We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western George Hotel
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Set in the leafy outskirts of Norwich the George Hotel is within easy walking distance to the City Centre. We arrived early but the friendly receptionist had no problems checking us in.
First impressions of our room were disappointing, it was quite small and although spotlessly clean, the bare cream walls and plain white bed linen gave the appearance more of a hospital than hotel room (a colourful throw on the bed and a couple of pictures on the wall would have made quite a difference) . The only chair in the room was stained as was the dressing table stool.
However the room had a good sized en-suite bathroom with the added bonus of a full size bath with overhead shower. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room wonderfully quiet so we had two very good nights’ sleep.
There was a very good breakfast menu and our choices were delicious.
The staff at the George were extremely friendly and helpful.
Despite my criticism of the décor of the room, the George is definitely a hotel we would stay at again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazzyking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 485 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2012

We rarely eat in hotels but after a late arrival it was convenient to so do on the first night. The food was impressive and as the George is so close to town we walked back for our dinner on the second night, again a great meal. Breakfast is not to be missed, very nice buffet but also as full a cooked breakfast as you could wish, all within the very reasonable B and B price.
I particularly enjoyed, butter in a dish, sugar in a bowl and milk in a jug, hard to find these days of paper tubes and plastic containers.
Friendly competent staff, clean rooms and an atmosphere of caring for for the customer makes this a great choice for staying in Norwich.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed for one night on our way to visit family. Good location - we took a taxi in to Norwich, do visit the cathedral. The hotel was comfortable and the staff friendly. So often hotels miss a trick with getting residents to eat "in house" but we had a really nice meal, better than lots of other 3* hotels we have stayed in. Other residents were mostly mature couples or business people and this hotel is ideal for them. I understand there are five hotels in this privately owned group. We would definitely stay here again, and would try one of the other hotels if they were conveniently located

Room Tip: If you go to bed early/are a light sleeper, check there is not a function on. We could hear the func...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArlingtonNorwich, Director of Operations at Best Western George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Thank you for your great review. Please do not hesitate to contact me on 01603 617841 if you wish to return to the George or one of our other hotels. I'll be happy to help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for two nights. I had a single room which was pleasantly roomy with an equally roomy en-suite. The bed was very comfortable, the room clean, TV, toiletries, tea, coffee etc. The breakfast was freshly cooked with a reasonable choice. Staff were friendly and efficient. I thought it was very good value, especially as it was only a 10 minute walk into town (and there seem to plenty of bus stops en route) so I could leave my car at the hotel and avoid parking hassles in the city. It was also very quiet, being just off the main road, and in a nice part of town.

Room Tip: I did ask for a room upstairs and it was the opposite side of the building from the bar, kitchen and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 49JMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArlingtonNorwich, Director of Operations at Best Western George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your positive and informative review, It is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I revently stayed in this Best Western for business. It was my first stay in a Best Western and I have to say I was very impressed. I stayed in a single room, good value for money, toiletries, biscuits, tea and coffee. The bed was comfortable, the room just the right temperature, and most of all everything was clean.

The staff could not have been more welcoming. I have booked in both of my staff to stay in the other Best Western in Norwich, but only because the George was fully booked!! Thank you, I will be staying again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcbristol_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArlingtonNorwich, Director of Operations at Best Western George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Thank you very much for you great review, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I stayed for just one night while visiting my son in Norwich. This is a great hotel, not luxurious, but very comfortable. Friendly receptionist and breakfast staff. I had a single room with a single bed, but there was plenty of room each side of it, and good bedside lighting. It was very clean with a cosy duvet, perfectly fine little shower room and very quiet, even though the room looked onto the carpark. Breakfast was lovely, and Norwich is a wonderful city and we have lived in Norfolk for 25 years but moved to the south 5 years ago. It has everything, excellent shopping, bars, clubs, theatre and history. The George hotel is perfectly placed and I will certainly use it again when I come back to see our son. Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princesssukie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArlingtonNorwich, Director of Operations at Best Western George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near furture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Basic hotel, good value for money. I was lucky and stayed in one of the "cottage rooms" , nice, flat tv, quiet, clean, bath tube, tea, coffee, cookies. NO WIFI SIGNAL in these rooms though. But I had the opportunity to see other rooms and were not that nice.
Breakfast ok, nothing special. Good restaurant, and nice bar. 15-20 minutes walk to city centre, so probably not the best location for exploring the city.
Really nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holdenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
1.5 mi away
Aylwyne House
Aylwyne House
#26 of 50 in Norwich
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
707 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central
1.4 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#15 of 50 in Norwich
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western George Hotel

Address: 10 Arlington Lane | Newmarket Road, Norwich NR2 2DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range: $91 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western George Hotel is undergoing a full refurbishment program and we are pleased to announce all bedrooms within the hotel have now been completed. The front of house and public areas are now in the process of being fully refurbished and updated which we hope to have completed by March 2018 ensuring the very minimum of disruption to our valued guests. Within the George hotel is our excellent Arlington grill and brasserie restaurant serving award winning food open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and also provides a take away service. The George is located just off Newmarket Road in a quiet cul de sac on Arlington Lane, just 10 to 15 minutes walk from the City centre, making it an ideal place to stay whilst visiting Norwich and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Norwich
Norwich Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing