We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maids Head Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$89
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$88
$73
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Old Rectory(Thorpe St Andrew)
$139
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wensum Guest House(Norwich)(Great Value!)
$58
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barnham Broom(Barnham Broom)
$217
$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,292)
Filter reviews
1,292 results
Traveler rating
704
403
128
45
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
704
403
128
45
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine pressoldest hotelcathedral suitenorwich cathedrallovely old hotelcar parkafternoon teacentral locationexecutive roomfree parkingsconesbuffet stylesingle roomvisiting norwichrestaurant staffweekend breakstayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
1,052 - 1,057 of 1,292 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was our second stay at The Maids Head and did enjoy it. Lovely rooms, the quirky beams clearly visible, it gives the place the character it has and sometimes it's what you need as most hotels nowadays are all neutral, bland and boring! The stay was lovely, staying again the the Hickling Suite (also known as suite 4) do be warned it does get warm, (does have air con) perfect for a lovely cold night outside, we knew this so have no complaints there! Beautiful beams, large room, lovely bathroom. We did not eat in the restaurant in the evening so cannot comment on that. Breakfast was lovely, it is a buffet style, and has a great variety of hot cold and fruits. If you would like scrambled eggs or hard/soft boiled you will need to request this. Many thanks for a lovely stay

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear Nicola R,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We booked this hotel by chance when delivering our daughter to uni and needed a stop over. What a find. If you want a modern hotel this place isn't for you...it is a beautiful quaint old English hotel.
It is centrally located with car parking. The cathedral is literally across the road and is well worth a visit.
The staff were excellent and the hotel has a wonderful restaurant.Our room was fairly small but adequate with a modern good sized bathroom. Lots of stairs and corridors, so if mobility is an issue it would be worth requesting a room close to the lift.
The meal we had was superb and we will definitely stay here again when picking daughter up from uni !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 933kr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear K R,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you visit many more times over the next few years when visiting your daughter at the university.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Fairly typical old English hotel - lots of different levels, stairs and corridors everywhere, not wheelchair friendly, good service, phenomenal (if a little busy) breakfast in a superb location.

Drinks in the Maids Head bar were great. Superb service in a quite lovely room.

Our room was on the Tombland / Magdalene Street side of the hotel and despite the fact that it was a Saturday night, we enjoyed a really good sleep. The bed was very comfortable and waking up on Sunday morning was real pleasure - silence in the city. Breakfast was really great and the hard-working staff went out of their way to keep everyone happy.

The Maids Head is in a super location and offers walking proximity to everything in the City (and what a fine city). The parking was pretty good - although very busy. If you fancy a decent Thai meal while you are in town, we ate at the Lanna Thai. Very decent food and good value.

The Maids Head offers a really good overall package. Don't miss a walk round the Cathedral and cloister if you get the chance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1bar2far
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post our kind comments on Tripadvisor, we are really pleased that you had a good nights sleep and we hope to see you return in the near future.

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Booked weekend break at last minute and was not disappointed. Check in staff were very friendly and helpful and this trend continued with all the staff, nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel very welcome. Our package included 2 nights evening meal and the food was wonderful and perfectly cooked. The hotel is very well located to explore the city and a trip round the cathedral just across the road is recommended. The only downside was that at night there was some noise from people walking past after a night out but windows were double glazed so they had done all they could to address this problem. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank say123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for your very kind comments, I will pass these on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We liked the old world charm of the hotel's public areas and were pleased to find our room was in the new block at the quieter back of the hotel. The room was a good size and very comfortable.

The staff were particularly helpful and friendly and the rate we paid for B&B was good value. We also had the 5 course dinner with wines which we enjoyed, but don't have much, any, lunch beforehand.

The very old bar has their own specially brewed real ale which was rather good.

Breakfast selection was good and of good quality. Our only complaints were the fried eggs were hard when I went up due to the heat lamps even though they were in a covered dish (less heat and more regular supply would help) and scrambled eggs at the buffet would be nice.

A great hotel to stay in if you want to explore the lovely city of Norwich as you can park there for free then explore on foot for the rest of your stay.

Room Tip: I would avoid rooms in the front of hotel as on a busy roundabout. Our room in the new block was very acceptable.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Bob C,

Thank you very much for your kind review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We have tried scrambled eggs on the buffet, but they did not hold well, they are available to order from our breakfast team and I will make sure that they make our guests aware of this.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christine Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews