We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would stay again”
Review of Maids Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maids Head Hotel
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“would stay again”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We booked this hotel by chance when delivering our daughter to uni and needed a stop over. What a find. If you want a modern hotel this place isn't for you...it is a beautiful quaint old English hotel.
It is centrally located with car parking. The cathedral is literally across the road and is well worth a visit.
The staff were excellent and the hotel has a wonderful restaurant.Our room was fairly small but adequate with a modern good sized bathroom. Lots of stairs and corridors, so if mobility is an issue it would be worth requesting a room close to the lift.
The meal we had was superb and we will definitely stay here again when picking daughter up from uni !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear K R,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you visit many more times over the next few years when visiting your daughter at the university.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    358
    121
    40
    11
See reviews for
144
556
38
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Fairly typical old English hotel - lots of different levels, stairs and corridors everywhere, not wheelchair friendly, good service, phenomenal (if a little busy) breakfast in a superb location.

Drinks in the Maids Head bar were great. Superb service in a quite lovely room.

Our room was on the Tombland / Magdalene Street side of the hotel and despite the fact that it was a Saturday night, we enjoyed a really good sleep. The bed was very comfortable and waking up on Sunday morning was real pleasure - silence in the city. Breakfast was really great and the hard-working staff went out of their way to keep everyone happy.

The Maids Head is in a super location and offers walking proximity to everything in the City (and what a fine city). The parking was pretty good - although very busy. If you fancy a decent Thai meal while you are in town, we ate at the Lanna Thai. Very decent food and good value.

The Maids Head offers a really good overall package. Don't miss a walk round the Cathedral and cloister if you get the chance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1bar2far
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post our kind comments on Tripadvisor, we are really pleased that you had a good nights sleep and we hope to see you return in the near future.

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Booked weekend break at last minute and was not disappointed. Check in staff were very friendly and helpful and this trend continued with all the staff, nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel very welcome. Our package included 2 nights evening meal and the food was wonderful and perfectly cooked. The hotel is very well located to explore the city and a trip round the cathedral just across the road is recommended. The only downside was that at night there was some noise from people walking past after a night out but windows were double glazed so they had done all they could to address this problem. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank say123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments, I will pass these on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We liked the old world charm of the hotel's public areas and were pleased to find our room was in the new block at the quieter back of the hotel. The room was a good size and very comfortable.

The staff were particularly helpful and friendly and the rate we paid for B&B was good value. We also had the 5 course dinner with wines which we enjoyed, but don't have much, any, lunch beforehand.

The very old bar has their own specially brewed real ale which was rather good.

Breakfast selection was good and of good quality. Our only complaints were the fried eggs were hard when I went up due to the heat lamps even though they were in a covered dish (less heat and more regular supply would help) and scrambled eggs at the buffet would be nice.

A great hotel to stay in if you want to explore the lovely city of Norwich as you can park there for free then explore on foot for the rest of your stay.

Room Tip: I would avoid rooms in the front of hotel as on a busy roundabout. Our room in the new block was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Bob C,

Thank you very much for your kind review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We have tried scrambled eggs on the buffet, but they did not hold well, they are available to order from our breakfast team and I will make sure that they make our guests aware of this.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christine Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

As per title this hotel is in a good location to explore and shop in Norwich. We stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal and got a room upgrade to a suite - huge room, 2 TV's, large comfy bed, but small bath? As with most hotels I seem to stay in the room could do with some renewals, mainly the carpet in this case. We had aircon which worked and was quiet but was also not needed do to the weather! Heating worked perfectly. It must be noted that this is a city centre hotel on a busy junction therefore there is some traffic noise, but I live in the sticks and it didn't particularly bother me. Do to the nature of the hotel the floors creak - a lot!
The staff were all very friendly. Dinner was excellent - see separate review of the Winepress@Wensum.
Breakfast was ok but a bit disappointing after dinner the night before, probably raised our expectation levels to high for a buffet style breakfast!
There was scaffolding, but as far as I can tell there always is wherever I go on holiday! It wasn't a problem and should be gone soon anyway.
Very enjoyable stay all round but look for deals to make it better value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princewobblebottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us,and I was sorry to see that you were a little disappointed with the breakfast buffet, we continually try to upgrade our services and I will look into your comments further. The scaffolding is indeed due to be removed shortly, hopefully by the end of September.

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

On arrival was surprised to see the front of the hotel was covered in scaffolding, not a great start. However, reception staff on check in were friendly and welcoming. We had a special rate which meant we were given a room upgrade; if this was the upgrade I hate to think what a standard room would have been like! The room was very tired looking and the bedside cabinet drawer wouldn't close (something a previous guest has mentioned on TA) and there was scaffolding and workmen outside the room, who could see into the room. We requested a change of room, which we were given. This room was better but, again, curtains and carpets were tired looking and old. Also the bathroom window lock was broken so we couldn't close the window and, as the weather had turned very cool, did not make for a happy bathing experience!
The breakfast was enjoyable.
We were out of our room from 9am to 2pm but on our return the room still hadn't been made up - not a good reflection of the housekeeping.
Despite having booked and paid for a 2 night stay, we decided to check out a day early but staff on reception were totally disinterested as to why we were leaving. We would have expected someone to wonder why we would forfeit the cost of a night's stay by leaving early or, at least, to ask how we had enjoyed our stay.
Only good things about the hotel were the location, which is very central, and the free parking. Definitely not a 4* hotel and we would not recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Jazi13

Thank you for your comments, obviously I am very concerned to read of your experience, could you contact me directly om 01602 272001 in order that I can discuss with you the problems that you encountered.

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a good quality hotel with excellent staff, good food, comfy beds, well appointed rooms,
lovely atmosphere. The appearance is a bit off putting with scaffolding outside.
Did not put us off and we will return later in the year. Thank you

Room Tip: We were at the back with a good view of Norwich Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Linda H

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind comments on Trip Advisor, we were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We are currently completing essential repairs to the 1900's facade of the building and redecorating the front of the hotel, this work is due to be completed by the end of September but it is critical that we complete these works before the winter sets in, I apologise if the scaffolding has caused any problems.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Maids Head Hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
4.3 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,646 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,129 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#15 of 50 in Norwich
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maids Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maids Head Hotel

Property: Maids Head Hotel
Address: 20 Tombland | Norfolk, Norwich NR3 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#13 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maids Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maids Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maids Head Norwich
Hotel Maids Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing