We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing weekend away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norwich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deer's Glade Caravan & Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in willow pod, the last pod on the row. Perfect, is the best word to describe this amazing place. The pods are compact but have all you would require for a glamping weekend. It was so romantic to spend the evenings on the decking with the chiminea alight with a glass of wine. We followed the glass filled tea lights to the field with the marque to watch the fireworks, never have I experienced such a brilliant walk through the woods to a firework display, the tent is full of food options, drink and sweeties. This is so organised to precision, perfect. The pods are like nothing else I have stayed In and what makes it is the fact that even though you are on a campsite, you don't feel like you are. We went on autumn due celebrating our wedding anniversary, but will go back in the summer, when I expect they would have built more pods.
The shower pod again is perfect size, hot water and plenty of room.
The only gripe I would have and it would be really picky !!! The fridge is naff and the pathway immediately from the car park, needs more lighting. But apart from that, this place is bliss. Visit Wroxham, nice shops and lovely area to be if the weather was better, Cromer has great shops and plenty of places to eat and drink, Great Yarmouth is lovley with the most slot machines. Thank you for the most perfect wedding anniversary

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickioliver2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Deer's Glade Caravan & Camping Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 231 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have just had a 3 day stay in a mega pod these are kitted out to a very high standard very warm and comfortable with all the mod cons including flat screen tv with freeview,toilet,sink,small kitchenette,double bed and double futon,the converted shower block for "podders" only are fantastic very clean and warm,the setting for the pods could not be better a lovely walkway takes you to your escape in the woods with a little private garden area along with picnic bench,chimnea and bbq area outside your pod,the rest of the site is very well kept with excellent clean modern facilities,very friendly staff this was our 1st visit to Deers glade but it will not be our last and we will be returning again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony123Lincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 day mid week break in Oct at Deers Glade in Norfolk. The mega pod was fantastic, comfortable double bed, fridge, microwave, sink, sofa, loo, and TV. Weather was good so this added to a wonderful few days. Chimnea is a lovely touch and we had a fire on all three nights. Camp shop sells wood but we had a lovely stroll through the woods and collected our own. Fridge very small, we managed as there was only two of us but a family may struggle. Excellent facilities overall with sparkling clean modern shower room. Beautiful setting, private, quiet and well worth a visit. Got quite cold at night so the heater provided came in handy. Will definitely be back! Visit Fairhaven if you get the chance and avoid Great Yarmouth (run down and shabby). Note to owners - all that was missing was a hook for coats / dressing gowns. Helicopter flight path overhead was a good alarm clock lol.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We took our boy here for his 4th birthday, we had never stayed on a campsight before, so we took the 'Glamping' option and booked a Mega Pod. Check in time was 2pm and we arrived dead on time. We went to the reception which is also the shop and met the owner who was very friendly and jumped on her bike to take us to the Pod. Pod guests have their own car park which is at the entrance to the wooded area where the pods are situated. You walk along a wooden walkway past the lake and turn to see 8 pods all in a row, each has a gravelled area outside with a bench table, bbq plinth and a chimenea. The Mega pods themselves are fantastic, clean and well kitted out with toilet, sink, fridge, microwave and TV. The double bed base lifts up to be a storage area and the sofa bed pulls down into a double. The pods share a private shower pod which again is spotless, very modern and spacious. We only went for 2 nights but will definately return. The camp itself is well maintained with the nicest shower blocks I can imagine, a small lake with ducks, some goats and a lovely donkey. The site is only a few miles from Cromer which has a beach. A really lovely place and great value for money. We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tkel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed here with my Wife for five nights in one of the MegaPods. The site is maintained to a fantastic standard and all facilities are decorated/finished as you'd expect to find in a decent hotel.

The fishing lake was popular for some of the campers and I'm sure kids love seeing the resident donkey, sheep and (very chatty) pygmy goats! There is also a number of walks around the place, a small shop, a covered picnic area (sun protection, not rain!) and a shuttle service to a local pub two nights of the week.

I have no real knowledge of caravanning, but it seemed the pitches were a good size and had hedges between them to add a little privacy. There also seemed to be TV points at each electric hook-up post - maybe this is normal but it seemed a good idea.

And so the pod. Clean, in good repair and cosy. Yes, they are very compact, but that's the idea. The weather was fine but cool during our stay, a well-stoked chiminea meant we spent loads of time outside. The shower/toilet pod was always clean, had loads of hot water and was finished-out really well. It was nice to hear birds, owls and just the wind in the trees, a really peaceful place.

This location is also a great base to explore north Norfolk. There is so much to do and see in this area.

We have booked to go back next year - be warned, you need to book way, way in advance if you wish to have a pod!

The pods are a fantastic concept and represent great value for money.

Room Tip: Stay in "Beech" as it catches the evening sun through an opening in the trees!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie25th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Having never stayed on a campsite we were really impressed with the standard of Deers Glade and its surroundings.

We tried out one of the Mega Pods for two nights and had a really good time. We were lucky with the weather and so we could make the most of the bbq facilities and chimnea facilities that the site had to offer.

The pods themselves though small have everything you need and the shower facilities are of an excellent standard.

Deers Glade is an excellent base for visiting both the coastal and inner land areas of Norfolk.

The only downside, which we didn’t experience, was if it was bad weather you would be unable to make use of the outside facilities. However this would be the case whatever site you were on and Deers Glade does offer a bus service with a local pub on certain days so they do try accommodate you if you are unable to eat/drink at the site.

Would highly recommend the pods, and im sure children would especially enjoy the experience of staying in them.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich_Forbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We spent three nights camping at this well maintained campsite. We were fortunate to have a pitch overlooking the lfishing lake at no extra premium. It was a unique setting and lovely to wake up and have breakfast by / have dinner in the evening or just relax with a glass of wine. The shower facilities were immaculate - modern, clean and spotless. The only gripe was there were only 2 showers in each block which is not a lot. Campsite also offered a playground, goats and pygmies which entertains younger children and there is a sail area with picnic tables if you want to eat here. Campsite shop staff were helpful and you can even have a newspaper delivered to site. They do a hog roast during the summer every saturday which seems to be popular. We saw lots of deer in the private estate opposite the campsite, hired bikes from the campsite and went on a bike ride which included a visit to the most amazing children's bookshop. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwich
5.0 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
742 reviews
4.4 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
891 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
MerryHill Country Park
MerryHill Country Park
#1 of 1 in Honingham
16 reviews
24.2 mi away
Seashore Holiday Park - Haven
Seashore Holiday Park - Haven
#3 of 31 in Great Yarmouth
1,251 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Green House B&B
The Green House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thorpe Market
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer's Glade Caravan & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer's Glade Caravan & Camping Park

Address: White Post Road | Hanworth, Norwich NR11 7HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Norwich
Hotel Class:5 star — Deer's Glade Caravan & Camping Park 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deer's Glade Caravan and Camping Park opened in 2004. It is a quiet, rural, family-run caravan park and camping site set in a beautiful woodland clearing in North Norfolk, catering for touring caravans, motorhomes and tents - a perfect venue for a relaxing holiday in the countryside! The caravan park and camping site has a natural play area for children, a fishing lake, cycle hire, dog walks and farm kennels, 2 high-class shower/toilet blocks and an on-site shop. Other features include ‘Muntjac Meadow’ known for its relaxing atmosphere and space which is exclusively open for August only as a back to basics camping meadow, situated a short walk from the main park. The STANDARDPODS and MEGA PODS are the most recent edition and are the perfect ‘Glamping’ experience. You can come and enjoy cycling around quiet country lanes, trying to spot the local wild deer, fishing in our lake or peaceful walks. Available locally are horse riding, swimming, tennis, gyms and cycle hire and we are only 10 minutes from the beautiful North Norfolk beaches ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing