We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to stay”
Review of Maids Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maids Head Hotel
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Perfectly situated opposite the Cathedral and within easy walling distance of the town with a large car park. Free WiFi very easy to access. We had a four night stay in an executive room at a very good rate for half board. The room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. The only quibble we had was the lack of air conditioning during the recent heat wave but we did have a fan which helped. All the staff were helpful and nothing was too much trouble - our cleaner Julie was very good. Breakfast was excellent with a buffet of English or Continental and really set us up for the day. Dinner in the restaurant was exceptional - an experience not to be missed! Well worth a visit and we will certainly return in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the Cathedral - and one with air conditioning if you go during a heat wave!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miranda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Miranda W,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your 4 night break with us and we will pass your commenst on to the team, especially Julie. You will also be pleased to know that we are currently working on plans to get cooling systems fitted within our bedroom blocks.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    340
    114
    40
    11
See reviews for
140
527
34
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Conwy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Lovely ,very comfortable clean and friendly hotel ,staff were very polite especially the lovely girl on reception ,our room was tastefully decorated and exceptionally clean ,breakfast was very good with a buffet style selection of full english or continental .with the cathedral on its doorstep and easy walking distance of bars, restaurants and sights it makes the Maids Head Hotel an ideal choice,only problem we couldn't stay longer !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emyr j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear emyr j,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
112 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully situated with the Cathedral on its doorstep and a quick walk to the town center, this is not a modern glitzy hotel, but one which does exude a certain quiet charm, a welcoming comfort and soothing atmosphere. The staff are pleasant and helpful and the rooms clean, modern and well appointed. A spacious car park with free parking is most welcome. WiFi access was easy and free! Had dinner at the hotel one night and we were served by Aneta who was a delight. She was efficient and friendly, but also so very helpful and kind to one of our guests who was very elderly. The care she extended was very special and I thank her. The food was good as well. Also had a drink at the bar one night, and once again, in addition to good service, it was delivered with friendliness and a smile. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Serendib100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Serendib100,

Thank you very much for your review in relation to your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are also extremely pleased to see your lovely comments on Aneta's service, we will pass on your comments.

We would be extremely appreciative if you would write a review on your experience within our winepress@wensum tripadvisor page to let those visiting the city about our wonderful restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have just returned from a weekend away in Norwich. We stayed at the Maids Head and greatly enjoyed the experience. The Hotel is huge and old and has a great atmosphere. Its location, next to the cathedral and the river in the old part of the city is superb. We could easily walk from there to see all the sights and enjoy shopping and cafes. The food at the hotel was exceptional. We did our best to eat through the menu but would need a longer stay to do justice to it. The staff were attentive and cheerful. Well done!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear GillH,

Thank you very much for your lovely review in relation to your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us.

We would be extremely appreciative, if you would also share your lovely comments on our restaurant tripadvisor page winepress@wensum.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Maid's Head hotel has laid then bold claim of being the oldest hotel in the UK. But while some might refute that, it certainly is the UK's most refreshing. In an era where most elegant residences have been snapped up by a faceless corporation, TMH maintains its status of being independently owned. The benefits of this are what the most discerning of tastes will appreciate. It has friendly, yet unaffected style, a unassuming Britishness infused with a flavour of laid back Norwich quirkiness. Its location is probably the best in the city, slap bang next to the Cathedral, and Elm Hill - one of the oldest streets in England. The rooms vary from the modern, to oak timbered-roofed suites, echoing an longevity that goes back to the 11th-century. Before you ask, yes its reputed to be haunted. But for more intoxicating spirits, sample the bar, worthy of a visit in its own right dating back to the 17th-Century, so iconic they named an ale after it. The restaurant might seem on the surface a little more expensive than the rest, but enquire about special deals, and they are more likely to accommodate your needs. If you are a fresh fish lover, this is one of the best places in Anglia serving local seafood during summer. There is an alumni of British greats who are rumoured to have stayed here, among them Queen Elizabeth the 1st, Winston Churchill and both sides of the English Civil War, the Royalists and the Roundheads, revealing whatever the charm, this place means business. What is inspiring about this business, though is that it hasn't sold out to gross commercialism. I am sure the Hiltonesque hoteliers would love to buy this place up, and suck all the charm and soul of it. It hasn't gone down that path, and remains what it is, living off its personality like a vintage wine. That is what makes it British. Not just a great place to visit but a treasure. Be sure to check out their off-peak deals.

Room Tip: If you go out of peak times, haggle for the superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soulfix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Soulfix,

Thank you very much for your lovely review in relation to your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us.

We would be extremely appreciative, if you would be also share your lovely comments on our restaurant tripadvisor page winepress@wensum.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Excellent hotel. The double room we had was very comfortable, clean and spacious and the bathroom was well presented with plenty of hot water. The breakfast was excellent with a wide choice. Evening meal good choice and reasonably priced - recommend the beer battered haddock best we have tasted in a long time. Staff very friendly and efficient and could not do enough for us. Intend to stay there again and would recommend this hotel to anyone. Could not fault it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Gwen J,

Thank you very much for your lovely review in relation to your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Myself, my brother and my dad stayed for three nights on a nostalgia trip to the city and county where we spent many happy childhood holidays. I had booked through bookings.com and if you have done too then I'd strongly advise contacting the hotel directly to make sure that the website has actually contacted them.

Anyway, the hotel was very easy to find and there is a large car park at the rear. We were greeted warmly by Melissa at reception and checked in quickly and efficiently. Our rooms were in the modern extension at the back and were very nice indeed. Spacious, well-appointed and with a lovely view of Norwich Cathedral. However, they were both very warm but the provision of fans was a nice touch and much appreciated. We were on a room-only basis so did not get chance to sample the breakfast in the Wine Press. Any queries and requests we had were dealt with swiftly and politely by the staff, though the prices in the very lovely and snug hotel bar were a trifle high. If real ale is your thing, then there is a Wetherspoon's next door :-)

All in all, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobTheEvilPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Bobtheevilpenguin,

Thank you very much for your lovely review in relation to your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us.

We were disappointed to see your comments about our bar prices however, as we have checked our competitors and are very much in line with them (with the exception of wetherspoons were we feel you would not get such quality products, enjoyable ambience and surroundings and great service)

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. And hopefully on your next visit you can give our Maids Head Ale a try, specially brewed for us by a local brewery, with excellent reviews so far.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.4 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maids Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maids Head Hotel

Property: Maids Head Hotel
Address: 20 Tombland | Norfolk, Norwich NR3 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#13 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maids Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Maids Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maids Head Norwich
Hotel Maids Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing