We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy Granny!”
Review of Maids Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maids Head Hotel
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2013

So this is a review on behalf of my Gran, she stayed with a good friend last week and had a fantastic time, the weather was hot however it did stop them getting about as the Hotel is situated in the city center! Being elderly they both suffer from slight slight mobility issues, however there was a handy lift to the first floor so that was not a problem.

The restaurant staff were professional and made them feel very welcome ( Arial is fantastic I hear)

The cleaning staff were always busy and the room was very comfortable and clean! My Gran did mention the first couple of nights they could not work the shower, this being due to the on off tap was rather stiff, upon mentioning this to the reception staff they were incredibly gratefully to receive help from one of the lady's straight away! She also helped tune their television, (apologies if I get this wrong, the name may have been Ellie or Lisa?)

Staff were always helpful and recommended the best places to visit and eat. Many thanks Maids Head for making two elderly ladies very happy! Special thanks to Arial in the Restaurant and Ellie (?) and co on reception! Well done all

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flo-bo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Flo-bo79,

Thank you very much for your lovely review in relation to your gran's recent stay with us.

We were overjoyed to see that you took the time to write this on her behalf and that she enjoyed her time with us. It is even more pleasing to see Elise getting a mention on her very first week with us. We will pass your comments on to Ariel and Elise whom I am sure will be delighted.

We look forward to welcoming your "granny" and hopefully yourself in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,182)
There are newer reviews for Maids Head Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,014 - 1,020 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

It's 23 years since our last visit, which was a 40th Birthday for my great wife Sandie, you can do the maths.! Cathedral Suite was great, air conditioning in lounge and seperate unit in the bedroom, lovely during this recent heatwave. Great views over the cathedral spire, and outbuildings. Wine Press was excellent for a very nice meal in the evening, fresh seafood selection, lobster, crab, prawns and crayfish went down very well, as did the dessert. Service from Aneta was very good, and her one mistake was corrected promptly without fuss, but with apologies, top waitress.

Room Tip: The Suites are generally very good, stopped in Queen Elizabeth on our previous visit. Air Conditioni...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drahcirNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear drahcirNorfolk,

Thank you for your review in relation to your recent stay with us. Plus a big thanks for coming back 23 years on from your wife's party.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we will pass on your comments to Aneta whom I am sure will be delighted. Please feel free to post a review on the winepress@wensum page on tripadvisor based on your meal with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

When we got to our room we were shocked to find the radiators were on full on such a warm spell. We did complain and was given another room immediately which was in the Eve's it was a lovely big cool room.. The food. We had for our evening meal was very good and a wide choice to suit all.. We will be coming again as it is well positioned right next to the cathedral.we could only stay one night this time but we will stay longer next time.. Friendly staff .

Room Tip: Top room was fab.. The other room we did see was more then adequate.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libbylol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear libbylol,

Thank you for your review in relation to your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your first time with us and it is great to hear you will be returning. Please feel free to post a review on the winepress@wensum page on tripadvisor based on your meal with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our second stay at this charming hotel in the lovely city of Norwich was pleasant. The hotel has good facilities which includes parking, Wi-fi, big comfortable rooms with two chairs and a big bathroom. well worth a stay!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank arvesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear MaureenS,

Thank you for your review in relation to your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we will pass on your comments to Sarah and Tracey whom I am sure will be delighted. I must apologise for the problem with the sandwich however, we have discussed this with the chef and will ensure that this does not happen again.

Please feel free to post a review on the winepress@wensum page on tripadvisor based on your evening meal with us, it would be great to share what you had for dinner and how much you enjoyed it.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We made our reservation by phone through Sarah who was extremely helpful with the booking and explained all we needed to know and more...made us feel very welcome already. We were checked in by Tracy who could not have been more welcoming and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for her...we also were showed some rooms by a duty manager (didn't get his name) but he was as helpful and as welcoming as the others. Stayed in a nice feature room, very clean and comfortable. Had a meal in the restaurant which was 1st class so congratulations to your chef and your restaurant staff that evening were very attentive and the best we have met. Overall our stay was a great success and we are returning with my sister and husband from America in August...we are confident that they will be as pleased as we were. The only negative comment is that we had a sandwich mid-day outside and although the filling was lovely I am afraid the bread was not fresh...the waitress did agree with us when she cleared our plates...this is the only reason why we have not given an excellent rating

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Maureen S,

Thank you very much for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we will pass your comments on to Sarah and Tracey whom I am sure will be thrilled to see your comments in relation to their service. I have spoken to the chef about the bread situation and I must apologise. We will ensure that this does not tarnish another guests stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have stayed here twice before and the rooms were fine. I requested a cathedral view and was disappointed to say the least by the room this time – the worst view I have ever had in a hotel - ugly rooftops covered in bird droppings, plus a hideous and noisy extractor fan from the kitchen.

The room was a decent size but a small window meant that it was dark and hot. We couldn’t open the window more than slightly because of the noise from the extractor fan, also the scary birds that looked as if they might well fly into the room.

The reception staff were professional and sympathetic but said there was no chance of changing rooms as the hotel was full, though they did put a fan in the room while we were out. They said they might be able to change the room the following day but nothing came of it and anyway we decided it wasn’t worth the upheaval of packing up all our stuff for just one more night.

Sizeable double bed with a very hard mattress. Not enough pillows. Flat-screen TV with lots of channels.(though some inaccessible because of poor signal). Free wifi. The extractor fan in the bathroom was very noisy.

Breakfast was OK but not much choice of fruit, ham or cheese (the latter in small plastic packets). No croissants on Saturday morning. We didn’t have the cooked breakfast but did last time, when it was very good. Polite and efficient waiting staff.

We were lucky to find the last space in the car park and there seemed to be no system to restrict parking to hotel guests.

The hotel is in an excellent location and Norwich is lovely, but the view from the room was so depressingly awful that I would be reluctant to stay here again without a guarantee of a better room (and the fact that my cathedral view request was ignored doesn’t inspire confidence that this would happen).

Room Tip: Avoid room 306
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel1g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Rachel1g,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. I must however apologise that it did not fully meet your expectations.

When booking at the hotel, "requests" made are not guarantees through third party internet systems such as booking.com, lastminute.com etc. If you book direct with the hotel then we can ensure that we cater for a guests requirements and allocate rooms accordingly. It was a shame that we were fully boked on this occasion otherwise we could have catered for your request. We have an option available to upgrade to exec and feature rooms which do have views of the cathedral and this way we can guarantee a request such as cathedral view.

I would very much appreciate it if you could contact me directly at the hotel so we can discuss your complaint in further detail as there were a few other points raise here that I need to investigate fully.

Once again I must apologise that your expectations were not fully met and I hope to speak to you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We went, we thought, to a historic hotel, as, indeed it is, outside, but inside it has been largely turned into an upmarket Hilton or suchlike. Apart from a lot of narrow corridors, little remains. Granted we stayed in a cheaper room but we have stayed in wonderful "cheaper rooms" all over Europe which were redolent of their past. So disappointing.

That said, the service was good, room a decent size, good bed, reasonable breakfast, dinner decent hotel quality, but nothing special

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maritimevoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Maritimevoyageur,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.

We were very disappointed that you did not thoroughly enjoy your time with us and apologise that we did not meet your expectations.

This is the first comment we have ever heard that we look like a Hilton hotel from the inside. We have kept a great deal of the character within the hotel and shocked by this comment, we are in the process of a refurbishment plan within the hotel but paramount is our plan to keep all the charm and character of the oldest hotel in the UK. We were pleased to hear the positives through your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
4.3 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,696 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
2.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.4 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maids Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maids Head Hotel

Address: 20 Tombland | Norfolk, Norwich NR3 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#13 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: $122 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maids Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maids Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maids Head Norwich
Hotel Maids Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing