We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food, shame about the hygiene”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Giraffe Norwich

Giraffe Norwich
Ranked #271 of 817 Restaurants in Norwich
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Freshly cooked food for everyone served to the sound of great music - guaranteed to make you feel good!
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Nice food, shame about the hygiene”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We often have brunch in a Giraffe due to the selection and standard of food. The food and service was very good but the hygiene not so much. I think she must have been the manager of the restaurant as wasn't dressed in uniform, while friendly and very accommodating she was constantly playing with her hair. At one point she was by the bar which was in front of our table putting her hair up with a chopstick....this happened 3 times in front of us...then when she delivered our food she came back to our table eating something and her hair then had a band in it. I would like to think she had done this in the ladies and washed her hands afterwards and not in the kitchen eating food whilst changing her hair style again. All of my table noticed - not the best of hygiene standards for a restaurant serving food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 8-HappyTraveller-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    118
    61
    28
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Will return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Friendly staff and atmosphere, families and couples are both well catered for. Conveniently located for Chapelfield and the city centre.
Good menu choices ranging from burgers to Mexican to noodles, all very tasty! I really like the fresh lemonade too!
Will return!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danni6021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“i wont go again now”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

i have to say every time i have been here the food and service have been great, unfortuneately it has been taken over by a company i refuse to give my money too so i am unable to go anymore which is a shame.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bagpuss200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent choice for lunch, quick and pleasant service. Staff attentive and pleased to serve you.
Food good value.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denny697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
2 reviews
“Fantastic family restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Myself my husband and our two children visited Giraffe for a quick spot of lunch and was amazed!! There isn't many city centre restaurants i feel comfortable to take children in but this place exceeded my expectations.. Balloons, colouring packs and ice cream. Service was outstanding. Gave the kids lots of attention which they obviously lapped up! And the food was also great the kids had the hot dogs which could of probably passed as an adults portion.
Will most defiantly be returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giraffe Norwich also viewed

 

Been to Giraffe Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing