We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything tiny”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western George Hotel
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Reviewed February 11, 2013

they are friendly.... but the room is soooooooooooooo small and the bed was soooooooooooo small!!! that i really don't know what kind of a best western this is.
very clean.
very central
i suppose it is ok for one or maximum 2 nights.
restaurant downstairs.... like a british resto :-)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itzibitzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 483 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

When in Norwich I always stay at George hotel for the businessman on the road it offers a great location, Nice bar and a good restaurant with "good value fare" the staff are very attentive, happy and always willing to help regardless how small or big your Query. I had, as always a great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the cottages, get in quick there are only 4 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Essex_Man_About_Town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Sunday lunch was very disappointing. Tasteless. Beef was nice but vegetables and new potatoes looked over microwaved and tasted stale. Cabbage looked a funny colour, not a nice fresh colour, and new potatoes looked dry and overcooked.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank chestnutnorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I could see why the previous reviewer could complain but not see why he could possibly ask for a refund. If his room that bad I am sure the hotel would have moved him without problem. The room I was in was tired but clean and warm. Other corridors seemed to be refurbished with newer carpet, but my room (22) was needing a touch of TLC.
The staff were friendly the bar had a blazing fire and my bar snack perfectly cooked. As most of my trips are to Asia, I found the cost slightly expensive. My only complaint would be the fact that the bathroom extraction system came on automatically early in the morning. But as I left at 6:30 this did not disturb my sleep but would on a normal stay. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank overseas_engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is very well situated just out of the city,we stayed in a twin room which was comfortable and clean,the staff and service were very good,nothing was to much trouble,no hesitation in booking again if working in the area.

Room Tip: Twin room 141 is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevgratom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in January room was lovely , quiet and the hotel itself was well presented ;the bar was also relaxing and chilled. Only downside was the shower , I had seen bad reviews about the showers but decided to give it ago , if they put better showers in; the hotel would be excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Popped in for a glass if wine and a sandwich, both of which were fresh and tasty. Service was good and the menu looked really good, made great use of the Free wifi which was fast and reliable.

Decor tastefully Festive and the whole place had a nice feel to it.

Look forward to going again for dinner

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#19 of 50 in Norwich
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central
1.4 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#15 of 50 in Norwich
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western George Hotel

Address: 10 Arlington Lane | Newmarket Road, Norwich NR2 2DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range: $79 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western George Hotel is undergoing a full refurbishment program and we are pleased to announce all bedrooms within the hotel have now been completed. The front of house and public areas are now in the process of being fully refurbished and updated which we hope to have completed by March 2018 ensuring the very minimum of disruption to our valued guests. Within the George hotel is our excellent Arlington grill and brasserie restaurant serving award winning food open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and also provides a take away service. The George is located just off Newmarket Road in a quiet cul de sac on Arlington Lane, just 10 to 15 minutes walk from the City centre, making it an ideal place to stay whilst visiting Norwich and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Norwich
Norwich Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing