We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go anywhere near this dirty, smelly, slovenly hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western George Hotel
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Don't go anywhere near this dirty, smelly, slovenly hotel.”
Reviewed October 21, 2009

This hotel was appalling. It was smelly and dirty. The rooms needed redecorating and were very pokey. The carpets were so filthy I would only walk on them when wearing socks. The shower curtain was filthy. The TV never worked properly despite my efforts to get it fixed. There wasn't a plug anywhere near a mirror so using a hairdryer was very difficult. The breakfast was limited but OK, but the table was dirty and covered in used crockery when I arrived. Reception were unfriendly and unhelpful. I don't recommend that anyone goes to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoniaShoreham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    128
    113
    66
    36
See reviews for
52
140
41
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Unless you're a student of mismanagement, chaos theory and spiders' webs, this hotel will hold little interest for you.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrPanadura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Norwich hotels

St Albans
Level Contributor
187 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

A group of twenty golfers stayed here last weekend and it suited us perfectly. We were given a private room for all our meals which worked very well. The food, service, friendliness of the staff and the quality of the rooms were all fine. Plenty of space in the car park and very reasonable prices to complement an excellent weekend. If we play golf again in this region, as the organiser I would happily opt for the Best Western George hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Was very disappointed. The room given was very tired. The carpet was very dirty looking. There was no milk for the morning cup of tea. There were cobwebs hanging down over the bed and the worst bit was the toilet seat which looked as though someone had taken a chunk out of it - certainly not hygenic. The bathroom was also very tired- 70s suite. The sink gurgled for a while after use. The walls are very thin and dorrs were banging and you could hear people talking in the next room. At 7.30 on a Sunday morning I would have liked a lie- in but felt as though I was sharing the bath with the person next to us. This is really sad as the hotel has the potential to be really nice and it was very handy- just around ther corner to where I had delivered my student daughter. I was hoping to use the hotel for future visits but I won't.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doorstepNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llandrindod
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Stayed at hotel the night before we went boating from Brundall. Although the hotel had a wedding that day and were busy, the staff were helpful and curteous. Had a room in the annexe, and my sister stayed in hotel. Annexe room did have 'a smell' but was very clean. Evening meal in restaurant was really nice and all four of us thoroughtly enjoyed it. Would definitely stay there again if needed to be in that part of Norwich, as only a short stroll to shops.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scholesLlandrindod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

my husband and i stayed at the George Hotel for one night and we had a lovely time, we had a warm welcomed by ian the manager who was extremely friendly through out our stay and could not do enough for us. Our room had the most comfortable bed and the room was very pleasant, the bar and restaurant decor is very stylish and has a very relaxing atmosphere, the food is gorgeous and very well priced, breakfast was at a very high standard. I would recommend this hotel highly, for price, service, location and the restaurant, once here you have no need to go else where. Nothing was too much trouble and unlike many hotels at the George you get a very personal service and ian is a fantastic manager and made us feel very welcome always taking the time to check all was ok and having a general chat.
we look forward to visiting again

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate26England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
5.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#20 of 50 in Norwich
658 reviews
1.3 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#30 of 50 in Norwich
135 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western George Hotel

Property: Best Western George Hotel
Address: Arlington Lane | Newmarket Road, Norwich NR2 2DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Norwich
Norwich Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing