We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A strange experience”
Review of The Beeches Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Beeches Hotel
Ranked #43 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A strange experience”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Me and some friends booked a room here (room 20) very last minute - literally a few days before as we needed somewhere to stay in Norwich. Cannot complain about the price, cost us £17.50 each and that is one of the best prices we could find. However, our booking being hasty, we neglected to read any reviews until after we had already booked and were left terrified by what we had in store for us. I am pleased to say that it was NOT as bad as hundreds of other reviews on here report - perhaps it is room specific, though. Our room was located right near the entrance of the building - not ideal as we experienced a great deal of noise from others staying there - but all in all it was not too bad. A spacious room with comfy beds (and yes - the bedding was clean), a sofa, table and a sort-of kitchen area (featuring a moudly patch of floor in the corner). Cleanliness was generally fine - the walls were a little dirty - but nowhere near as bad as what we were expecting. My main issue with this place is the bathroom facilities - or LACK OF - there is ONE communal bathroom to be shared by several rooms - admittedly I didn't realise that a lot of rooms here are ensuite, but even so. The bathroom consists of ONE toilet and ONE shower next to each other with a couple of sinks at the other side of the room. I did not risk using the shower, and the toilet was not clean, although someone had half-heartedly thrown some toilet cleaner into it. I found the experience very strange - the fact that it is not staffed opens up numerous problems and I definitely would not stay more than one night. Another strange thing was the windows - whitewashed and screen-like, we could not close the top one, which, obviously, left a large ventilation gap - very strange. All in all it seems we were lucky with the room we got and we left considerably less traumatised than we had anticipated being.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MB92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    43
    23
    31
    174
See reviews for
30
89
35
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

As I'd booked this before reading the reviews I was a liitle apprehensive but the place turned out to be perfectly adequate for an overnight stay.
This place is perfect for 'illicit encounters'.Entry to the building and the room are by keypad and all windows are whitewashed....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyclarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel is without doubt the worst hotel in the UK I have ever been to. There were human hairs on my bedsheets, the bathroom was filthy; toilet was not clean, the shower fitting did not work properly and was covered in encrusted limescale. The bath had a shower curtain that was black about 7 cm up from the bottom. The room had a funny smell as of stale tobacco from the previous occupier.
It may be cheap but no bargain can be worth staying in this dump.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JT73London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Norwich hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have stayed in two MJB hotels and apartments in Norwich and both have been DIRE...DO NOT BOOK WITH THEM. You cannot get through to speak to anyone on the mobile phone. I tool my family to the Bristol House hotel in Norwich and we had people banging on the windows, my son was scared, we called and called to move but got no reply and ended up leaving at 1am and driving an hour and a half home. I made complaints and have NOT HAD MY MONEY BACK...THEY ARE MONEY GRABBING..and the room was hideous. Wee stains on the arm chair and the toilet was the most hideous thing I have seen. This company should go out of business. I am going to complain to the CAB and watchdog...

Room Tip: " Do not book with them"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I found the hotel easy to use, had no problems with check in and getting into the room. Location was key for me and it wasn't a noisy stay - I was there on a saturday.
Issues I had was cleaniness: my room had a dirty plaster found on the floor and the shower would get blocked.
Interesting features of my room (24) was the whited out windows and I found a porn dvd on the floor (!) under the dresser.
I only stayed for a night and left early so not a big issue overall, and it was cheap.
If i stayed longer it would have been a bit of a problem.

Room Tip: I was in Room 24.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I used to live in Norwich and remembered this as a rather pleasant hotel in a lovely location. Sadly I didn't check out reviews before booking - note to self.
The room we'd been allocated was already occupied so a rather surly member of staff allocated us another. Grim is the only word to describe the room and the en suite; painted out windows and orange checked bed covers, saucers but no cups and a general air of grubbiness in both the room and the hallways - I don't think the carpets had seen a vacuum cleaner in months!
Needless-to-say we cut our losses and stayed in another hotel where we were guaranteed a good night's sleep!

Room Tip: Avoid it like the plague.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewmanNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, satnav will send you to the wrong end, its not by the uni and hospital but near the city centre
Secondly, the sign outside says MJB group not the beeches. Its a group of 3 seperate buildings, reception ( now there is a laugh ) is in the building opposite.
The young lad in reception is not helpful at all and has a disgusting manner and was politely told to change his manner or I would move his teeth, what idiot puts somebody like that on a reception desk. Windows are bits of painted wood!
I wont waste your time, marks out of 10
Cleanliness 4
Location to town 7
Value 4
Parking 7
Staff ( only this lad on duty ) 0
Quietness 6
Family friendly 1
Woman friendly 2
Workers friendly 6
Room facilities 6
All of the above was a stay in 16 the beeches.
Sorry but the painted windows and idiot on the door lead to a 1, sort this and its a 5/10
Enough said

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank toussaint c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
1.0 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#27 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#14 of 50 in Norwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
1.3 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#13 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beeches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beeches Hotel

Property: The Beeches Hotel
Address: 2-6 Earlham Road, Norwich NR2 3DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Beeches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beeches Hotel Norwich
Beeches Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing