than lavish - I thought the price was too high at £11 +. The room rate was reasonable however, so it is swings and roundabouts.
I enjoyed staying at the Annesley and would choose it again if I were to be working in Norwich.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if traffic would keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin Goodfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

The staff are always friendly and helpful. Food is excellent and the bedrooms are lovely spacious and comfortable. The value for money is well worth it. I would stay here again in a heart beat. The food was delicious and the hotel grounds are peaceful and the scenery is breath taking.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelswd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flitwick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed two nights and had breakfast lunch and dinner.Have had more lavish breakfasts elsewhere,but acceptable. The main meals were superb, really fresh ingredients and over well cooked.Service was very friendly and pleasant.

Room Tip: Executive rooms worth the extra.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed two nights (early June, 2013) in two rooms at an extremely reasonable rate. We expected something quite nondescript, but the two houses were very pleasant, in a good location and the staff extremely helpful. On the first night we decided to have dinner there, again not expecting anything exciting. We had a really good dinner, including a very generous lobster salad with a lobster fritter, perfectly cooked lamb and fresh vegetables imaginatively served, and a decent bottle of wine. This, like the rooms, was extraordinarily good value. Breakfast included proper fresh fruit salad and the best yoghurt ever (locally sourced). There was a freely available computer, staff did some printing for me, towels were changed each day, etc. This is not a huge hotel with many facilities and is not at all pretentious but everything we needed was available and provided with a smile and a personal touch, the food was really good, and it was the best value I have had for many years.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 95Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

The friendliest Hotel I have stayed in, great service and amazing food. Just a short walk from the City Centre. The staff treat you not as guest's but as family. A warm welcome and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are of good size, there are some rooms on the ground floor great for disabled people. There are also attic rooms with are fun to get to, up a windy stair case.

I would recommend this hotel without hesitation, I have stayed here over many years and it just get better. Like coming home.

Room Tip: Just ask when booking direct with the hotel. Tell them any limitations you have and they will accom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deeelightful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.9 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
5.4 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
0.6 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
Address: 6 Newmarket Road, Norwich NR2 2LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Norwich
#8 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#11 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Annesley Hotel
Best Western Norwich
Norwich Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing