We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brief stay in Norwich”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A brief stay in Norwich”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel is very conveniently located for Norwich International Airport. My wife and I found it to be very clean with friendly and helpful staff. The meals, served as a carvery, were good but a little bit of imagination as regards the vegetables on offer would have been nice. Whilst we did not have the time to use them the facilities in the Hotel were plentiful and,should we be in the area in the future, we would be more than happy to stay there again. We would also recommend paying for an upgrade to an "Executive Room"

Room Tip: Room 231, Executive Room, very good and is on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANorwich, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Great to hear such a positive review. Our Jacuzzi Suites like Room 231 are very popular with guests and a great tip to share with fellow travellers. Thank you again and I will ensure this review is shared with the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    151
    87
    39
    25
See reviews for
79
127
19
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

great size hotel, all amenities you could want including spa, gym etc.... warm and friendly welcome upon arrival, bar staff and resteraunt staff pleasant and friendly. room big and clean, bathroom very roomy. small notes for next time, breakfast doesnt start when thay say and bar food is processed in a microwave. will i return? on business yes i would. great location as well

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANorwich, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Great to hear your comments and a pleasure to welcome you back. In reference to your notes, breakfast starts at 5am but is plated not a buffet due to not wishing to have food out for a long period of time. None of the food is microwaved so if you let us know why you think that it is, we can try and improve it for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I've stayed here multiple times for work and find it has good and bad points.
Good stuff; staff, pool/gym, bar food, proximity to the airport
Bad stuff; resteraunt food, rooms are very dated, price (compared to other places near by.)

This place must make a fortune with the events it hosts and the amount of gas rig workers passing through not to mention the business from holiday goers to and from Norwich airport so you'd think there would be no excuse for dated rooms with tv's that dont work and bad water pressure. It is a comfortable nights stay but there are better for the price!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANorwich, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your review and I will certainly share your comments with the Team. Having probably the largest team of Chefs in any hotel in the city it is disappointing that the food was not right for your stay.

All our TV’s were brand new only six weeks ago so if you could contact us directly to let us know the issues that would be excellent. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

A nicely presented commercial hotel set in a small leisure/commercial park on the outskirts of Norwich on the main road from Norwich to Cromer and by the side of the airport. My trepidation about noise after studying google maps was fortunately not founded. The hotel is set back up a side road behind other buildings which tends to block the noise from the busy main road and the airport is not very busy and does not operate at night ( may be busier in summer- may be worth checking if worried by noise). Car parking is immediately in front of the building and reception is straight off car park. The hotel is a stand alone modern building, well kept and clean. Service by all seemed friendly and helpful. The room ( on ground floor) was to the unbiquitous design for hotel rooms. It looked a bit "used" as you would expect but was pleasant and clean. Unfortunately although designated as a non smoker and booked as such and having a non smoking card on the side table in the room the smell of cigarette smoke hit me as soon as I opened the door. No doubt some ignorant guests had completely ignored the designation but surely the staff sould have spotted this and fumigated or redesignated the room. However personally, it did not worry me but it may have raised cause for complaint by others. The furniture was adequate and clean but I personally found the bed and the pillows a bit hard.

I dined in the restaurant. The food and drinks were very palatable. There was a choice of A La Carte or Carvery (another word for self serve) but I thought the prices were a bit steep (£13.00 for a scoop of lasagne from the carvery !!)

I only stayed for one night but would not object to returning and/or staying longer . A comfortable clean, warm, modern, hotel with all facilities ideal for business or slightly too formal for leisure on the outskirts of the city but on the main road to and only 2 miles from the city centre.

Room Tip: Rooms on back may be quieter- away from car park and not facing airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANorwich, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your review and great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is disappointing when guests illegally smoke in our rooms as it is hard to refresh the room as the smell gets everywhere. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked the bewilderwood package for the second year running.
This package is without doubt great value for money. (family room , DDBB, entrance to the park and a book on the bed awaiting your child on return)

My review would have been very good, accept that during the night our room started to smell of smoke. (cigeratte smoke) My little girl woke up, as we were discussing it, unfortunately this led her to be very scared as she took it to be fire smoke.

I'm not sure if it was from the hotel's offices (we were in 303 next to this area) or from the pop up bed. It was very weird as we certainly didn't smell it on arrival earlier in the evening.

However we attempted to sleep through it, after a day at bewilderwood it helps!

Around 06.30hrs I went to report it. I also asked if we could cancel that days booking. ( we were staying another night) I was met by a polite lady, but wasn't able to make a decision until her manager came in.

I returned to the desk just after 7am to be told that I can cancel as I had paid in advance!

I had to explain that I understood that I could leave at any time, yet I wasn't prepared to pay for this second night, as I would use the refund to book a smoke smell free room elsewhere.

oh , I was asked to come back......

after breakfast I was told that I could indeed cancel. And I got my refund. However at no time did anyone want to investigate my complaint? Look to move me to a new room? Or help me find an alternative hotel.

I have to say that for a small hotel I would have expected for the manager to seek me out to investigate, apolgise even?

I'm a regular user of holiday inns with work, and feel really let down here.

This is the first time that I have ever bothered to write a review, and I stay in hotels 4 nights a week across the uk for many years now. As I have, I will also finish on a note that although the pool is great, and the local gym members were very welcoming to my family,the little things like soap in the showers were empty. breakfast was also Luke warm.

I have to say if it wasn't for room service and pools I'd book Premier Inns every time after this experience.

Room Tip: Marriott was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jw J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANorwich, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Great to hear the positives around your stay and that you received the resolution you required in the end. I must say that I am a little concerned about your comments and would like to speak to you in person regarding these. Devin Grosse (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Norwich hotels

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here overnight for a works function. I have been to this hotel many times before for functions.Check in was easy and the room was just along the corridor from reception, on the ground floor. The room is clean and was quiet, dispite its postion. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The breakfast is also good and plenty of it, with a good selection.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bones4dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANorwich, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Excellent to hear your review and we shall share your comments with the Team. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on the Saturday just gone and just had to leave a review as everything about our stay was top class.

When we arrived, we were greeted by a very friendly male receptionist who made check in very quick and easy. He also told us everything we needed to know.

Our executive room was just along from the reception area. The room was huge compared to what I was expecting and other hotel rooms I have stayed in previously. It had a king size bed, flat screen tv with various channels on, sofa and table, desk and chair and dressing table. It was all very clean too and as it was an executive room, you also got slippers, dressing gowns, water, orange juice and a kit kat which was a nice touch! The bathroom was enormous and really nice-had a jacuzzi bath, walk in double shower and heated towel rail. We were so impressed with the room and would definitely pay the extra for an executive again-was definitely worth it!

We used the leisure facilities and although the pool is quite small, there is a lovely jacuzzi and a small steam room and sauna. The only thing that lets the health club down is the very small and dated changing rooms which is a shame. There is also a gym but we didn't get round to using this.

We ate in the restaurant for dinner and the service again was really good-nothing was too much trouble for the staff and everybody was friendly. We had the carvery and it was delicious-the meat was really nice with a good selection of vegetables. There were plenty other items on the menu to choose from too. The only very small negative was that we ordered a dessert and it took over 15 minutes to arrive, even though the restaurant was by then almost empty. However, when we mentioned this, this was quickly removed from our bill without any fuss.

There is a nice conservatory area when you can relax and have a drink and there is also a bar where they had x factor showing which was an added bonus for me!

Breakfast the next morning was lovely-great selection with too much to choose from. Rolls, meat, fruit, Danish pastries, croissants, toast, cereal, juices, porridge as well as a lovely fried selection-all help yourself buffet style. Again, all the staff were very friendly and polite.

On checkout, we had another lovely, this time female receptionist who was friendly and chatty making sure everything about our stay was ok.

The staff at this hotel are great and definitely have great customer service skills. We have stayed in much more expensive hotels that have not even come close to this so we were really pleasantly surprised.

In summary, we had a wonderful evening staying at this hotel and will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebishop8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANorwich, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
What a lovely review to brighten us up on such a dull and overcast day. We always love to hear such excellent feedback and it is a great boast for the team when it is shared with them. Thank you again for taking the time to write such excellent feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
668 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,163 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
1.1 mi away
Mercure Norwich Hotel
Mercure Norwich Hotel
#24 of 50 in Norwich
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel

Property: Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
Address: Cromer Road Nr Amsterdam Way, Norwich NR6 6JA, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Norwich City Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Norwich-North hotel is the ideal choice if you re visiting the Norfolk Broads, Norwich city centre or attending a business meeting in Norwich. The fully air conditioned Holiday Inn Norwich-North hotel is the first choice of many guests searching Norwich hotels.Our location minutes from Norwich International Airport makes our Park, Stay & Fly package ideal for a stress free start to your trip.If it s leisure that brings you to the Holiday Inn Norwich-North hotel, you ll be spoilt for choice. Relax in our health & fitness club, visit the Norfolk Broads or explore stately homes such as Royal Sandringham, all within easy reach of our Norwich hotel. Best known for its medieval castle & stunning cathedral, Norwich city centre, (3 miles from the Holiday Inn Norwich-North hotel), has been transformed. You ll find famous stores in the Chapelfield Mall, plus countless specialist shops.If you re choosing Norwich hotels for business our helpful staff, Wi-Fi access & 7 air-conditioned meeting rooms, offer a perfect working environment. You can trust in our reputation as one of the best Norwich hotels for banqueting , to help you plan perfect events in Norwich. We also offer a fantastic programme of tribute party nights during the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing