We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate single room”
Review of Maids Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maids Head Hotel
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Tucked away up on the top floor was a perfectly adequate single-bed room. I was surprised, and pleased that the bed was a small double rather than narrow single and was very comfortable. The room was small but OK for one person. It had everything you would want.
On the basis of the room I should be raving about how good it all is, but I arrived after a long tiring journey and found the 'maze' of the hotel layout very difficult to negotiate. It's a historic old building that has been added onto over the centuries, so you have to expect a lot of stairs, corridors and different levels, that's all part of its charm. I just would have liked a bit more help from the reception staff and having read all the nice reviews about the staff perhaps expected it!
That said, I did find the staff in the restaurant and at the function I attended very pleasant - well except for the obviously stressed member of waiting staff who was quite opinionated with a fellow guest who did not want to eat the chicken at the set meal. He loudly told her off for having the fish starter (she didn't know there was an option) and continued to berate her saying she was pescetarian NOT vegetarian!!! Quite funny but embarrassing for her!
We, like another reviewer experienced rather dry bread for the sandwiches, and the addition of odd cakes that has sort of gone soggy and disintegrated when thawed out. Breakfast was plentiful. The food was adequate rather than great, and I am not certain I would want to pay the restaurant prices, based on the level of catering for special events.
I really want to be giving five stars, but on the basis of this experience it just doesn't warrant it. I will return, perhaps the double rooms will provide just that extra something that brings the sparkle and magic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dizzyandblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear dizzyandblonde,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to see that you enjoyed most parts of your stay however obviously disappointed to read some problems that were encountered. We pride ourselves on great food and service and obviously failed to deliver fully on this occasion. We must apologise for the behaviour of the waiter that obviously was not delivering our normal level of great customer service. Also reception should certainly have assisted more with help around our large hotel.

Unfortunately the menu for this stay of yours was not decided by ourselves and was the request of the group booking but we assure you that our restaurant serves fantastic local produce to a minimum 1 rosette level, you should definitely give it a try on your next visit.

We do hope you give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,182)
There are newer reviews for Maids Head Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,023 - 1,029 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel location could not be more central and onsite car parking is a real bonus.
On arrival found that we had been upgraded to a suite - one of just 6 in the hotel.
Suites 5 & 6 are accessed via a spiral staircase and the hotel in general has numerous internal steps and differing levels so can be a problem for anyone with mobility issues and with luggage although help was offered.
We had booked a week end package which included one nights dinner in the Wine Press restaurant which we chose to take on the Friday night.
Glad we pre booked as with both conference & wedding groups plus casual visitors this is obviously a popular venue.
Service was exceptional from all staff on reception, in both the bar & restaurant during our stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the Cathedral & main road. Good double glazing but be aware if you sleep wit...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Neil B,

Thank you very much for your lovely review in relation to your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have just had a two night stay at this hotel which is excellantly situated directly across the road from the cathedral. The parking is excellant for a city centre and is free to residents.The staff are friendly and efficient and must mention Tracy, Helen and Michelle who helped make our stay so pleasant. The room are of a good size and very comfortable.The food was good and we especially enjoyed the afternoon tea which was both excellant value at £9.95 a head for very good portions of everything

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view so you can see the spire of the cathedral
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 137Mavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear 137 Mavis,

Thank you very much for your lovely review in relation to your recent stay with us. We will pass your comments on to the team members that you mentioned, I am positive that they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Had a very nice room overlooking the cathedral. very comfortable bed and good parking behind the hotel. Had room service first night and was amazed that the cheapest bottle of wine was £18. Food was very good and not your usual small thin steak but a monster of sirloin that had been well hung and was extremely tasty. 2nd night went to the restaurant and had fish which again was lovely. Would highly recommend this hotel as the staff were so friendly and the food great and right in the centre of Norwich. However, the price of wine was way over the top. Since I have left I have received a voucher for a bottle of house wine when I return which is a nice touch. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Mark O,

Thank you very much for your lovely review in relation to your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, especially your meal and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. We can also ensure you that the wine you encounter on our menu is of the highest quality, not available in supermarkets and we are constantly adapting this to ensure that it suits all tastes. We have recently added some local Norfolk wines which we are sure will be a huge success.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights as I was representing clients in Court which was only 2 minutes walk away. The location of the hotel was excellent and convenient in the city centre with secure free car parking. The room was comfortable of a good size, clean and importantly, the lighting arrangements were more than adequate to facilitate research and further preparatory work at night from the the desk in the room. Only had the breakfasts and these were well prepared and set me up for the rest of the day
On completion of the case I took the opportunity to look at the historic buildings nearby as well as the cathedral which was even nearer than the courts. I have no hesitation in recommending the Maids Head as an ideal place to stay either for business or pleasure and hope to return soon to look around at the historic city centre.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 613David613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear 613david613,

Thank you very much for your lovely review in relation to your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, well maintained excellent service, it has the good classic English feel to everything, and importantly spacious. Very good location for Norwich.
The Wine Press also excellent, even if a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drtcoBov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear drtcoBov,

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I booked for around 40 conference delegates for approximately five nights. The staff were very helpful, particularly when bookings had to be changed at fairly short notice. They were also happy to help any guests who had specific requirements. The hotel is very conveniently located and the staff were all friendly and professional. We had positive feedback from our delegates.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank Lara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Lara N,

Thank you very much for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.

We hope to welcome you and your colleagues back in the near future and please bare us in mind for any other conference, bedroom or party requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
4.3 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,695 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
2.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,149 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.4 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maids Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maids Head Hotel

Address: 20 Tombland | Norfolk, Norwich NR3 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#13 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: $122 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maids Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maids Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maids Head Norwich
Hotel Maids Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing