We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"a convenient base in an interesting town"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western George Hotel
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
australians in europe
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“"a convenient base in an interesting town"”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

this place is just far enough from the town centre (and the newmarket road) that you can lie in your room and hear more birdsong than traffic noise. room was north-facing, and thus lacking in direct sunlight, but as a base it was fine, if a little on the small side ('realistically' priced if you're able to book sufficiently in advance - £130 for 2 nights in my case). the staff were without exception friendly and helpful, and breakfast was ok, with perhaps a particular emphasis on quantity. 2 real ales in the bar, which looked welcoming, though we didn't get the chance to sample it this time. the decor is, it must be admitted, a little 1970s in places. there are regular buses down the newmarket road if you don't fancy the 10 minute walk to town, though, being norwich, they seem to miraculously disappear after about 6 o'clock. be warned the railway station is a good 20 minute hike. overall: not luxurious, but convenient, and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_walkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    126
    112
    65
    35
See reviews for
51
140
40
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The corridors and my room were all a little bit dated and in need of a full refit. The bathroom was actually scruffy and the dirty grout and mould in the shower wasn't too inviting. The thick dust on the windowsills suggested it was a long time since they had seen a duster. You would not want to walk around in bare feet !!
In contrast, the girl on reception, the barmaid and the waitress who served me were all delightful and very helpful.
Dinner wasn't stunning despite the nice service however breakfast was spot-on with perfect scrambled eggs and beautiful bacon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pscott1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed one night at the George Hotel and were very pleasantly surprised at how good it was.
The staff were really pleasant and were all very helpful.
Our room although small was very clean with the best TV we have every had in an hotel room. Coffee and tea making facilities also came with biscuits.
The food in the restaurant was execptionally good, as was the breakfast with a choice of a cooked breakfast or cold buffet, or both if you could manage to eat all of it.
The only thing I found that was not up to scratch was the dismal red carpet on the stairs up to our room, it was very worn and ill fitting. But as everything else was so good this can be discounted.
If we every go to Norwich again we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExoticBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We eat at the George for sunday lunch frequently sometimes just four of us and sometimes in a large group and it never fails to come up with the goods. The food is always first class and the ambience and service top notch. The warm and cozy bar is lovely for sitting and relaxing whilst unwinding with a coffee and liqueur. I booked a table of 14 for lunch on Easter Sunday for a special birthday celebration and although it was very busy we were sat in the function room and served with a beautiful meal with beautiful service. Thank you yet again....one of our most favourite places for Sunday lunch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolesea56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2013

my husband and i stayed in the george hotel for convenience as my mother was down the road in the hospital. we found the hotel overall good value for money, the lady on duty was just about to depart but reopened the bar for us and 4 others that live locally but came with us to check in. she also made us a spread of sandwiches which we were extremely greatful of. we extended our stay for 2 more nites which they had availabel. the lady was back in the morning and served us breakfast even asked how my mother was. other lady (older) was very pleasant also and helped us with extending our stay. the 2end evening we ate in the restaurant-the food was fabulous and great val for money. the rooms like other reviewers say are in slight need of updating (70s bathroom) but we understand we were very late in booking. the morning we checked out a lady walked off half way to answer a phone which was fine. we packed up the bar and came back. my husband was slitely dubious of handing over money to someone who wasnt in uniform and no name badge. she didnt thank us on our way out not evan a goodbie. overall we would stay again if in the area as food and most staff are lovelie. we hope to be back in better circumstances.

Room Tip: get a refurbed room if avail
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I booked a weekend break for an organisation I belong to, in total there were 25 people. We stayed just two nights, on a Dinner Bed, & Breakfast basis. We had journeyed up to Norwich 6 months earlier to ensure that the hotel would be OK for the group, and it proved to be perfect for the occasion. The evening meals were fine, (it was great not to have to order your evening meal 10 hours before you were going to eat it), with a choice of 3 starters, 3 mains, and 3 suites. Breakfasts were also very good, Really very good considering there were 25 of us! Our room was very comfortable, the en-suite was excellent and the whole room and hotel was clean and above all warm, as we stayed there in the coldest March for 50 years. Everyone I spoke to were very happy with their accomodation. The staff were very freindly and helpful. Plenty of car-parking, with a bus-stop within 100 metres of the hotel with direct bus routes to the city centre.

Room Tip: There appeared to have some ground floor rooms, away from the main building referred to as Garden Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KINGSWINFORD
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night being away with work.I booked it online and when i arrived i found out it was very dated. The receptionist was friendly and it took me 5 mins to get to my room at the back of the hotel.I had asked for a upgrade but none was available.My room was clean but again very dated i can not see anything that would want me to stay here again the bed and pillows were uncomfortable and i just wanted the time to go quickly so that i could be up and on my way again.The car park was full so the hotel must also be?? The cost was in my eyes quite expensive for the service i got. i have stayed all over the country in best western hotels and i have to say this is one of the poorest with no facilitys,even the internet was a saga in its own right.Rant over.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ANDREW C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Norwich hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
5.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#27 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#14 of 50 in Norwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western George Hotel

Property: Best Western George Hotel
Address: Arlington Lane | Newmarket Road, Norwich NR2 2DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Norwich
Norwich Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing