We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Care worn and need of a little TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Nelson, Lancashire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Care worn and need of a little TLC”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I have recently visited this Hotel with a Group. The Hotel staff were all very pleasant and helpful and the bedrooms were comfortable but the decorations both in the bedrooms and throughout the Hotel were a little careworn.
The food in general was quite good but one day I had Bread Pudding for sweet and have never had worse, it was dry and completely tasteless and I would have been ashamed to serve it.
The lounge space in this Hotel was totally inadequate for the number of people using it and several of our party went to their bedrooms early because of this and I think the management should see if they can find additional lounge space within the Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArlingtonNorwich, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We always do our best to provide the best service and we take note of your concerns regarding lack of space in the lounge area when busy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    126
    109
    64
    35
See reviews for
51
138
40
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

nice hotel, clean, comfortable, good food. It was a shame about the check out experience. I was unable to pay my bill because the person covering reception didn't have access to the hotel computer system, ridiculous!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArlingtonNorwich, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. Your comments regarding our check out procedures have been addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is our 2nd trip to George Hotel in Arlington Lane and what a lovely place. On both occasions the staff have given us 5 star treatment. We use this hotel as a meeting point for our family get together's and the staff can't do enough. They are the most polite and courteous persons ever. They always ensure you are catered for in every way without hindering. They allow you to check your rooms out to see if you are happy before accepting. They always ensure you have plenty of tea and coffee available. They even offered a platter of various sandwiches and chips for my family when they called in to see us for a chat and when we asked if they could come for dinner they went out of their way to reserved a room and set it out so professionally with all the trimmings to make it a special occasion. Well, the restaurant and meals are highly recommended - the food is mouth wateringly fantastic. Cooked to perfection every time and always presented so well - Compliments to the Chef "he must have come from one of those big hotels in London" because the food was so professional. I have been to lots of top hotels and this certainly matched their cuisine. All I can say is a very big thank you to all at the George Hotel for their wonderful caring service - they made us, my friends and family so welcome - it was home from home. "Tom, great table by the way!". The drinks flowed, the food was beautiful and service was 5 star - what more can one say except can't wait to return. We are even planning our Christmas and New Year there. On behalf of my family and I, thank you for being so professional, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a large bathroom and the rooms come as large too for the same price. We were at the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArlingtonNorwich, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review, it is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I often frequent to the Arlington and have done for many a year. Unfortunately on our last visit we have decided not to return. We ordered our drinks to the table and they were put on a table which we did not reserve. Being regulars we know where we like to sit. So we asked if we could have that table and was reluctantly given it. (Making us move our bread and wine ourselves) Food was however fabulous as always. Young waiter was inpersonal and had no interest in chat. He wanted to get back to talking loudly with another member of staff whom was extremely loud (and distasteful) Myself and other diners certainly weren't interested in listening about his boyfriend troubles. I shall not reiterate what else was said!
We weren't offered pudding menus and staff were setting up for breakfast around us. My wife asked to see a menu and was told "kitchen shut at ten"? I asked to see the manager who practically shouted to us that it was too late but he would prepare puddings himself. Given attitude, we declined the very forced offer.
Such a shame as this place used to be a perfect retreat for my wife and I on a weekly basis. We friend another couple who visit on weekends and they too have joined us in eating out elsewhere. It seems it would suit more the "youngsters". Sorry to say we won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesBaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArlingtonNorwich, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
I would sincerely like to apologise for the problems you encountered on your recent visit to our restaurant. Please be assured this will be investigated and dealt with accordingly. Your custom is very important to us and we will be contacting you personally to ensure all issues raised will be resolved and you can continue using our restaurant knowing you will receive the friendly, attentive service you have come to expect and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Norwich hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I posted a few months ago that I would hold another meeting here after our first experience. We did - and everything was again very satisfactory. Very reasonable rates, nice room, scrummy cake. We'll be back in a few months!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank owlsarefluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArlingtonNorwich, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear the hotel works well as a meeting venue for your your business and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn Norfolk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for a wedding and although our room was clean and large it was the noisiest hotel we have ever stayed in. The view was over the roof of the back of the hotel all night you could here floor boards cracking doors slamming and fans running. The toilet sounded as if it was going to explode very time it flushed. This was a shame and spoilt our stay at this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jackobecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArlingtonNorwich, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We do understand your concerns regarding the noisy floorboards we have in some areas of the hotel. This is due to the building being Victorian and restrictions on what we can and cant do to the property, but please be assured we are seeking further advise on how further improvements can be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I booked the hotel due to the location and the rooms looked of a high standard. For the price we paid I was not impressed with the quality of the overall experience. We were put in on the of rooms in a separate box in the car park to the hotel.

The bathroom was outdated and in need of repair and a good clean to get rid of mould.. In the morning we had no hot water for a shower.

In terms of the bedroom, having seen the photos of the rooms I was disappointed. It seems that we had been put in a part of the hotel which had not been refurbished and to the standard of the pictures.

In the morning I didn't bother to complain as there was another couple complaining and not really getting anywhere with an answer.

On the plus side it was a 10 minute walk from the city and for the time of year that was ok.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the hotel not the outer block
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJM1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArlingtonNorwich, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry to hear you had a disappointing stay and will take note of the comments you have made regarding our cottage room. We are in the middle of a refurbishment program and we hope to have this room completed as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel Norwich
5.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#27 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#17 of 50 in Norwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN George Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN George Hotel
Address: Newmarket Road 10 Arlington Lane, Norwich NR2 2DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Norwich
Norwich Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing